1/6 Chianti amps 333 +4.5 203 bounce

Status
Not open for further replies.

itzj

Member Since 2014
Last night pmps 182 +5 53 +6 62 so it looks like maybe a bounce today.

How quickly should I move to adjust dose since we are relaxed? I am kicking myself for not getting info on the 3.5 days but we had a vomiting human child so something had to give.

Also, how will I know when my lantus vial isn't good anymore, like what might I see in his numbers? We've had it a few months but it is still clear. The vet said her patients tend to get 5 months out of a vial if it is in the fridge. I know to get the pens next time. I read the storing sticky and know visually what to see, but will the numbers quickly show the decline?
 
Last edited:
My vial lasted for about 6 months but I started to question it at about 5. If treated gently it should last 4-6 months . I agree with your vet who agrees with mine.:)
 
Hi Jenny - here is your last post. Links to the previous post help us easily follow what happened previously.

I see Chianti got down to 53 last night - great catch on that by the way. :D Yes, that does mean a reduction down to 3.5U tonight since you are following the SLGS protocol. It was OK to shoot the old dose this morning. We call that "shooting through the bounce" where we shoot the old dose one last time to help them get over the bounce, then go to the new lower dose the following cycle. But I'd only use that technique if you are sure kitty is bouncing (high preshot). Once kitty earns a reduction, you do want to move fairly quickly down to the new dose. It's a signal that he needs less insulin and you could be fighting low numbers for a while if you stay at the higher dose.

Your vial does sound good to me. Any insulin that gets kitty into the 50's is still working. :):)

Sending healing vines to the little one at your house.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top