1/6 KHAN Amps 550, 5.5/395,10/371,Pmps 343

Status
Not open for further replies.

pepperthecat1969

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=33689

I woke up about 20 mins ago to a high piked meowing, ran into his room and he had puked all over his blanket then in the hall and twice in the living room. I checked his BG= 455, He did meow rt before he puked almost everything from his tummy. Pee is very sticky, I offered a small amt of food- he licked up about 1 teaspoon..

What do I do? What is going on? pancreatitis? plain infection?
 
Re: 1/6 KHAN +11/455 Puking- NEED ADVICE

I do not really have any answers for you as to why he is puking.
Is this something new? Has Khan had pancreatitis in the past?

I would try giving him a very small amount of food to see if he holds that down until shot time.
 
Re: 1/6 KHAN +11/455 Puking- NEED ADVICE

If he has I didn't know it. I don't even really know what the signs are. I know I have an email into my vet about Khan's pee being sticky.. I just spoke to my vet yesterday.. so I'm sure Khan will have a blood draw today - that will tell me what is going on- I hope.
 
Re: 1/6 KHAN +11/455 Puking- NEED ADVICE

Do you have any Pepsid AC (not Pepsid Complete) in the house? If Khan can't hold food down, 1/4 of a tablet of Pepsid may help. If he doesn't hold food down, a vet appt. would be a good idea.
 
Re: 1/6 KHAN +11/455 Puking- NEED ADVICE

I offered food but he is just looking at it. I guess I don't like to eat rt after throwing up so why would he? I'll go offer a different flavor..maybe that will help??
 
Re: 1/6 KHAN +11/455 Puking- NEED ADVICE

I don't. Only thing the vet will be able to do - I think- is blood draw - rt? I won't leave him at the vet.. I'm thinking of running him in for a blood draw then running into work.
 
Re: 1/6 KHAN +11/455 Puking- NEED ADVICE

I still give his insulin correct?

What is up with the Relion micro strips NOT being available? I bought the last small box at Walmart last night. The very last box.
 
Re: 1/6 KHAN +11/455 Puking- NEED ADVICE

Good morning! In my Walmart, they have a display in the isle for the strips, and I'd say about 8 times out of 10 the Relion micros are empty, but they always have them behind the counter at the Pharmacy. Did you ask there? Also, did you ask them to make sure that they order more? I can see the boxes on the shelf behind the counter, so I usually tell them that I use this brand and would they please make sure they order them if they don't have anymore.

Now, as far as sticky pee.....their pee is usually sticky due to the sugars in the urine. Since Khan is running consistently higher, the sugar will be more prevelent in his urine. Not sure if anything can be done for that except regulation, but I'm not an expert on such things, so best to get it checked out by vet.

As far as eating....maybe he just isn't interested in food since he threw up. Hopefully his tummy is just a little off kilter and will settle down after he gets some pepcid. I'm courious, do you have a petsmart near you? I feed Spot their Sophisticat brand food. There are many options that are 0-1-2% carbs and Ralph and Spot love them. They are inexpensive also, about .37 for a 5 oz. can.

I hope that Khan feels better soon.
 
Re: 1/6 KHAN Amps 550

Yes I asked the pharmacy tech and she said.. Oh that is over thecounter you need to ask someone out there. I said what- no.. this is for blood glucose monitoring. I use this daily- she blew me off. I didn't have time to talk to the manager..but you bet I will today. I'm not one to make a hassle but that was very uncalled for.

Khan ate. I'm guessing he has an infection or renal or something.. I do know for sure.. something is going on since his numbers keep sky rocketing...
 
Re: 1/6 KHAN Amps 550

In order for them to check for pancreatitis, they'll need to do a fasting fPLI test and also it helps to have an U/S with that. Sure hope you can find a solution so his numbers will come down.
 
Re: 1/6 KHAN Amps 550

Hi, thinking of you both & hoping for better #s & that you can identify the reason for the pukus :YMSIGH:
Happy Friday eve..
 
Vet results from what I remember--

BUN-- higher end of normal but normal to see when BG is high?
creatinine on higher end of normal range however still in normal range.
cholestrol higher end
urine was tested and no infection

GOOD NEWS.. KHAN has gained from 9# to 11.4# since May!! .. I think that is correct..

So all that can be done is check T4 thyroid and increase insulin from 1.5 to 1.75

thoughts???

I have a great vet clinic- I really was pushing on Dr. S today- feel really bad how excited I got when we were discussing Lantus and LC foods but I couldn't help it. Lantus is a great insulin and without this site I would have NEVER known how well LC fancy feast would impact Khan's BG number and reduce the amt of insulin he takes. I recommended he check this site out and read catinfo.org regarding LC and switching cats to LC diet while on insulin. There is a cat that is on 5u of Lantus 2x/day and being fed DM wet 80%, 20% dry free fed.. my mouth fell open.. I hope he checks this out and finds out for himself how impactful the LC food can be for the animal's health- reduce the insulin amount.
 
Khan's insulin was checked at clinic first with a meter then with drawn blood. drawn blood was much higher.. probably due to his stress level. with the poke it was very close to my reading. Khan was definitely scared and not happy to be there...so scared he peed in his carrier again and was shaking away. He ate once home and is now relaxing..
 
Ummmm.... I'm not sure how they did a urinalysis. In order to be sure there's no infection, they need a sterile sample. It's drawn by inserting a needle into the bladder. The sample is then cultured for 2 - 3 days in order to see if any bacteria grows. The urine draw is called a cytocentesis and the remaining procedure is a culture and sensitivity (C & S).

As long as the kidney values (BUN, creatinine) are in the normal range, that's good. If there's any way to get more water into Khan, that is a good thing for his kidneys. Add more water to his food if you're not already doing to or sometimes, using a drinking fountain vs. a bowl of water will encourage drinking.

High cholesterol isn't a problem.

At these ranges, I would be raising Khan's dose every 2 - 3 days.
 
I did discuss the c&S with the Vet and decieded to hold off and do a quick check since his bladder was full.
Although this vet is great he isn't the normal vet I deal with. Dr. W will probably be in tomorrow and I'll discuss it with him then. Thankyou for the advice and input I can't say enough thank yous. :) :) :) :) :)

As for the dose increases.. I increased tonight to 1.75u and then I should hold for 2 or 3 days??
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top