1/5 Ole PM 545 R+1 450 R+2 473 R+3 355 R+4 356 R+5 374

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rebekah

Member Since 2013
Good Morning,

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=111250

Ole's BG's from last night
+2 463
+4 313
+10 473
AMPS 600+

I would love to try R today, but must go to the pharmacy. Ole's shot times are 6:30am and 6:30pm. I currently use 3 gauge .3ml 5/16" needles. New needles should be here tomorrow.

Ole is not on any medication for Neuropathy because he hasn't ever had lameness in his back legs, I just thought I noticed some yesterday. I don't know if it was though. Alex didn't notice anything. That's one reason I went to bed so early, am I seeing things?

I feel better this morning and I hope Ole does too. His well being is most important to me.

Thanks again!
Rebekah
 
Re: 1/5 Ole AMPS 600

Good news this morning!

Although I haven't gotten a +2 bg yet, Ole is acting like a kitten. Purring enthusiastically , playing fetch with zeal, jumping up on our laps all lovey dovey. It's really heartening to see.

He also tested negative for ketones.

Go Ole Go!
 
Re: 1/5 Ole AMPS 600

Could you please tell me the exact part number for the Terumo syringes? There are so many and I can't tell which ones to order that would be appropriate to use for R and for the small doses that are in Ole's future.

Thank you
Rebekah
 
Re: 1/5 Ole AMPS 600

Good Morning, Ole and Rebekah. Hopefully someone will be on that can help with that Terumo question soon :-D If you're in a hurry, maybe send a PM to one of those people helping you on this or add to your subject line, I tried searching but came up with nada, sorry :? I'm so glad to hear that Ole is playing and purring, it does make a person feel better :cool: . Yay for negative ketones! I give methylcobalamin (vitamin B12) with no sugar for Chyna, she did have some neuropathy and the vet said she would pee it out if it wasn't needed. Some say it doesn't do as much when they aren't regulated but I started it right away. A lot of members use Zobaline, but I didn't want to wait for it to show in the mail so I just went to the local health food store for the methyl and made sure it had no types of sugar in it. Have a good Sunday :-D
 
Re: 1/5 Ole AMPS 600

Here is a picture of 0.1 unit. On my syringes, if I happen to find a perfect one, the zero line is right at the top of the syringe.

01unit-1.jpg


When I measure 0.1 unit, the plunger is right below, but touching the bottom of the zero line.

Are you at +1 now? Do you want to practice trying to measure 0.1 unit on whatever syringes you have? I never worry about wasting the R, as I never go anywhere near through a vial before it expires.

I'm glad Ole is playing and feeling well, and ketones are negative.
 
Re: 1/5 Ole AMPS 600 +2 545

Hi all,

I am at a +1 now, and I now understand what the .1 U looks like and feel like I can do it. We will go to the Pharm this morning to get the R and will await instructions.

Thank you,
Rebekah
 
Re: 1/5 Ole AMPS 600 +2 545

Okay. Your Subject Line says you are at +2. Is that correct?
You don't want the two nadirs to coincide, but since he is in such high numbers now, it may not matter.
Get the R, do a test, and let us know what it is.
 
Re: 1/5 Ole AMPS 600 +2 545

Rebekah, I wish you well with the R, with the expert eyes here, I'm sure you will do fine. ;-) My Tommy is getting R at the moment as well. Yeah on Ole coming down if even just a smidge and I'm so happy to hear that he is purring and feeling well and also Neg on the Ketones.
 
Re: 1/5 Ole AMPS 600 +2 545

I won't start the R until I get the go ahead and needed guidance from Sandy. I'll PM her if I haven't heard from her by this afternoon.
 
Re: 1/5 Ole AMPS 600 +2 545

these are the syringes i used and liked, but any syringe can be used if you can work it so that you can get 10 drops to a unit. that becomes 0.1u. To check that, you draw up one unit of colored water, point the needle vertically up, and see how many drops you can work out of it before it's empty. Go slowly with it. Notice the size of the drops you are getting.

A second method for getting just a "breath" of insulin is to take the empty syringe, press the plunger in as far as possible and old it in, insert the needle into the colored water and while it is in the water, release the plunger. The needle will "inhale" in just a small amount of insulin as it relaxes. Then hold your syringe up again and press the plunger to see how big that drop is when you expel it. Notice how big that drop is and compare it to the other drops you are getting. With Donaleen Walgreen syringes, we could only get 4 drops per unit to push out, i suspect the needle gauge might've been bigger, but it did look like taking a "breath" of insulin might've been about 1/2 of the size of the other drops, making it pretty close to 0.1u.

http://www.americandiabeteswholesale.com/product/terumo-thinpro-insulin-syringe_5891_112.htm they are cheap, the plunger glides very easily and they are fairly consistent in their markings.

Wanted to make sure you got some of the info I gave Suzanne in Cobb's 1/3 condo earlier this week:
julie & punkin (ga) said:
One thing we haven't talked about but is an option, is to go to larger dose increases with Cobb. that might help us get on top of his numbers instead of chasing them. When cats are on doses of 1-3u, we increase by .25u most of the time. that's a 8%-25% increase. With Cobb, we're now nearing on 10u, and a 0.5u increase is a 5% increase. Many people move to 1u-2u increases at this point. Because cats differ so much from each other, you'll be watching and learning how his body responds to a larger dose increase and whether or not you think that helps. i found even at 15u, punkin's body responded to .5u dose changes. I did, however, sometimes increase by larger amounts if i felt like i needed to get on top of his numbers. Do you know what i mean when i say "get on top" of them? Glucose Toxicity is when a cat gets accustomed to sitting in high numbers and it takes more insulin to knock them down. That in itself seems to increase the dose needed.

We can't use L insulins to hammer down numbers quickly, but we need the L dose to get him at least in the neighborhood.

Another option to consider is using R (Humulin R) insulin to help bring him down. That's what I bought at the local pharmacy (we don't need prescriptions for it here) and I believe Marje mentioned there is another R that costs less (Novolin R perhaps?) I think you've seen the discussions on this on Ozy's condo. What questions do you have about it?

Some things for you to consider. You don't have to worry about them today, of course, I just wanted to put them out there for you when you have time to think about it.

julie & punkin (ga) said:
cobbsmom said:
I am not opposed to a larger increase since we are this high. My DH and I were just talking about, even without an IAA diagnosis, it's obvious there's some kind of resistance there, so would it be prudent to treat him as if he had the resistance to get his numbers down until we can get the test? I understand what you mean about getting ahead instead of chasing the numbers down.

I'm not opposed to the R either. My first question is how do I know when to use it? Would I have used it today when his number jumped over 500? I noticed on some people's SS, the R is used for a short amount of time. Is that because it gets the numbers down and the liver learns more wuickly? How do I get the R? How much is it usually? Is it OTC or do I need to talk to the pharmacist but they can sell it without a prescription? How closely do I need to watch Cobb after injecting the R? Would I ever inject both L and R at the same time? Are there any additional risks associated with the R, other than hypo?

He was doing so well with his pink surfs and then the ugly black number reared it's head.

He could also have acromegaly - that's more common than iaa, although a fair number of kitties have both. For now, several of us are talking about a good strategy to help move him out of high numbers. In the meantime, let's stay with the same plan, so don't make dosing strategy changes from what you're currently doing (4 cycles, if everything's over 300, increase by 0.5u) until we get back to you.

It'd help if we got a little more info.

One thing that can affect cat's BGs is if a cat's dental condition isn't perfect. Diabetic cats tend to have bad teeth - not all, but the potential is there. Have Cobb's teeth & gum ever been looked at by a vet or cleaned? does his breath smell bad, not just like cat food, but bad? if you look, do you see any red areas near the gumline around his teeth?

Another question - i think you've mentioned before, but would you repeat what his feeding patterns are? When he is fed, if it's on a schedule or grazing, and what he's eating.

Sometimes infections can raise BGs - do you see any signs that might say "infection brewing?" overall, is he mostly energetic?

In response to your questions - R can behave differently in iaa cats than others. So we would choose the "Right" time to try using R, depending on his cycle and your schedule, and one of us would monitor him with you. We would start with a miniscule dose to see if he reacts to it. then you would check his BGs for the subsequent 5 hrs or so, so we could determine how he reacts to it. If he doesn't react, then we would try it again a different day with a slightly bigger dose.

I'm actually thinking that I saw a reference on the High Dose forum by Jojo (former advisor here) that the way a cat responded to R was one indicator of iaa. So it might tell us something about that.

You seem very level-headed and well able to handle this. I just want to add, because there are always people who read everything posted, this isn't a tactic for someone to apply to another cat. it needs to be done carefully. So lurkers, don't copy.

R isn't used as a primary insulin except by vets because it will bring cat's BGs down, but in the average cat, it's duration is about 4 hours and then it's out. in iaa cats, it can last significantly longer. my experience with an acro cat is that it lasted about 4ish hrs and was out. One of the nice things about it is that you can really lower the range overall with it. Overall, cats do best with a long-lasting insulin like the Lantus/Lev insulins, so R is used as a "bolus" insulin to supplement the L (basal) insulin that provides longer support.

In Oregon we can buy R at any pharmacy, no prescription required. The Humulin R was about $65 when i bought it at least 2 years ago. One bottle that's practically indestructible. I still had at least 1/2 vial left when punkin died. I want to say the Novolin R is more like $25 - but I'm repeating what I heard second-hand, so you'd want to check on it. Either one would work. I don't know if your state needs a prescription for it or not.

You do need syringes that can measure a very tiny amount. Donaleen ended up ordering syringes that would make that easier. The Terumo thinpro from American Diabetes Wholesale cost something like $13.79 and have a nice long thing barrel that lets you measure small amounts. The first dose to try would be 0.1u, so you might play with your syringes and see if you can measure that amount with whatever you're using. There are pictures of tiny doses on the New to the Group sticky. you can draw up 1unit and then, holding your syringe needle up, "screw" the plunger to press out drops. If you can get 10 drops out of a unit, that is the equivalent to 0.1u per drop. Donaleen's syringes would only work 4 drops out per unit. I suspect the difference might come from how fine the gauge of the needle is.

There are no other risks associated with R, other than hypo, which is true of any insulin injection. You do have a hypo kit (extra strips, high carb gravy cat food or karo) already pulled together, right? if you don't, you need one. A lot of people put an unopened box of strips away so they always have 50 available. If you have a low numbers run, you can go through 20 pretty easily in a day.

Yes, there might be a time when you inject both Lantus and R at the same time. We time things carefully so that the nadir of L and the nadir of R do not hit at the same time. We'll figure out the onset of R, the nadir and the duration of R by doing a test with one of us that have used the R. So timing is very important. If you want to go this route, we'll pick a day and a time in the cycle when his numbers are "right."

*whew* did i overwhelm you with info? what other questions does this bring up?

julie & punkin (ga) said:
the role of R is to pull the numbers down so the Lantus can work better with them. Sienne uses the example of R being a speedboat and easy to turn, where Lantus and Lev are more like moving barges. They are very good basal insulins, but you can only increase so quickly with them and the numbers take longer to respond. R can dart in and out, relatively speaking.

eta - i forgot to respond about the dental part. all cats have to be sedated to get dentals. if he's had teeth falling out, he probably needs one. for whatever reason, i've heard many of the cats here have issues with FORL - Feline Odontoclastic Resorptive Lesions http://www.dentalvet.com/patients/cats/could_my_cat_have_a_forl.htm Those can result in teeth coming out or needing to be pulled. We have seen that some cats insulin needs can really come down when they get their teeth taken care of. I don't think we can say it's likely that his nearing 10u dose is from only that, but Sandy/Black Kitty said that getting his teeth taken care of made a dramatic change in BK. I'll let her tell you the story.
 
Re: 1/5 Ole AMPS 600 +2 545

Nice to hear that Ole is feeling frisky today! It's good to remember that our kitties aren't just a number (which is sometimes hard to do since we focus so much on what that little meter tells us) but seeing our furkids acting like they feel better is just as important as the numbers.

Good luck with the R! Hopefully adding it to your "toolbox" will help bring Ole down out of those icky black numbers.
 
Re: 1/5 Ole AMPS 600 +2 545

So he eats/gets his shots at 6:30/6:30.

What time do you get home from work during the week? It's possible to give R sometimes during the week from +8 on to the pmps, depending on numbers and what the cycle's doing.

This first time is really just to see how he responds to it.

and WAHOO on him feeling good this morning! that's fantastic!
 
Re: 1/5 Ole AMPS 600 +2 545

We are off to get R

Thank you Julie, I have read the posts from Suzanne's condo, but it is nice to have them on one page. Thanks also for the syringe information. I believe the syringes I am using will work, but as I need to but more supplies, a type that works for small doses might work better. You've been a wealth of information and it is appreciated.

Ole eats at 6 and a shot at 6:30 am and pm. My return form work varies, but usually around 5:30. I can be flexible though and plan my work days/weeks accordingly.

Thanks again for all of your words of encouragement! Ole loves it.

Rebekah
 
Re: 1/5 Ole AMPS 600 +2 545 +5 503

Is there any reason you wouldn't be able to use R during the PM cycle? If you needed to curve for the 4 hours, would that be feasible?
 
Re: 1/5 Ole AMPS 600 +2 545 +5 503

Here is the plan-

Todays goal is to see how Ole reacts to 0.10u R.

Ideally under Oles current circumstances, giving the shot of R immediately following the shot of Lantus would be a good strategy.
Reason being is that R is fast acting and also has a short duration (4 hours or so in a non IAA kitty).
So, the R gets right to work while the Lantus onset is slowly ramping up and by the time Lantus onset arrives the BGs have been pulled down some by the R and the lantus has a better starting point.

For the 0.10u trial today, you will need to to a full R curve, testing every hour for 5 hours. If you can swing that shooting at PMPS, great.

If not, no worries. The trial can be done any time after nadir.

Let me know which timing is better and if you have any questions.

eta - the overall goal is to get Ole down from the rooftop while you work up the dosing ladder to finding a good Lantus dose.
 
Re: 1/5 Ole AMPS 600 +2 545 +5 503

Yes Sandy,

I'll dose him on R at the same time I dose him in the PM.

Here will be my plan, please correct me if I am wrong

6:00 PMPS, feed Ole
6:30 4U lantus and .1U R
+1-+5 hourly curve

What should I do after the curve? I hope the answer is go to bed, hahaha.

Thanks again!
Rebekah
 
Re: 1/5 Ole AMPS 600 +2 545 +5 503

Hi again Rebekah!

Just a quick note...most of us test/shoot/feed (or test/feed/shoot) all within about 5-10 minutes. Is there some reason you're waiting 30 minutes to shoot? Just curious
 
Re: 1/5 Ole AMPS 600 +2 545 +5 503

Rebekah said:
Here will be my plan, please correct me if I am wrong

6:00 PMPS, feed Ole
6:30 4U lantus and .1U R
+1-+5 hourly curve
You got it!

Also, you need to indicate the use of R on Oles ss, Below is an example I grabbed from BKs ss :

In this example I had given R at +3, due to the presence of ketones. (when that happens different strategies apply)
That's why the 'plus' hours for Lantus and the R do not match.

This is one example of tracking R use. Others may have good methods as well.
The important thing is that R use be noted so that it's easily evident to someone else looking at the ss.

Let me know if you have any questions on any of the above.
See you at PMPS

Oh, one more thing-
Rebekah said:
What should I do after the curve? I hope the answer is go to bed, hahaha.

More than likely.
 

Attachments

  • Tracking R curve.jpg
    Tracking R curve.jpg
    5.8 KB · Views: 689
Re: 1/5 Ole AMPS 600 +2 545 +5 503

Another important consideration. . .

When preparing 2 syringes, each with a different insulin, it's important to be focused on the task at hand.
You want to be 100% certain the you have the right doses for each.
You don't want to find yourself wondering or realizing after you shoot that you filled the R syringe with the amount that corresponds to the Lantus dose.
I say this because it has happened.

I used to have 2 stickies on the counter where I prepared BKs syringes. One marked Lantus and the other marked R. Sometimes even with the doses (with BK it seemed like doses changed every time I turned around)
I placed each vial on the appropriate sticky. I filled one syringe, placed it on it's sticky and moved the vial away. Then did the same with the other.
I'm sure others who use or have used R have their methods and will chime in.
Whatever works for you so that if your attention gets diverted you have some system in place that will give you peace of mind.
 
Re: 1/5 Ole AMPS 600 +2 545 +5 503 PMPS 545

Hi Sandy and Black Kitty,

Yes, I totally thought about that when I was preparing the 2 syringes. I like your solution, thank you.

The dose has been given and I will test in about 20 minutes. I will begin a new thread.

Rebekah
 
Re: 1/5 Ole AMPS 600 +2 545 +5 503 PMPS 545

:!: Please continue in this thread. :!:
One thread per kitty per day. It's important for continuity.

Thanks.

See you at +2 :cool:
Great Job!
 
Re: 1/5 Ole AMPS 600 +2 545 +5 503 PMPS 545

super! i'm sure it will go fine.

Would you mind posting numbers in the subject line of this post as you get them? that will help people monitor from the main page.

Do something like 1/5 PMPS 545, +1/+1R xxx, +2/+2R xxx (putting in numbers for the xxx)

thanks!
 
Re: 1/5 Ole AMPS 600 +2 545 +5 503 PMPS 545

i think what would be helpful is if you wouldn't mind, could you edit the subject line of the other post that you just started and just put "duplicate" in the subject line. otherwise it's going to get bumped up cuz everyone wants to support you, and it will become confusing.

That would be super helpful - thanks!
 
Re: 1/5 Ole AMPS 600 +2 545 +5 503 PMPS 545

Julie,
I will make the other condo disappear so everyone is in one place. :-D

Carl
 
Re: 1/5 Ole AMPS 600 +2 545 +5 503 PMPS 545 R+1 450

aren't you just the Magic Man, Mr. Carl?! :-D :lol: Thank you - then we'll all cheer Ole' on here!
 
Re: 1/5 Ole AMPS 600 +2 545 +5 503 PMPS 545 R+1 450

julie & punkin (ga) said:
aren't you just the Magic Man, Mr. Carl?! :-D :lol: Thank you - then we'll all cheer Ole' on here!

Remember that 70's song by Heart? Yep, that was me. :lol:
 
Re: 1/5 Ole AMPS 600 +2 545 +5 503 PMPS 545 R+1 450 R+2 473

Sorry about the extra post, I didn't know that rule, oopsie.

Ole is kind of quiet. I hope the next test is a little lower.

Rebekah
 
Re: 1/5 Ole AMPS 600 +2 545 +5 503 PMPS 545 R+1 450 R+2 473

no worries, no reason you would know. but one condo keeps everyone on the front page in a day so we don't lose anyone who might need attention, and it keeps all the advice in one spot - which helps the advice be more intelligent! :lol:

nothing like 2 people giving you different advice on different condos! might turn a person's hair gray! ;-) :lol:

0.1u doesn't usually do too much, but that's ok. it sets the scene for a larger dose, telling us that the next size larger dose won't be too much at a future time.
 
Re: 1/5 Ole AMPS 600 +2 545 +5 503 PMPS 545 R+1 450 R+2 473

Rebekah

I'm glad Sandy got you started with using R. It can be a great tool and you will learn when you can use it and when you should wait it out.

You might not see it right away but, at some point, the goal is for the R to open the door and allow the Lantus to do its job.
 
Re: 1/5 Ole AMPS600,545,503PMPS 545 R+1 450 R+2 473 R+3 3 R+

Hello all!
R+3 355

Thanks again for your support. We really can feel the luv!

My question is a procedural one, I seem to be running out of space in the subject line, what should I do. My inclination is to just keep Date and Name, then numbers from PMPS and the R Curve, would that be right? Delete the AM bg's?

Thanks

Rebekah
 
Re: 1/5 Ole AMPS 600, 545,503PMPS 545 R+1 450 R+2 473 R+3 35

Yes...that's correct. Most of us delete the AMPS info once we start PMPS.

Looks like you got a pretty good response on the R.
 
Re: 1/5 Ole AMPS 600, 545,503PMPS 545 R+1 450 R+2 473 R+3 35

i'm not sure if anyone has mentioned it, but you never want to shoot R as a bounce is breaking.
it's probably the number one mistake new R users make. :oops:

a bounce breaking at the same time you give R will put extra spin on the effects of R when all you really want the R to do is pull numbers down around 50 - 100 points. anything more than that and you run the risk of setting kitty up for another bounce.

good luck!
 
Re: 1/5 Ole PM 545 R+1 450 R+2 473 R+3 355 R+4 356

Uff Da, I'm sleepy!

I am anxious to hear your interpretations on this curve. What does it tell us? To be honest, even though I think about bounces and numbers in the 50-100's, Ole's bgs have been so consistently high, and climbing that it has really been my only focus. That, and learning a new protocol. Thank you for your continued guidance in using this new tool to help Ole regain his vim and vigor.

See you in 45 minutes!

Rebekah
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top