1/6 Ole AMPS 387 +6 318 +9 343 PMPS 493 +2 493 +4 509

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rebekah

Member Since 2013
Good morning!
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=111299

I am happy that Ole held his numbers in the pink, we hope to kiss the unmentionable colors goodbye.

Let me know what to do next as far as R goes. This morning is Ole's 4th cycle at 4uL, so this evening we plan to increase to 4.5.

I never detected any pain in Ole because of pancretitis, though I do believe he was uncomfortable while on the steroid, even though he was on an antacid at the same time. As I have mentioned, Ole was a remarkably healthy kitty except for his Diabetes, and pancretitis. Only recently has he been acting as though he is feeling really crummy. Yesterday, and so far today, he has been running around the house acting like a kitten, playing, purring up a storm. It is really nice to see.

Thanks again for your help! Go Ole Go!

Rebekah
 
Re: 1/6 Ole AMPS 387

Yay for the pink start this morning. I hope Ole will slide down today. Yay on the playful kitty.
 
Re: 1/6 Ole AMPS 387

It's so good to see some prettier numbers! And like you, I'm very glad t see Ole hold on to those numbers overnight. This was a great start and even better, Ole seemed to like being in lower numbers.
 
Re: 1/6 Ole AMPS 387

Very nice start for Ole today, and it's great to hear he is feeling better and playing like a kitten again. Hopefully those "other" numbers are gone for good! Good luck with tonight's dosecrease. Have a great day, Rebekah!!
 
Re: 1/6 Ole AMPS 387

Nice start to the day Ole! You come down some more for your mamabean! She worked hard to get you out of those yucky red and black numbers.
 
Re: 1/6 Ole AMPS 387

Great job with the R last night!

As Julie mentioned, I have often found after using R that the subsequent cycle holds better numbers. The R is often able to open the door to let the basal insulin do it's job. I'm really glad to see this pink AMPS :-D :-D and it's even better that he's feeling playful and doing well.

Unless you see some blue today, I'd go ahead with the increase tonight.
 
Re: 1/6 Ole AMPS 387 +3 348

Hello all!

Pleased to see a +3 pink don't you think? Also, Ole tested negative for Ketones this morning.

I'm at work, but I will head home for lunch and a test.

Thank you,
Rebekah
 
Re: 1/6 Ole AMPS 387 +3 348

Woo Hoo Ole for holding in the pinkies :-D :-D This looks just beautiful!
And great work on using the R Rebekah!!!! We are ever in the background and cheering you on :-D
 
Re: 1/6 Ole AMPS 387 +3 348 +6 318

I'm so happy to see some lower numbers for Ole today! :-D I love it when kitties play, it makes my heart warm :-D Hope your day is going fantastic! Good luck with the dosecrease. :cool:
 
Re: 1/6 Ole AMPS 387 +3 348 +6 318

Was watching your condo last night from the sidelines..Looks like using the R is going to be a great help to Ole in getting his numbers under better control...YEAH!!!!!

Really happy to hear that he's feeling more frisky too...that's one of the big things we like to hear about and then we know they're feeling better. Go Ole, go!!

Good luck with the dosecrease!
 
Re: 1/6 Ole AMPS 387 +3 348 +6 318 +9 343 PMPS 493

Bummer,

I had hoped that Ole Cat would stay in the pink all day. Is this high number considered a bounce? Sorry, I am still trying to clearly define what a bounce is.

I spent some time today putting together a profile together for Ole. It is a work in progress, hahaha

Let me know what you think about Ole's progress. Dose increased to 4.5 tonight.

Rebekah
 
Re: 1/6 Ole AMPS 387 +3 348 +6 318 +9 343 PMPS 493

Boo Ole! You come down from there! Your mamabean is not happy!

Not sure on the bounce. I'll defer to those more experienced in determining that.

Stick with it! You're doing great. The numbers will come!
 
Re: 1/6 Ole AMPS 387 +3 348 +6 318 +9 343 PMPS 493

hahaha loved the profile story of Ole and the Monster! That's hysterical. We got 2 kittens in August and the orange boy, Frodo, came with very obviously barbered whiskers. they didn't taper off, like whiskers do, they were definitely chewed. Apparently one of his litter-mates shared Ole's love of whisker chewing! but McGee, the second kitten, a tuxedo boy, doesn't chew whiskers and so Frodo has a lovely white Fu Man Chu type of mustache now. :-D

See what Sandy or others think about it, but I think you could probably continue to use the same dose on Ole when you have a red preshot. At first, I would only use it on cycles when you are home to keep an eye on things. You don't have to test every hour, but every couple of hours would be smart. You want to be confident that this is a typical reaction before you shoot and leave.

The goal is just to keep him out of danger while we get to that better Lantus dose.
 
Re: 1/6 Ole AMPS 387 +3 348 +6 318 +9 343 PMPS 493 +493

Bummer again, with the same number too!

I won't be going into work until about noon tomorrow morning because I have to work in my studio in the morning (I'm a designer/illustrator). I could give another R if that is the recommendation.

Thanks again,
Rebekah
 
Re: 1/6 Ole AMPS 387 +3 348 +6 318 +9 343 PMPS 493 +493

This could possible be Ole's version of a bounce. He took a pretty big drop last night and that can do it.

Are you talking about giving him R now or in the morning? I would also stick with 0.1u any time you shoot R for the time being. He had a decent response and it could be he responds more next time.

Loved his profile. OMG is he gorgeous!!!! And sweet Loki and he make my heart melt.
 
Re: 1/6 Ole AMPS 387 +3 348 +6 318 +9 343 PMPS 493 +493

Nice day for Ole :cool:
Rebekah said:
Yesterday, and so far today, he has been running around the house acting like a kitten, playing, purring up a storm. It is really nice to see.
Very happy to hear that.
Rebekah said:
I never detected any pain in Ole because of pancretitis
Rebekah said:
Only recently has he been acting as though he is feeling really crummy.
Although I personally don't have experience with Pancreatitis, I believe it can flare up, subside, flare up again etc and that those flare ups can be painful.
And pain can raise BGs.
Like most all animals, cats will do there best to hide the fact that they are not feeling 100%
If you have not already done so I encourage you to post a thread on the 'Health" board for input from others who have experience with p-titis

How there can be a $65.00 difference for OTC medicine in the same small town,
That's highway robbery for crying out loud!
I saw this in Cobbs condo. It is a very good question - one for the folks at Walgreens.
It doesn't hurt to ask them either; and let them know you'll be taking your business elsewhere.
You never know what the outcome will be. . .
Rebekah said:
Let me know what to do next as far as R goes. This morning is Ole's 4th cycle at 4uL, so this evening we plan to increase to 4.5.
Glad to see you increased - you will find the right dose with time.

Tonight I have to refrain from any specific guidance on where to go from here with the R. My visit to the dentist ended up involving about 1/2 dozen shots of novocain and once it wore off I had to take something for pain.

I will say that the trial went very well and based on his reaction the 0.10u is a good dose. Mission accomplished.
Don't despair about tonight's PMPS and PM+2, Ole had a wonderful cycle today. :-D

Ole is on the right track . Keep up the good work - it will get better.

see you tomorrow :cool:
 
Re: 1/6 Ole AMPS 387 +3 348 +6 318 +9 343 PMPS 493 +493

Hi all,

For clarification on the price of R, I did ask why there was such a huge price difference. It is because Humilin and Novolin give Walmart a special price that they don't give to other pharmacies.

Yes, let's see how the dose increase plays out. I don't want to dose in R without guidance for the time being.

Sandy, I hope you recover from your dental appointment, which must have been a doozy! Also, I really enjoyed Black Kitties videos! Good times make up for it all.

Stay warm all!

Rebekah
 
Re: 1/6 Ole AMPS 387 +3 348 +6 318 +9 343 PMPS 493 +493

Rebekah said:
For clarification on the price of R, I did ask why there was such a huge price difference. It is because Humilin and Novolin give Walmart a special price that they don't give to other pharmacies.

That's absurd; although I gathered not every pharmacy carries the R. Publix said they would probably have to order it.

But knowing what we know now about Walmart...can we make sure anyone new who may have to try it know this secret so they don't have to fork out more money than they have to??

Rebekah, sorry Ole climbed back up. He's probably used to the higher numbers. You'll find the right dose! Cobb just clicked either this last dose. Nothing else changed. Ole will too, although I know all too well how encouraging those pinks look and then the red and black creep back in. No worries though. You're doing a great job!

~Suzanne
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top