1/5 (late) - Scooter - AMPS 293, +8 299, PMPS 295, +6 349?!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ry & Scooter

Member Since 2011
My first post here on Lantus TR... introducing me and my adopted diabetic, Scooter. Self appointed King of the house.

IMG_31092.jpg


Anyways, Scooter's first few days on Lantus were going really good, numbers slowly decreasing as the shed built up... and now they're going back up. I don't know if my SO has been accidentally doing fur shots... he insists he hasn't, and I trust him... but what else could explain the number jumps? :/ He hasn't been this high since we started.

That aside, I wanted to know if I had enough information yet to justify a dose increase, or if I should wait and see if his numbers drop down again. I haven't seen him in green yet, he probably dipped into it on 1/1 but I went to bed before I could test more.

SS and info is in signature.
 
Re: 1/5 - Scooter - AMPS 293, +8 299, PMPS 295, +6 349?!

Welcome to Lantus Land!

I'm linking your initial post from Health so people can get to know a little bit about Scooter. You might want to give a summary of Scooter's background and any concerns we may be of help with. That initial post is REALLY long!

A quick question... On your SS, there are 2 entries for 12/31. I suspect the second entry should be 1/3 but I didn't want to assume that to be the case. Did you shoot blind on whatever day that was?

You noted that you're a college student. Are you able to get in at least one test each cycle? Can you give us a bit of information about what your schedule is like? I think knowing what your availability is will help us help you regarding dose.
 
Re: 1/5 (late) - Scooter - AMPS 293, +8 299, PMPS 295, +6 34

Thanks for the link.

I don't really know much about Scooter's background because I adopted him, maybe I'm misunderstanding what you mean about "background"?

The date issue was a bug with the spreadsheet, sorry, it should be fixed now. Yes I had to shoot blind in the morning that day. It was a feed, shoot, and run out the door morning.

I'm trying to get at least one mid cycle check, but some days it just doesn't work out. I try to do as many tests as I can but I have a really erratic schedule, sometimes I stay up late like right now (depression induced insomnia), sometimes I'm in bed by 5PM, sometimes I'm out running errands, random jobs, etc. and my SO's schedule is just as erratic. Hopefully when I get a job I'll have some stability in my life and be able to have a schedule but for now I have no idea.
 
Re: 1/5 (late) - Scooter - AMPS 293, +8 299, PMPS 295, +6 34

By background, I was thinking more in terms of a brief summary of your time here. Like I said, the Health thread is really, really long. It may also help if you set up a Profile. This will help so we don't keep asking you the same questions, over, and over, and over again.

I'd encourage you to read over the starred, sticky notes at the top of the Board. The Tight Regulation Protocol sticky, in particular, is a very good place to start. I'm assuming the people in Health reviewed the importance of a low carb, canned food diet. Given your schedule, you may want to think about making frozen "pucks" of food so you can leave food out for Scooter during the day. Many of us use a timed feeder so we can provide several small meals throughout the day.

I do think a dose increase may be warranted. If you can get some spot checks today, let's see how Scooter is doing and decide either tonight or tomorrow. I'm hoping that you have syringes that are in half units. It will make dosing easier since we increase and decrease in 0.25u increments.
 
Re: 1/5 (late) - Scooter - AMPS 293, +8 299, PMPS 295, +6 34

I'll edit the post in a bit and make him a profile, thank you

I have read a lot of the TR sticky but I still don't feel comfortable making the choice on my own. He's on a few different Special Kitty and Friskees low carb varieties. He loves the stuff, especially when I make it super runny with hot water. When his numbers are high like this, he gets food-crazed though. Meows like he hasn't eaten in a week if no food is out for more than a few hours. :YMSIGH: I do freeze portions, but I only use them when I know I won't be home to feed him. He doesn't like it so much when it's room temperature.

I'll do my best to get spot checks today, but I will be out for most of the day, it's my SO's only weekday with no classes so we tend to do stuff like get groceries on Fridays. That way we don't have to deal with the terrible weekend public transit schedule, and there's two of us to pack 30 pounds of cat litter home. :-|

Yes my syringes are half unit, they are BD brand, 3/10cc, 31 gauge, 8mm (5/16") needle. They are nice :smile: Scooter is so busy gorging on food, he doesn't even notice when I poke him.

What does "GA status" signify on this profile thing?
 
Re: 1/5 (late) - Scooter - AMPS 293, +8 299, PMPS 295, +6 34

Most cats are hungry (starving?) all the time until they get getter regulated. Insulin helps glucose (the basic fuel all bodies need) get into the cells. With diabetes, the pancreas isn't putting out it's own insulin so not enough nutrition is getting into the cells. This is why so many cats lose weight before they are diagnosed. Once you start giving insulin shots, you're helping glucose get into the cells but because BG levels are still high, the system isn't working at an optimal level. Once Scooter is better regulated, his appetite will come back to normal.

Do what you can to get a test or two whenever you can fit it in to your schedule. Many of the people here have challenging schedules like yours. Sometimes, it just takes being attentive to testing -- getting a test when you walk in the door or before you walk out the door -- to flesh out your SS and to insure that you're keeping Scooter safe. It's an adjustment, to be sure.
 
Re: 1/5 (late) - Scooter - AMPS 293, +8 299, PMPS 295, +6 34

Yup... I know, thank you for the brief though.

I'm sorry if I can't follow TR to the definition, but I'm doing the best I can with testing. Right now it's not as simple as just "getting a test", it's not yet to the point where it's quick and painless. Some days I get it in the first poke, some days I have to restrain him with a towel and poke him until his ears are sore and bruised. Sometimes I just have to let him go and try again later. I am trying so hard... I really am. Please understand that I have my limitations and sometimes I have to take care of myself too.
 
Re: 1/5 (late) - Scooter - AMPS 293, +8 299, PMPS 295, +6 34

Wow what a pretty kitty! You are in great hands with Sienne and things will get easier as you go along. Welcome aboard.
 
Re: 1/5 (late) - Scooter - AMPS 293, +8 299, PMPS 295, +6 34

Ry & Scooter said:
Right now it's not as simple as just "getting a test", it's not yet to the point where it's quick and painless. Some days I get it in the first poke, some days I have to restrain him with a towel and poke him until his ears are sore and bruised. Sometimes I just have to let him go and try again later.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=59190 If you haven't come across it yet this post is from someone else that was having problems home testing, some good suggestions there.
 
Re: 1/5 (late) - Scooter - AMPS 293, +8 299, PMPS 295, +6 34

Yes... thank you. He is really sensitive about his ears being touched, he tends to throw his head around if he's in a bad mood, and that either makes me miss with the lancet, or smear the blood all over the place :sad: Right now the biggest problem is the bruising, it's swollen and red. I can tell it hurts. I always apply pressure to the prick spot after poking and use Neosporin but his ears still look awful if I test more than 2 or 3 times a day.

Profile is in signature. Let me know if I'm missing anything.
 
Re: 1/5 (late) - Scooter - AMPS 293, +8 299, PMPS 295, +6 34

Some cats are more amenable to being tested on their paw pad. The other part of ear pokes is that the ears begin to develop more capillaries as you poke more. Hopefully, it will get easier. If you're not already doing this, treats after a poke are a must. Some cats want a treat before, as well. (Thanks for the info on getting Scooter tested. It helps to know that he's not always cooperative despite your best efforts. Let us know if we can offer any additional suggestions.)

Your Profile looks great -- thanks! If Scooter is having problems with neuropathy, it may resolve on its own. Some people here use methyl-B12 to help with the problem. Zobaline is methyl-B12 that's formulated for cats and has no sugar or flavorings. It may be available through Amazon or local sources for you.
 
Re: 1/5 (late) - Scooter - AMPS 293, +8 299, PMPS 295, +6 34

Haha, yes, treats are a must... he is very very vocal if he thinks he deserves food and isn't getting it. Even if it's an unsuccessful test I give him treats and love. I was giving him little bits of leftover Christmas turkey but I ran out, so I've been giving him about a teaspoon of his wet food afterwards. All food is good food, to him :lol:
 
Re: 1/5 (late) - Scooter - AMPS 293, +8 299, PMPS 295, +6 34

Morning Ry and beautiful Scooter!

No one's 'yelling' about your not following TR - we can't either but everyone helps us do the best we can! When someone mentions getting in extra tests, it's only because the more data there is, the better decisions that can be made.

HUGS to all of you today!!!
 
Re: 1/5 (late) - Scooter - AMPS 293, +8 299, PMPS 295, +6 34

Good morning. I'd rather be sleeping right now... must be nice to be a cat, sleep wherever and whenever... lol

I know... but I also don't want to be pressured about testing more when sometimes I'm struggling to test at all. I understand it's for the benefit of Scooter but I tried to explain early in the thread that it just doesn't always work out that way.
 
Re: 1/5 (late) - Scooter - AMPS 293, +8 299, PMPS 295, +6 34

WELCOME!!!!!!!!

Scooter is a doll!!! :-D :-D

celi & binks
 
Re: 1/5 (late) - Scooter - AMPS 293, +8 299, PMPS 295, +6 34

GA means a cat has passed away. Maybe someone already answered that but I didn't see it, so I thought I would chime in too.

Scooter is so cute, and from what I see on Health, my 2 cents is that you are doing a fantastic job dealing with this and getting up to speed! Welcome!
 
Re: 1/5 (late) - Scooter - AMPS 293, +8 299, PMPS 295, +6 34

Ry & Scooter said:
...it just doesn't always work out that way.

I resemble that remark.... :roll: One of these days you'll be tellin' someone else the same thing they said above.... You're doin' great!!!! Scooter sure is a lucky kitty.

Hugs!
 
Re: 1/5 (late) - Scooter - AMPS 293, +8 299, PMPS 295, +6 34

yep...GA stands for "Gone Ahead" or "Guardian Angel"...
saima's mom got it right...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top