1/6 Hogan PMPS 183, +2 76, +3 66, +3.5 79, +4 72, +5 94

Hogan

Member Since 2018
Yesterday's Post

I keep having to shoot lower and lower numbers, but it's a good problem to have ;).

I couldn't swear his AMPS was after two hours of fasting, but I'm 90% sure it was. I fell asleep after his +7 last night, and forgot to take his food bowls away until I woke back up at +11.

I reduced to 1.50U.

I know it depends on the cat's patterns, but could someone take a look at my SS and tell me what AMPS/PMPS should I not shoot below? So far, I've been shooting as long as I can be around to monitor.
 
Congratulations on the reduction! Hogan had a really great day. The SLGS guideline recommends not shooting if you get a preshot of under 90. Really the question for all of us when we start seeing lower and lower preshots is how comfortable we are shooting them ;). You are gathering a lot of really good data, and I think you need a few of these this morning :coffee::coffee:

Keep working that juice, Hogan!
 
Since you're following SLGS I agree with Christie and Maverick - no shot below 90 - and one of the mantras here is shoot low to stay low - however ONLY if you're going to be home to monitor. If Hogan is lower than you're comfortable with - that nice blue start today - you may want to get a 1+ to make sure he's not doing anything fancy. I was caught off guard by Miss Luci the first time - by not getting a 1+ she was way off into the lagoon by 2+ (the greens)...I should have known with her first blue start that I needed to pay attention! I learned my lesson and now getting a 1+ whenever she gives me the 'signal' (lower start than usual)...but then I'm a helicopter mom - and tend to over-test...

Be sure to have your high carb, medium carb foods on hand - check out the gravy style Fancy Feasts on Dr. Pierson's food chart for carb content and read about that in the Hypo kit stickie. Keep Karo syrup or honey in the hypo tool kit - or at least handy in your pantry for those occasions when things get too low - a drop of honey can really bring those BG's up quickly - but won't be a permanent fix as that sugar only lasts a little while.

Keep reading other condos and studying other SS's. Lots of information on this forum - and you'll see patterns in Hogan's SS soon as well...he seems to go easily into the greens - so nice to see him in that healing place. :)
 
While nerve-wracking, it is definitely a good problem to have. You'll never know how your kitty will react to lower numbers until you give insulin and monitor. I still thought I would cause a hypo shooting a green (because my initial insulin was a fast-acting in-and-out insulin that would have caused a hypo), but I was pleasantly surprised how much he surfed the day. I think you can be told how these depot insulins behave and you can see it in action on other people's spreadsheets, but you won't be comfortable with it until you see the same action on your own spreadsheet. Over time, the more data you get on your own kitty will make you so much more comfortable with shooting those low numbers.
 
Thanks for all of the replies! He's 99 at +2. I feel pretty comfortable shooting low as I have a couple of hypos under my belt now, and I'm confident I can handle them. I think for now, no shot under 90 is a good plan.
 
It takes time getting used to shooting lower numbers. Hogan is looking good!
 
I did a +2 in hopes I could go to sleep early :). But again, this is a good problem to have. I feel like he's adjusting to something so nothing is really predictable, maybe the old pancreas is thinking about getting back into the game, but I'm happy to give up my sleep for the cause!
 
Oh come on Hogan, really?! Can you maybe give a little LC to prop him up, or maybe a few treats you feed, if you haven't already? I'm worried for you that he's early in the cycle yet, and he may have some ideas of dropping into dangerous territory. Ideally you want him to flatten out now, since you are SLGS and with AT2 he doesn't need to go any lower.
 
He hasn't eaten very much this afternoon. Not because I think he's not feeling well, the opposite really, he's been very active and spent a big chunk of the day outside (first cool day we've had in a while) and then has been sleeping off his big burst of activity. I can put him in front of his LC food bowls and he'll probably have a bite or two. Or I can give him some cooked shrimp, he will definitely eat that. Or the big guns are the HC treats, I could give him one or two maybe? What do you advise?

ETA: I woke him up and put him in front of the LC food bowls, and he's eating up a storm now. My +3 test will be in about 25 minutes, so hopefully this will bring him up.
 
Last edited:
I really feel with that steep drop from preshot to +2, he's probably already under 68 as we speak, but I'm overly cautious when I see steep drops like that so early. You have a few options, you can retest at +2.5 or +3 and see if he's naturally flattened out..or dropped, he's not yet in trouble number-wise, or if you are nervous like I am :rolleyes: you can give treats now. I don't think the shrimp has many carbs, I'm struggling to assess carbs he has taken in vs. Seeing the dropping numbers and needing to boost him up. If he hasn't eaten much that makes me nervous too. I guess I'm not much help lol
 
Oh good, I've seen your update, but the hunger and appetite is a sign he is getting low, my Mav gets downright feisty and needs to eat when he gets too low...
 
Your instincts are dead on! His +3 20 minutes after eating a good amount of LC food is 66. So I think I will give him one HC treat and retest at +3.5? Let me know if you think I should give him more or test earlier.

ETA: The poor boy would marry the bag of Temptation treats if he could. He leapt out of his box the millisecond he heard the crinkling of the bag, and now he is systematically licking every inch of the floor where the single Temptation treat was in the vicinity of.
 
Last edited:
Well darn, I was hoping I was wrong, that happens from time to time :rolleyes:, he's just a touch under 68, those treats are a bit of an experiment, but yes, one or two, that seemed to work for you last time, and then let's see where he is at +3.5.
 
Your instincts are dead on! His +3 20 minutes after eating a good amount of LC food is 66. So I think I will give him one HC treat and retest at +3.5? Let me know if you think I should give him more or test earlier.

ETA: The poor boy would marry the bag of Temptation treats if he could. He leapt out of his box the millisecond he heard the crinkling of the bag, and now he is systematically licking every inch of the floor where the single Temptation treat was in the vicinity of.
Lol to your ETA ... well what did you expect?! Those are some delicious treats, glad that gets his attention when you need it! Don't burn off too much of his energy, we need his BG up, not down lol
 
His +3.5 was 79. Is that good enough or should I try to raise more? I'll be testing at +4 and until I see him with two blues.
 
Nope that's good for now. But yes to additional tests, not sure how long the treats will affect his BG. You might be ok to wait till around +4.5 to test, based on the last few times you used treats, he seemed to come up, but he did bobble around a little Jan 3rd. Just a thought, maybe just a wee bit more of LC might get him surfing now.

ETA /: rethinking about this...while the increase in BG to 79 is good, with SLGS technically I believe you want to get back above 90 for safety.
 
Last edited:
Maybe two...he's still flirting with a bit too low even with TR and since you are following SLGS, ideally you want him just a bit higher yet. How's he feeling/acting?
 
OK, I'll give a second one, he'll be thrilled. To be honest, I'm struggling to stay awake after last night, so probably better to have more of a buffer. He was restless at +3, but he's settled down a bit and is cleaning himself on the bed.
 
Back
Top