Pumbaa
Member Since 2012
Last Pumbaa thread was on 1/3 and can be viewed here.
Pumbaa is back into his yo-yo routine of bouncing/dropping, bouncing/dropping. I thought about increasing him to a skinny 3.0U tonight, until I realized that his recent low numbers have been artificially inflated due to steering with higher carbed foods.
An excellent area of discussion is the following quote, and my question about shot time refers to this:
But...Pumbaa has his lowest numbers regularly during the PM cycle. Anywhere from +5 to +11 PM, which is between midnight and 6 am, which is when I should be/need to be sleeping and resting my body and gearing up for another day of hard work. I can't and won't continue to operate like a zombie during the day due to a lack of sleep at night for testing, and have been relying on higher carbed food at night to keep Pumbaa's numbers up so I can get some sleep. The problem is, by doing this, I don't know Pumbaa's true nadir numbers, since I am artificially inflating them in order to get necessary sleep. :YMSIGH:
So, I want to know what time you shoot, based on later nadirs with Levemir. Please let me know why you chose that time, and how it works for you. I am so looking forward to the input!
I have thought and thought about this, and what it boils down to is that my best time to sleep would be the first 5 hours after his PM injection. So that would mean 10 pm/am, instead of his current 7 pm/am. Since I work at home, I have no problem with the 10 am shot time, other than the nadir interfering during early evening hours when I need to stop working and go and do chores at my mom's house, or when I have dinner plans during the nadir hours and Pumbaa goes low.
I don't know how Pumbaa and Larry would react to having their main feeding times changed to 10 am/pm either. They are free-feeders and always have food available (other than 2 hours before Pumbaa's PMPS), but they are also such creatures of habit and expect me to feed them when I feed Beck (the drooler). And they ALL expect me to feed them as soon as I get up in the morning. I wouldn't change Beck's feeding schedule much, since I need to make sure she poops after eating, before I can leave the house. (Ya know what I mean, dog owners?
) So this would be a big adjustment for all.
The above goes along with my 2013 resolution to make dealing with a diabetic cat less insane. Especially a bouncer/diver like Pumbaa (and so many others), when there is only one person dealing with the care of this FD kitty. I need to care for Pumbaa, but I also need to care for me, and I need to find the right balance. Adjusting injection times is one variable I can control.
Thanking everyone in advance for their input on shot times!
Suze
Pumbaa is back into his yo-yo routine of bouncing/dropping, bouncing/dropping. I thought about increasing him to a skinny 3.0U tonight, until I realized that his recent low numbers have been artificially inflated due to steering with higher carbed foods.
An excellent area of discussion is the following quote, and my question about shot time refers to this:
I agree with the above, including the three times for Pumbaa to drop below 50 before giving him a dose decrease since he has failed decreases in the past.Marje and Gracie said:If you want to keep it simple, then follow Libby's advice: dose for the nadir you want whether it be 60 or 90 or whatever and then hold the dose until he earns a reduction and ignore the bounces. Maybe you want to start trying the three times between 40 and 50 before giving a reduction to give him more time at a dose.
But...Pumbaa has his lowest numbers regularly during the PM cycle. Anywhere from +5 to +11 PM, which is between midnight and 6 am, which is when I should be/need to be sleeping and resting my body and gearing up for another day of hard work. I can't and won't continue to operate like a zombie during the day due to a lack of sleep at night for testing, and have been relying on higher carbed food at night to keep Pumbaa's numbers up so I can get some sleep. The problem is, by doing this, I don't know Pumbaa's true nadir numbers, since I am artificially inflating them in order to get necessary sleep. :YMSIGH:
So, I want to know what time you shoot, based on later nadirs with Levemir. Please let me know why you chose that time, and how it works for you. I am so looking forward to the input!
I have thought and thought about this, and what it boils down to is that my best time to sleep would be the first 5 hours after his PM injection. So that would mean 10 pm/am, instead of his current 7 pm/am. Since I work at home, I have no problem with the 10 am shot time, other than the nadir interfering during early evening hours when I need to stop working and go and do chores at my mom's house, or when I have dinner plans during the nadir hours and Pumbaa goes low.
I don't know how Pumbaa and Larry would react to having their main feeding times changed to 10 am/pm either. They are free-feeders and always have food available (other than 2 hours before Pumbaa's PMPS), but they are also such creatures of habit and expect me to feed them when I feed Beck (the drooler). And they ALL expect me to feed them as soon as I get up in the morning. I wouldn't change Beck's feeding schedule much, since I need to make sure she poops after eating, before I can leave the house. (Ya know what I mean, dog owners?
The above goes along with my 2013 resolution to make dealing with a diabetic cat less insane. Especially a bouncer/diver like Pumbaa (and so many others), when there is only one person dealing with the care of this FD kitty. I need to care for Pumbaa, but I also need to care for me, and I need to find the right balance. Adjusting injection times is one variable I can control.
Thanking everyone in advance for their input on shot times!
Suze