1/6 Gobbles AMPS 359

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 1/6 Gobbles AMPS

You can put the numbers in the subject line of the very first post so they will show up on the main listing.
1/6 Gobbles +10 414; AMPS 359

Then everyone can get a pretty good idea of how Gobbles is doing just from that. Good job! Gobbles, let's see some lower numbers today, ok?
Liz
 
Re: 1/6 Gobbles AMPS

Sorry if i wasnt clear in yesterdays condo.. I meant put 1/6 Gobbles AMPS 359. And add a link to yesterdays condo in it so people can go back easily and review what happened the previous day.

You do it like this:

Put this in your condo
paste the previous condo link here[/i]]Previous condo
to show people what happened in the previous one

and it shows like this in your condo if you do it right
Previous condo
 
Re: 1/6 Gobbles +10 414; AMPS 359

close.. you dont need to add the +10 414 since really that should have gone in yesterdays. it will confuse people being in todays.

No link to yesterdays condo?
 
It sure is a lot to learn! :roll: :lol: It really is another language but it will start to make sense as you go along. Your link isn't quite enough. You need the whole thing to make it a clickable link. I pasted
"http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/posting.php?mode=reply&f=9&t=86346" and it looks like this
posting.php?mode=reply&f=9&t=86346

The URL button is the best way. Put the text in the middle.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/posting.php?mode=reply&f=9&t=86346

If you do it like Wendy suggests, you can make the link text be whatever text you want and still clickable.
Yesterday

Liz
 
Wendy&Tiggy said:
How about +6? Lets see what his nadir is today.
Great...will do...after that, his next test will be PMPS because I don't think I'll be back from airport till at least 10 p.m.
 
Ok cool but I have to say ( before a expert chimes in) we are assuming his nadir is around +6. It might not be. But its kinda been around there before so thats a good time.

and PMPS is good too.

Maybe tonite you can do a PMPS+3 or +4 since you will be too excited to sleep with your daughter there ;)
 
We're adaptable, the +10 wasn't a problem and it let us see that you have a slightly dropping number. :-D :-D So keep checking you might get some action today. That's whay we like getting tests shortly before the preshot.

Here's a link to your condo yesterday, it helps us to quickly go back and catch up on any info we might have missed.

To get it, copy the web address (the whole thing, http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=86346&start=50). When you are typing up today's condo, above the box where you tyoe you message there are a series of buttons, click the URL button. It will place the bbcode where you cursor is blinking, like this [color=#00BFFF]cursor will be blinking here[/color] You can just place the web address between the 2 sets of brackets wher the cursor is now blinking. This will show your previous day's web address as an active link when you post. OR Click the URL button, type in a name for yesterday's condo, backspace just inside the first set of brackets, type = and paste your web address, [url=http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=86346&start=50]condo name here[/url]. When you post this will show up as yesterday or whatever you want to call it. This is your link to yesterday.

You had questions about Gobbles's fur yesterday. When first dx cats fur has often become unkempt and flaky, this can be from poor diet, dehydration, perhaps obesity and/or the cat just not feeling up to grooming. Cats that are sick just don't feel like or are unable to groom properly. Good diet is the number one solution to poor fur, a wet, low carb, grain free diet w/ good quality ingredients. Once the diet issue and FD have been addressed things usually improve, but it will take time. Some cats have other issues as well: flea allergies, food allergies, vitamin deficiencies, etc. Dealing w/ fleas, trying different food or supplements should help. Fish oil is often used to supplement diet and helps many cats fur, also B-vitamins are good for skin and coat.

When Tess was dx her fur was spiky and not as soft as it had always been, after starting insulin and changing to good wet food her coat went back to the silky soft "rabbit's fur" that just made you want to stroke her for hours. Her fur had always been soft, but never particularly thick, I could always see the pink skin on her belly showing through when she rolled over for a skritch. After the switch it became much denser, no more pink tummy! (Downside is her undercoat is so thick it is really hard to actually see skin now when trying to give her shot! :roll: )

Then last fall we had some flea problems. We started taking care of a neighbor's outdoor pets and must have carried some fleas home w/ us. I hate using the poisons on her and they weren't really working anyway. I heard about "Flea Treats" which is a high dose B-vitamin complex that repels fleas (fleas apparently hate the smell of high dose B-vitamins.) Since then her fur is absolutely lush and no more flea outbreaks.
 
IMPORTANT!For those of you who are checking out Gobbles' SS: Almost every BG prior to 1/4/2012 were taken using a TrueResult. Based on what I've read thus far regarding meter accuracy, these numbers are probably much higher (I have, since yesterday, been using my new ReliOn Prime). I started using the ReliOn AM +6 after the AMPS on 1/4/2012. Can somebody take another look at the SS with this in mind?
 
Could you please update today's values on the spreadsheet? If the numbers using the TrueResult are quite a bit lower, you should increase the dose. Have you ever used both meters on the same sample of blood to compare?
Liz
 
Re: 1/6 Gobbles AMPS

Anne & Zener said:
You can put the numbers in the subject line of the very first post so they will show up on the main listing.
1/6 Gobbles +10 414; AMPS 359

Then everyone can get a pretty good idea of how Gobbles is doing just from that. Good job! Gobbles, let's see some lower numbers today, ok?
Liz
+6 = 238!!! Praise God :-D
 
Ann & Tess said:
We're adaptable, the +10 wasn't a problem and it let us see that you have a slightly dropping number. :-D :-D So keep checking you might get some action today. That's whay we like getting tests shortly before the preshot.

Here's a link to your condo yesterday, it helps us to quickly go back and catch up on any info we might have missed.

To get it, copy the web address (the whole thing, http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=86346&start=50). When you are typing up today's condo, above the box where you tyoe you message there are a series of buttons, click the URL button. It will place the bbcode where you cursor is blinking, like this [color=#00BFFF]cursor will be blinking here[/color] You can just place the web address between the 2 sets of brackets wher the cursor is now blinking. This will show your previous day's web address as an active link when you post. OR Click the URL button, type in a name for yesterday's condo, backspace just inside the first set of brackets, type = and paste your web address, [url=http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=86346&start=50]condo name here[/url]. When you post this will show up as yesterday or whatever you want to call it. This is your link to yesterday.

You had questions about Gobbles's fur yesterday. When first dx cats fur has often become unkempt and flaky, this can be from poor diet, dehydration, perhaps obesity and/or the cat just not feeling up to grooming. Cats that are sick just don't feel like or are unable to groom properly. Good diet is the number one solution to poor fur, a wet, low carb, grain free diet w/ good quality ingredients. Once the diet issue and FD have been addressed things usually improve, but it will take time. Some cats have other issues as well: flea allergies, food allergies, vitamin deficiencies, etc. Dealing w/ fleas, trying different food or supplements should help. Fish oil is often used to supplement diet and helps many cats fur, also B-vitamins are good for skin and coat.

When Tess was dx her fur was spiky and not as soft as it had always been, after starting insulin and changing to good wet food her coat went back to the silky soft "rabbit's fur" that just made you want to stroke her for hours. Her fur had always been soft, but never particularly thick, I could always see the pink skin on her belly showing through when she rolled over for a skritch. After the switch it became much denser, no more pink tummy! (Downside is her undercoat is so thick it is really hard to actually see skin now when trying to give her shot! :roll: )

Then last fall we had some flea problems. We started taking care of a neighbor's outdoor pets and must have carried some fleas home w/ us. I hate using the poisons on her and they weren't really working anyway. I heard about "Flea Treats" which is a high dose B-vitamin complex that repels fleas (fleas apparently hate the smell of high dose B-vitamins.) Since then her fur is absolutely lush and no more flea outbreaks.
+6 = 238!!! Praise God :-D
 
Wendy&Tiggy said:
Ok cool but I have to say ( before a expert chimes in) we are assuming his nadir is around +6. It might not be. But its kinda been around there before so thats a good time.

and PMPS is good too.

Maybe tonite you can do a PMPS+3 or +4 since you will be too excited to sleep with your daughter there ;)
+6 = 238!!! Praise God :-D
 
don't worry about the meter. Different meters use different methodologies for measuring blood glucose, so the results will differ because technically they are using different technology and measuring different things! For our purposes, the methodology doesn't make a ton of difference. We are looking for nadirs to be green, and we are looking for trends.

Do you have any more readings today yet? It looks like he was coming down quite a bit from last night, so the best thing to do is wait and see whether he keeps dropping, and if so, how far he drops. Then get some more PM spot checks tonight so we'll have more than one night's worth of data. THEN I'll feel more comfortable making a dosing recommendation. :mrgreen:

You're doing great with daytime data, but it's also important to get some idea of what is going on at night. What matters is the big picture, not any individual numbers and not any individual days. I look at spreadsheets in "waves" of at least 3 days at a time.
 
Am guessing you are busy with your daughter, am looking forward to hear how gobbles did tonite when you get a chance tomorrow..
 
Wendy&Tiggy said:
exciting AMPS! You might want to do a +2 to see where he goes from here.
I started fluffing him 4 days ago--you think maybe it worked? I am going to go test him right now, and if it is over 200, should I shoot? What if it is under 170? Also, should I fluff?
 
Test now, do a post for 1/7 and ask the question before you shoot - if he is under 200 we may have you stall 30mins and re test. Also please mark the fur shot on your SS.

what is fluffing? You mean fattening? No, keep the same dose for now... we need 6 cycles before a change ( unless he goes under 50)
 
Wendy&Tiggy said:
Test now, do a post for 1/7 and ask the question before you shoot - if he is under 200 we may have you stall 30mins and re test. Also please mark the fur shot on your SS.

what is fluffing? You mean fattening? No, keep the same dose for now... we need 6 cycles before a change ( unless he goes under 50)
He has had a fattening, two drops
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top