1/7/11, Sophie, AMPS 383, PMPS 309, might bump dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

JoshandSophie

Member Since 2010
Hi all,

My vet's had me decrease Sophie's daily Lantus to .5 units, twice daily, since she went low earlier this week. Looking at her numbers on her spreadsheet, though, I may bump her to .75 earlier, esp. since the excessive peeing is starting to come back. Not as bad as before she was on insulin, but still.

Will have PMPS in 20 minutes.

Hope you're all well!
 
Re: 1/7/11, Sophie, AMPS 383, might bump dose

Most vets are not big fans of our shooting low. From their perspective it makes sense because most people do not home test. For someone's cat to have numbers below 100, in vet-speak this probably means the cat's numbers have been much lower at other times. It becomes a liability issue. However, we home test and know how to manipulate numbers with food. Take a look at Gabby's SS. She hit a 34 tonight and has been in greens off and on for the past few days. She earned a dose reduction tonight.

Our perspective with tight regulation is different. Numbers below 50 for a newly diagnosed diabetic cat earn a dose reduction. That would probably make a vet gasp if s/he were not familiar with our dosing protocol. People have reported here that their vet didn't even consider a diagnosis of diabetes unless a cat's BG was over 300.

From the standpoint of the dosing protocol we use, Sophie didn't earn a dose reduction. As a result, you're seeing her number creep back up. I'd bring her dose back up to 0.75 tomorrow.
 
Re: 1/7/11, Sophie, AMPS 383, might bump dose

Thanks Sienne, I think you're exactly right. Looking over the regulation protocols and the experiences shared here, I've got a better handle on how to deal with my cat's BG and insulin needs than I would have otherwise. While the experiences here are "anecdotal," technically, members have compiled a lot of very good data in a systematic way - it's quite good! From what I can see, many people here have far better data, over longer periods of time, than many/most vets do.

I gave Sophie her .5 tonight, only because I'll be sleeping for most of her PM cycle. I'm going to give her .75 during the day tomorrow while I'll be around to watch her.
 
Also, I'm dealing with trying to put weight back on Sophie. She lost 1.5 pounds during her undiagnosed period, and since she was a trim cat to begin with, she needs to gain it back. She's a little bit heavier than she was a few weeks ago, but I can still feel her vertebrae too readily. So, she gets extra helpings of food, which she's gobbling up, and which I'm sure is contributing to her BG levels.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top