1/6 Duriel PMPS 398,+2 339,+4 224,+6 260,+11.75 423

Status
Not open for further replies.

Durielle

Member Since 2012
Hello Lantus folks,

my kitty Durielle (aka Duriel or just Durie) is having dose reductions. She has been getting .5u per shot in the last few days. This morning pre-shot she tested hypo at 29. I fed her, retested 15 mins later and was 183. Now at +1 hr she tests 262. Should I shoot now and test every couple hours, or should I just test and wait for next scheduled shot at 7pm?
 
Re: Hypo pre-am shot, when to shoot next?

Good for you for getting a preshot test! She should definitely get a reduced dose. I don't advise on dose. The next shot should be 12 hours after this one. Can your schedule accommodate that? You can adjust by 15 mins per shot or 30 mins at one shot a day.
Liz
 
Re: Hypo pre-am shot, when to shoot next?

For the future, if you get a test that seems out of context, I'd re-test immediately. You may have had a bad strip or not enough/too much blood on the strip with the end result of an inaccurate test. Looking at Durie's SS, the very low numbers and an almost immediate spike into high numbers while possible, could just as likely be a bad test. The other possibility is that the subsequent high numbers reflect the amount of high carb you fed. (How much did you feed and what did you feed?)

Because we just don't know, I'd reduce the dose to 0.25u. If your schedule can accommodate the delay, like Liz suggested, I'd shoot now.
 
Re: Hypo pre-am shot, when to shoot next?

Thanks for the replies. Durie eats Friskie's Turkey and Giblets (41/51/8-338). She had trouble with higher protein foods like Fancy Feast Salmon and Meat flavours (dark stools), but is processing this food very well.
I will shoot .25 now at 9am EST. Tomorrow I must leave home early, so I must shoot by 8am. Does that mean tonight I should shoot again at 8:30pm?
 
Re: Hypo pre-am shot, when to shoot next?

What time are you shooting now? Depending on any number of factors, typically, you can move your shot time by 15 min. at each shot or 30 min. once a day.
 
Re: Hypo pre-am shot, when to shoot next?

I shot at 9am EST this am. Tomorrow am I must leave home by 8am (back by 4pm). I was thinking of shooting tonight at 8:30pm, and tomorrow at 8am. I'm a little worried that she may go hypo while I'm away tomorrow, but so far the only times she's gone hypo are at dawn and evening time. If people feel I should stay and test tomorrow instead, then I will stay home.
 
Re: Hypo pre-am shot, when to shoot next?

You could shoot at 8:30 tonight without a problem. What I would suggest is to get a test at around +10.75. If Duriel's numbers are in the 300s, you could shoot an hour early. (An early shot acts like a dose increase.) If the early shot is possible, then you won't have to deal with a schedule change tomorrow. If numbers aren't high, then shoot at your +11.5 (i.e., 8:30 EST). Would it be possible for you to shoot at 8:15 AM tomorrow?

Also, with regard to your spreadsheet, since you did give a shot, whatever Duriel's BG number was at 9:00 is your AMPS. The 29 would be your +12. I would put the 29 and the 183 with their respective times (i.e., +12, +12.25) in the +11 cell from yesterday's PM cycle. The 262 would then be your AMPS for today. I hope this makes sense.
 
Re: Hypo pre-am shot, when to shoot next?

Okay, I will shoot at 8:30pm tonight, test at +3, and test at +10.75 - 7:15am tomorrow (if in the 300s I will shoot then, if lower I will shoot at 8:15am). I also made changes to the tracking sheet as advised. Thank you!
 
Re: Hypo pre-am shot, when to shoot next?

I was talking about tonight with respect to the +10.75 test and shooting an hour early. I would not suggest that you shoot that early if you're not going to be home to monitor.
 
Re: Hypo pre-am shot, when to shoot next?

Ok, so tonight I'll test at 7:45pm and shoot .25u if she's over 300. If she's under 300, should I feed at 7:45pm, or should I keep fasting her until retest at 8:30pm?
 
Re: Hypo pre-am shot, when to shoot next?

I would wait to feed her until the actual shot time.

For example;
If she's at 250 at 7:45pm, and after you feed her, she then tests at 275 because of the food spike, you will not know whether she was dropping or rising or staying the same.

If she's 250 at 7:45pm and 275 at 8:30pm without food, then you know she is rising slowly, and you can probably do your first test for the evening starting at +2.

If she's 250 at 7:45pm and 225 at 8:30pm without food, then you know she is slowly dropping and will know you need to test sooner and maybe start the evening testing at +1 or so.

I hope the example helps, and doesn't scare you or confuse you.

The object of getting the +11 (or +10.75) test is to compare it to the PS test to see which way she is headed, without food.
 
Re: Hypo pre-am shot, when to shoot next?

Thanks, that's clear. So I will test at 7:45pm, and then again at 8:30pm (at which point I may feed and shoot .25u... unless she's hypo, which is unlikely given that I just tested her +9 at 361).
 
Re: Hypo pre-am shot, when to shoot next?

Why don't you post for advice (Change the Subject Line in your first post) when you get the test at +10.75.
Maybe, you can shoot an hour early tonight depending upon how high she is. If you shoot that early tonight, I would not shoot early tomorrow morning, too.
 
Need advice: Hypo pre-am shot, how to manage next shots

I'm not familiar with forums or best processes for posting. I've changed the topic, but I've gotten some good advice already... I will test tonight at 7:45pm and Durie will likely be in the high 300s, then I'll test again at 8:30pm and she'll likely be ready for a shot. I can test afterwards at +2 (10:30pm) and at +10.75 (7:15am), and prior to am shot at 8:15am. If she's hypo in the am, then I may have to stay and monitor her. Otherwise, I will be home to check on her by 4pm (+8 if she gets a shot at 8:15am).
 
Re: Need advice: Hypo pre-am shot, how to manage next shots

Do what you feel most comfortable with. I just thought shooting an hour early may be a possiblity if her BGs are really high at +11, since I thought you said in an earlier post that you had to leave by 8:00am.
 
Re: Need advice: Hypo pre-am shot, how to manage next shots

I may have misunderstood, I thought I was following earlier advice to not shoot an hour early. I shot at 8:30pm tonight, and will test again at 10:30pm, then 12:30 midnight and tomorrow at 7:30am in prep for an 8:15am shot. I will be gone during the day, and want to be sure she won't go hypo. If she's hypo in the morning I will have to stay and monitor.
 
Re: Need advice: Hypo pre-am shot, how to manage next shots

I'm not sure Dyana understood or she missed one of my posts. You understood correctly. If Duriel's numbers were high, I was suggesting you shoot an hour early tonight. It looks like that's what you did.

Good plan to get a +2 and +4 test.

Could you change your subject line to reflect your PMPS test and the subsequent tests you're getting tonight? To change the subject line, go to your first post in this thread. Click on the "Edit" button above the text box. Make the changes to your subject line, then click the "Submit" button.

You'll want to format your subject line as follows:
date --- cat's name --- PMPS-#, +2-#, etc.
1/6 Duriel PMPS-398​
 
Re: 1/6 Duriel PMPS 398,+2 339,+4 224,+6 260,+10 423,+11.75

AMPS 422. Just gave shot now, .25u and fed as usual 3tbsp approx 120g Friskies.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top