1/6 Buzz--advice needed

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Sarah and Buzz, Jan 6, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sarah and Buzz

Sarah and Buzz Well-Known Member

Ok, so I just checked her again (I haven't tested any more since that # yesterday) and it's 285!! I am, indeed, saying WTF!

I used a bottle of strips that expires March of 2010 and I tested with the control solution, so I know it's not that. I tried to look in her mouth and it looks okay but I am not a tooth expert so...

My real dilemma is this: I can't just give a drop or 2 of PZI because I think my bottle has gone bad. It had floaties in it, swirling around the bottom. :( So I have the Lantus that I got for free for just such an occasion, but I really don't think you can just start giving a new insulin, right? I mean, I know people switch all the time and that's what they start doing but it just seems so....I don't know. I'm in a tizzy over here. ;)

So my questions are: absent of any symptoms that I can tell, do I take her to the vet and have them rule out an infection before I worry about giving insulin? Do I just give her some Lantus? If so, how much? Do I just wait it out for another 24 hours?

ETA: Hi Terri! Glad to see you here in PZI. :) How has life been treating you?

2. Ele & Blackie (GA)

Ele & Blackie (GA) Well-Known Member

Well we don't like that number either. Have you posted in Health? I don't know what you should do. I hope you find an easy solution to this.

3. Terri and Lucy

Terri and Lucy Member

How's she acting Sarah? Any excessive PU/PD? Personally, I'd take her to the vet and get a blood test and urine test done to rule out infection. I

Have you been testing regularly or has it been awhile? If it's been awhile since your last test, I'd also have a fructosamine run. That will tell you if today is a fluke. But I'd probably wait until the chaos at home was over to make sure this isn't just stress.