1/6 Moonie PMPS 245,+4~150 Hyp.T results

Status
Not open for further replies.

Roni and Moonie

Member Since 2009
About 5pm Moonie ate some of her food from that am,that was dried out but she ate it--About 6 pm she was moaning & threw up cat food...We calmed her down & at about 6pm she went into LB & had terrible diahrrea, worst she ever had...Then she went into our bedroom & threw up all the water she drank..
So we called er vet & they said come in--
Examined, BW-CBC & HyoerT test, her BW was good, except her BUN was a tiny bit high, but we knew that.
The vet said we could get an xray to see if there is a blockage, but we thought that she isnt a cat that would eat anything--Took 3 1/2hrs there, and she got a shot of pepcid & Metronidazole--
She traveled home fine--Got her home & she drank a ton of water, took about 15 min & she threw it up..
Please Help Me _ I never had this before!! Dont know what to do--Please ZHelp!!
 
Re: 1/6 Moonie was in the ER tonite!! Need Help!!

(((Roni)))): I'm so sorry Moonie was so sick tonight and I"m glad you took her to the vet. Metronidazole works like as an antibiotic against bacterial infections and also as anti-protozoal for things such as Giardia. It has a really bitter/bad taste; I've not heard of vets injecting it but that doesn't mean they don't.

You might try giving her just a tiny bit of baby food...the kind that only has chicken or turkey..no broth or onion/garlic.

Hard to say what caused it but I know you'll keep a close eye on her. Did the vet also prescribe pepcid and metronidazole or just a one time shot?

Sending Moonie big healing vines.
 
Re: 1/6 Moonie was in the ER tonite!! Need Help!!

What did the ER vet say was wrong?
I'm not familiar with FD's and vomiting but I know for civies my vet used to recommend taking food/water away to let their stomach settle. Maybe the morning food was left out too long?
 
Re: 1/6 Moonie was in the ER tonite!! Need Help!!

Oh no Roni! I am so sorry! Tarragon takes metronidazole daily for diarrhea. I hope that helps calm her poor tummy down. Sending tons of healing vines to Moonie!!
 
Re: 1/6 Moonie was in the ER tonite!! Need Help!!

so sorry roni - I hope she settles down. maybe allow a lIttle time before allowing her to eat, just small aMts, something like baby food? Hope all is well! healing vines for Moonie!
 
Re: 1/6 Moonie was in the ER tonite!! Need Help!!

Poor Moonie. If she continues to throw up can you take her back to the vet for an anti-nausea injection?
 
Re: 1/6 Moonie was in the ER tonite!! Need Help!!

Ron, oh no, sorry to hear Moonie was so sick. I pray she's feeling better this morning. Sending vines and prayers for Moonie and you. Can't wait to hear how Moonie's feeling today. Love and hugs to you.
 
Re: 1/6 Moonie was in the ER tonite!! Need Help!!

Just want to add my thoughts, prayers, and hugs...how is Moonie this morning? :YMHUG: ...
 
Re: 1/6 Moonie was in the ER tonite!! Need Help!!

I'm praying hard for Moonie. Please be well little one. Hugs and prayers for you too Roni.
 
Re: 1/6 Moonie was in the ER tonite!! Need Help!!

I hope Moonie is feeling a lot better, this morning.
 
Re: 1/6 Moonie was in the ER tonite!! Need Help!!

Oh, Roni! You must be so worried! Thoughts, prayers, vines and snowflakes for your pretty girl... hope she's feeling better soon. Will be keeping you in my thoughts and checking back for updates!!

((((Roni)))) ((((Moonie)))))
 
Re: 1/6 Moonie was in the ER tonite!! Need Help!!

((((Roni and Moonie)))) So sorry to read about your ER visit. I hope little Moonie is feeling better this morning. I will be waiting to hear how she did overnight.
 
Re: 1/6 Moonie was in the ER tonite!! Need Help!!

Hugs to you and extra chin scritches for Moonie! Hopefully Moonie will be feeling better today!
 
Re: 1/6 Moonie was in the ER tonite!! Need Help!!

Oh no! I am so sorry to hear Moonie was in the ER, I hope she's doing better today. Let us know how she is when you can.
Tons of healing vines and prayers heading your's and Moonie's way
 
Re: 1/6 Moonie AMPS 289 was in ER last night!

Baby food is a good idea for a couple of meals -- it's easy on the digestion.

If she throws up again, getting an anti-emetic (ondansatron or Cerenia) injection at the vet's office may help. If you take Moonie in to the vet, make sure they check so see if she's dehydrated.

I know you're worried. This may be the equivalent of a stomach flu. Hopefully, it's just a 24 hour bug.
 
Re: 1/6 Moonie AMPS 289 was in ER last night!

Sending get better vines for Moonie today. I hope it's just a 24-hour bug like Sienne mentioned and it has cleared her system by this morning.
 
Re: 1/6 Moonie AMPS 289 was in ER last night!

Good Morning Roni and Moonie,
Moonie, we hope that you are feeling much better this morning. Roni, was she able to eat the baby food and keep it down?
Lots of prayers, positive thoughts, and healing vines headed your way this morning. I'll talk to you later.

BIG HUGS :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/6 Moonie AMPS 289 was in ER last night!

Oh no! I went to bed early last night and missed this, i hope Mooie improved overnight and the was just a temporary upset. Did she eat anything later? :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 1/6 Moonie AMPS 289 was in ER last night!

Roni, so sorry that Moonie is not feeling well! Perhaps just a bad can of food? Hoping Moonie is better today, please post when you can.
Mary
 
Re: 1/6 Moonie AMPS 289 was in ER last night!

Hi guys .. I'm so sorry to hear that moonie had such a rough night :sad: I hope it was a quick bug and she is completely better this morning .. I know how worried you must be about your baby girl .. Extra hugs going out to you guys :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/6 Moonie AMPS 289 was in ER last night!

Moonie is OK today after a terrible evening of vomiting twice & liquipoo..She was moaning everytime she felt sick, so we took her to the ER..She was tested & examined, but she had eaten some cat food that was out all day..No fever, BW OK, she was given metronidazole & famotidine & is much better today.
She kept throwing up water, which was scary as she couldnt keep anything down.

Today she is Much Better & is eating--The vet wanted to give her 1/2 her reg. dose of insulin last night at what would have been Moonie's +3, but I said NO, better to have No shot--Her BG there was 263--
When we left for vet she was 212...I knew she wouldnt eat last night, so why shoot her if she would just drop like a rock?? The ER vet knew I knew what I was talkking about & had brought her lantus, my meter, strips, syringes, & all our gear..She almost fainted when I ntold her Moonie had been +5~61, but I told her I knew how to control her numbers, & it wasnt that unusual--Called on the protocol!
She has eaten today, peed but no poo--I havent given her the meds yet, waiting till later &
planning how to give her a pill :lol: :lol: --I do have pill pockets.
Thanks to Barb & MJ, & Ella for getting me through last night--It was very frightning
and I slept for 4 hrs total--So tired but am staying with her all day--
Hugs & Love from us!
 
Re: 1/6 Moonie AMPS 289 was in ER last night!

so happy to hear Moonie is doing better. Hope you both manage some rest today
 
Re: 1/6 Moonie AMPS 289 was in ER last night!

I'm so glad Moonie is doing better! I hope you get a chance to get some rest today after that nasty scare.
 
Re: 1/6 Moonie AMPS 289 was in ER last night!

Hi again,
What a relief to see that Moonie is feeling better and eating again. Roni, you did fine! I wouldn't worry about the fact that she hasn't pooped today. There can't be much in there to eliminate!!
Try to get some naps in (Moonie is an expert at napping, so follow her example!)

Talk to you later,

Big Hugs,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/6 Moonie AMPS 289 was in ER last night!

(((((Roni))))) Thank you for posting this update and I am soooo glad to see Moonie is improving. What a scary night for you. Thinking of you and Moonie today and sending healing energy and good thoughts to you.
Liz
 
Re: 1/6 Moonie AMPS 289 was in ER last night!

Forgot to say that she did get a Hyper T blood test & we'll get the results later today-
 
Re: 1/6 Moonie AMPS 289 was in ER last night!

oh roni, poor little moonie. that sounds awful. i hope the worst of it's past. we had great luck with cerenia and i think it's relatively safe if you need something else. many hugs!
 
Re: 1/6 Moonie AMPS 289 was in ER last night!

My heart was in my throat reading your post and update. Wow. So glad to hear she is on the mend. What a night for both of you. Sending hugs.
 
Re: 1/6 Moonie AMPS 289 was in ER last night!

I'm so sorry Moonie was so sick. It's very scary for us when they can't tell us what's wrong!! I'm glad she seems to be on the mend. Try to get some rest!!!
 
Re: 1/6 Moonie AMPS 289 was in ER last night!

(((Roni))) so glad to get this positive update on Moonie. I know it must have been so scary. Vines and prayers for her and you today, too!
 
Re: 1/6 Moonie AMPS 289 was in ER last night!

poor Moonie an Poor Roni! I'm sure Moonie scared you so much last night and spending half the night in the ER wasn't a picnic either. I'm glad they were able to give her some injectables to help settle her tummy. No sense gving pills if she was just going to throw it up. When my Ali was so sick she wouldn't eat or couldn't eat because she would throw it all up, they did give me the injectable pepcid to help settle her tummy and then another injectable that helped with the nausea. I think they gave Moonie the same thing.
Glad she is feeling better this morning, and hopes she contines to mend. I bet she's pretty wiped out too. So today, you guys just take it easy and hang out with each other and enjoy your time. After last night you both earned it!!
 
Re: 1/6 Moonie AMPS 289 was in ER last night!

Thanks for the update! I'm so happy to hear moonie is back to feeling better .. Poor girl .. :sad: You took excellent care of her momma and I know she loves you for it .. but she always wants you to get some rest today too!
 
Re: 1/6 Moonie AMPS 289 was in ER last night!

I'm so happy to hear that Moonie will be fine. Sending tons of positive thoughts and healing vines in your direction, Roni. :YMHUG: I wish for Moonie to continue to make a full and speedy recovery.

I've got a cat (or cats) that tend to drink so much water that they turn around and throw it right back up again. I have to monitor them everytime that they're at the water dish because of that. They'll do that especially after they eat.
 
Re: 1/6 Moonie AMPS 289 was in ER last night!

So glad to hear this report this morning. We were so worried about Miss Moonie. Poor darling and I know you were beside yourself, Roni. But you are an awesome bean always on top of things.

We're sending healing vines and hope she improves tenfold today.
 
Re: 1/6 Moonie AMPS 289 was in ER last night!

Oh Roni, I didn't see this last night. You must have been out of your mind with fear.
I'm so happy to read that Miss Moonie is feeling better today.
Sending healing vines, so she is totally better today. :smile:
 
Re: 1/6 Moonie AMPS 289 was in ER last night!

What a relief to hear that she is feeling better. Send vines and snowflakes. Let us know when you get the labs back.
 
Re: 1/6 Moonie AMPS 289,+4~208,+6.5~134 in ER last night!

Oh my goodness!

poor little sweet girl...and what a scare for you, Roni!

sending healing energy, vines and snowflakes to Miss Moonie!

celi and binks
 
Re: 1/6 Moonie AMPS 289,+4~208,+6.5~134 in ER last night!

Thanks for all the caring!--She is doing well, eating cat food about 1/2 her usual, and ate some cooked chicken--Ate up the pill pocket with the pepcid right away!!! I just havent given her the Metronidozole yet, as that is by mouth syringe..want to feed her again so she has it with food..
She hasnt pooped, but ia think I shoulod give her the miralax like she gets everyday, for easy passage? Vet said I could give it to her last nite, but I waited today..Any feedbacK??
Thanks Hugs from us!
 
Re: 1/6 Moonie AMPS 289,+4~208,+6.5~134 in ER last night!

Hi Roni! I'm so glad Moonie is feeling a bit better today! What a scare for you last night! I think it's normal after so much vomitting and liquipoo that she doesn't poop for a day or two. I wouldn't worry for a couple days. There's nothing left in there, and now that she's eating again, if she's only eating half her normal amt, it may take a while to build up. I've never used Miralax, so I can't really comment on whether or not to use that, but I might wait a day before trying it.

Thanks for visiting Muffin's condo! Hugs and scritches to you all!
 
Re: 1/6 Moonie AMPS 289,+4~208,+6.5~134 in ER last night!

Oh my gosh! My heart jumped in my throat until I got to today's posts. Whew! I'm so glad Moonie is starting to feel better.
What a rough night for you all. I will send lots of get well vines to sweet Moonie. (And napping vines for you Roni. :lol: )
 
Re: 1/6 Moonie AMPS 289,+4~208,+6.5~134 in ER last night!

I am so glad Moonie is feeling better and eating! I hope you guys both get some rest today. Good luck with the metronidazole - as others have said it is very bitter, it made Bailey foam at the mouth when we gave it to her. :shock:
 
Re: 1/6 Moonie AMPS 289,+4~208,+6.5~134 in ER last night!

Roni! I'm so sorry Mooni got sick and for the fright you had. I hope you can get some rest today and Mooni-Mook feels better fast. Hugs from us :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/6 Moonie AMPS 289,+4~208,+6.5~134 in ER last night!

Is the metronidazole a liquid or a pill. I remember giving Maverick a liquid medication and I thought he was having a severe reaction with the foaming/drooling/lipsmacking. The vet assured me it was "normal". ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 1/6 Moonie AMPS 289,+4~208,+6.5~134 in ER last night!

The metronizadole is liquid--Is Moonie going to foam at the mouth?? Maybe my reg vet could give me the pills?
 
Re: 1/6 Moonie AMPS 289,+4~208,+6.5~134 in ER last night!

My kitties foam with the liquid, too...freaked me out first time, as I thought I had just poisoned Zen. Last time around, I got "tasty tabs" or something like that...I could wrap it in pill pockets, and no foaming. Much better.
 
Re: 1/6 Moonie AMPS 289,+4~208,+6.5~134 in ER last night!

Roni, I am so happy to hear the update that Moonie is feeling better today. Please try and get some rest over the weekend...you deserve it!
 
Re: 1/6 Moonie PMPS 245 Waiting Hyp.T results

OMG Waiting for vet to call(I called wice) re: hyper T test..I think I screwed up the metronizalone by leavng it out all nite & today--Forgot it needed to be refrigerated!!! :o
Will ask my reg vet if they have the pills-- it's closer to here--Although Moonie hasnt gone poo at all since yesterday--put a tiny amount miralax in her food tonite--Hope she doesnt need it!
Waiting for magical poo!!! :lol: :lol: :lol:
All is still well here..will call again soon.
 
Re: 1/6 Moonie PMPS 245 Waiting Hyp.T results

(((Roni))) been thinking about you and Moonie tonight. Hope the Miralax does its magic. Did you get the call on the test, if not, maybe tomorrow morning. I hope you were able to get some rest today. How is Moonie acting tonight? Hugs
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top