? 1/5 Wally AMPS: 402, +6: 394, PMPS: 458, +3: 343 ....tomorrow dose?

Wally & Stefano

Member Since 2018
Prev. condo is

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...507-dose-increase-not-approved-by-vet.208991/

I need dose advice for tomorrow

PMPS +3 = 343
Ketones down to 0.7 ...I feel better now! :)

Wally jumps like a kitten... he feels good!

Should I keep same dose for tomorrow and make my vet happy? For those who didn't read prev. post vet would like to slow down dose increase.

Important: tomorrow is my last day off.... on Monday back to office. I will be able to monitor Wally at AMPS and +6 (lunch break) then back home for PMPS....

Thank you for your support!!
 
Last edited:
Any chance of getting a +5 tonight? I think Wally really wants to see some yellows. If he does see yellow, I would hold this dose an extra two cycles. The depot should be built after six cycles. That might make the vet happier. We only fast track until they see yellows. The trade off is that you then would have to increase when you can’t monitor as well, but I don't think you have to worry just yet about him going too low soon.

Great news that the ketones keep going down. :) And that Wally is feeling better. Both very good signs.
 
Sorry I haven't been around! I understand the misery of going against your vet's instructions. I think that all in all, the concern about "missing the right dose" is a good one, but that we are not running this risk now. You have enough measures that we are confident Wally isn't going into low numbers (which would be happening at some point if we were overdosing him) and then coming back up. He is starting to see pink, which is great. You will probably have to raise the dose a bit more to start seeing real results. I would follow the advice you get here for rather agressive increase, also because the faste you get results, the faster you will have data to show your vet that increasing was actually the right call.

On the French group we have had cats stuck at 4ui because the vets were saying "it is the maximum dose", but when the owner decided to give it all and increase, we had results (sometimes around 6-7ui, or even a bit more). There are cases like this here on FDMB but I mention these because I followed them closely myself. When Wally starts seeing yellow and blue values it will be hard for the vet to argue that it was wrong to increase.

Bear in mind that the vet has Wally's best interest at heart -- he is doing what he thinks is right, even if our experience here tells us it is counterproductive.

It's great that you are able to come home on your lunch break and get a +6 -- I'm away upto nearly 12h at a stretch when I work at the office!

You did well to increase to 5ui. Give us news to tell us how things go tonight, and post again tomorrow so we can see if things are improving with the new dose. Fingers crossed they will!
 
Hello stephanie, thank your for your message, it gives me alot more confidence on what we are doing.

I updated wally PMPS with his current value of BG: 501 ... I will monitor +3 and... if i have enough energy I try to also get a +6 at night.

Vomit episodes continues early in the morning just before AMPS... hope we fix if then we have our timed feeder for the night
 
Back
Top