? 1/6 Chicamonkey AMPS 387/PMPS 425/+2 397/+4 360

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Suzi and Chicamonkey, Jan 6, 2021.

1. Suzi and Chicamonkey

Suzi and Chicamonkey Member

I don’t know how to say this so I’m just going to rip the band aid off and accept the hazing that follows.

I tealized last night I have been underdosing monkey. Reading the lines wrong on the insulin syringes.
    Yes I know, I’m a nurse but, monkey is my very first diabetic patient.

so, now that I know this, she’s right now just receiving 2 units -not 3.
    I’m embarrassed and also relieved.
    How do I notate this on my spreadsheet to accurately reflect her dose without other pro’s wondering what the heck happened.

I listed her morning dose as 2 but to those looking at the ss, it looks like I dropped her dose when it’s actually the correct dose.

advice? Be gentle, I’m sensitive :)
    Thank you

yesterday’s
    https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...489-2-488-pmps-312-4-311.241024/#post-2712984

JOJI and Kit likes this.
  2. Bandit's Mom

Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

Hi Suzi, we don't haze here! If it's any consolation, I once shot Bandit 4 units instead of 2! I was using a new brand of syringes and I didn't realize that each mark was 2 units and not 1. That's worse than under-dosing!
    Rest assured, we have all scr*w*d-up here at some point or the other! :)

So do you know from when you have been dosing Monkey incorrectly? If yes, could you correct the doses on the SS to the actual doses given?
    We can take a dosing call accordingly.

Marje and Gracie likes this.
  3. Suzi and Chicamonkey

I’m so embarrassed.... I got a pair of magnifying glasses with LED lights as a Christmas gift and just started using them last night.
    When I looked closely I doubted myself then started looking for posts on 30 unit syringes..
    I found some photos and realized I was under dosing the entire time.
    so, I’ll have my hands full correcting the ss.