1/5-Flame-AMPS=350, PMPS=338, +3=293

Status
Not open for further replies.

Donna and Flame

Member Since 2009
Good morning,
Not happy with this preshot number this morning.

Hoping the insulin is good. I bought it from someone in the supply closet. Not a member, but someone in NJ that was using it for himself and wanted to see it go to good use. It was in original, unopened packaging and kept in his fridge. The prescription was just filled in Oct. (label is still on box) and his doctor switched him to a different insulin. The exp. date is 2/2019.
The first couple shots, I did inject insulin and some air bubbles back into the pen, but the insulin looks fine... no cloudiness, no floaties. Kept refrigerated.

Also, I bought a new box of BD syringes and I hate them. Seems like every syringe, the plunger is "sticky" meaning hard to move in the barrel. I went thru 2 syringes this morning trying to get the dose correct (didn't want to keep sticking the syringe back in the pen and then use to inject). I've been drawing up way more than I need and then shooting the excess into the sink until I get to the correct dose.

He was a good boy for his shot this morning. Laid still, so I could see the needle went in all the way.

I'll see where he is tonite and I am going to increase to 1 U tomorrow as I'll be working from home.

Have a good day all!! Hope all your kitties surf safely today!! :bighug:
 
Do you move the plunger of the syringes up and down a couple of times before you start drawing the insulin? This helps lubricate the sryinge and should make it easier to move. I'm glad Flame held still for his shot this morning. Good luck with the increase.
 
Hi Carla,
Yep, I do that. I had such a hard time finding syringes last week with 1/2 unit markings it was unbelievable. I finally found these at a ShopRite pharmacy a couple towns over and it was the only box they had. Thanks for stopping by!!
 
Question...
When dosing 1U - is the top of the plunger sitting even with the bottom of the 1U line on the syringe? Please refresh my memory. I looked at the sticky (that's where I found a picture of the .75 dose), but I don't see a picture of an actual 1 U dose.

5e86c3d4.jpg
 
You just haven't hit the right dose for Flame yet. With pred in the picture I suspect he's going to need a few increases to get there. As Marje mentioned in your thread yesterday it's best for you to get some tests in before increasing. As for the 1u measurement. It's more about what you call 1u, meaning consistency that matters. I try to line up the plunger with the line right in the middle.

Here is your post from yesterday http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...312-3-292-not-moving-ugh.170728/#post-1862211
 
Donna my kitty Fritz is also on oral pred for asthma. You will have to slowly increase his insulin to compensate for the pred.
 
You just haven't hit the right dose for Flame yet. With pred in the picture I suspect he's going to need a few increases to get there. As Marje mentioned in your thread yesterday it's best for you to get some tests in before increasing. As for the 1u measurement. It's more about what you call 1u, meaning consistency that matters. I try to line up the plunger with the line right in the middle.

Here is your post from yesterday http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...312-3-292-not-moving-ugh.170728/#post-1862211

Hi Karen,
I wanted to ask because I thought if I didn't do it right, I might be giving him more or less than 1 U and then I wouldn't know if the 1 U dose was really working or not. I know there is some variance with syringes too. I never even thought about this until I read Marje's info on the calipers. Ok, will be as consistent as possible and will determine what 1 U looks like to me I guess.
Thank you!!
 
Donna my kitty Fritz is also on oral pred for asthma. You will have to slowly increase his insulin to compensate for the pred.
@DebG I don't want to go too far off topic on this thread, so would you mind if I PM'ed you re: Fritz's asthma and asked some questions?

Thanks so much!!
 
Hi Carla,
Yep, I do that. I had such a hard time finding syringes last week with 1/2 unit markings it was unbelievable. I finally found these at a ShopRite pharmacy a couple towns over and it was the only box they had. Thanks for stopping by!!

Walmart carries the ReliOn syringes with 1/2 unit markings & told me those are the only ones they carry, probably cheaper than Shop Rite. I switched to Lev last week and do have about 1/3rd pen left of good Lantus in my fridge, you can have it if you want (I am in Bergen County).
 
Last edited:
I just looked and it says they may require doctor's orders for this item. That's the problem with living in NJ. We need a prescription for syringes.
 
@Bronx's dad
@Donna and Flame

They do not require an rx for me/Gizmo as Texas does not require rx for syringes.

You should be able to get an rx from your vets for a running rx for syringes (say for a year). Then they would have it on file and it shouldn't be an issue to order directly from them. They will even contact your vet for you.

Here is some additional info from ADW

Do I need physician's order to shop at ADW Diabetes?
For most of the products at ADW Diabetes such as glucose meters, diabetic test strips, glucose lancets and other OTC items you will not need physician's order.

However, there are some items including insulin pump supplies and syringes in some states that require a physician's order. Please read the product descriptions to find out whether or not you will be asked for an order of a physician before we ship. If you do purchase an item that require a physician's order please provide the following information to us so our team can contact your physician to get the required paperwork:

  1. Your name and date of birth
  2. Your physician name
  3. Physician phone number
  4. Physician fax number (if you have it)
Please reference your invoice number on your email. If we already have your physician's order on file, we will not need a new one unless it has expired. We ship orders for durable medical products that require a physician order to states in which we are licensed and to states that do not require out-of-state licensure. At this time, we are unable to ship durable medical equipment products that require a physician's order to customers in North Dakota.

In general, if the local stores of your ship to location require a physician's order on items that you are purchasing then we will ask for it as well.

******
Additional info on syringes:
https://www.adwdiabetes.com/physician-order-syringes.aspx

By purchasing syringes from ADW Diabetes, you are asserting that you are over 18 years of age and that you intend to use these syringes for the treatment of diabetes or for another legitimate medical purpose.

It is legal in most of the U.S. to purchase insulin syringes without a physician order; however, you are solely responsible for following the laws in your state. ADW Diabetes reserves the right to refuse any order in the event that filling such order would violate any federal, state, or local law or regulation.

and then it goes on at the link to detail state-by-state requirements.

Here is their contact info:

ADW Diabetes
2501 NW 34th Place
Suite 35
Pompano Beach, Fl 33069

Business Hours
Monday - Friday
9:00AM - 5:00PM (EST)

Contact ADW Diabetes
Email: service@adwdiabetes.com
Phone: 877-241-9002
Fax: 866-995-4820
Local Phone: 954-975-3787
Local Fax: 954-975-3786
 
Hey Donna, to answer your question about the dosing the top of the plunger line should be even with the 1 unit line, but as Karen said, it's more about consistency at this point. But, when you get down to micro doses, under 1 unit, I would aim more for the correct placement of the plunger.
 
Thanks Bobbie! He was a stinker for his test tonite.

So, I think he's earned himself a dose increase. Starting 1 U tomorrow morning. Let's hope this new dose works. I am terrified that if his numbers don't start coming down soon, his little pancreas will get damaged.

Trying really hard to get him used to that darn AeroKat but he's still fighting me. It's like he holds his breath and doesn't realize he can still breathe and then he fights it. UGH!! Need to be able to get him off this pred!! A bit frustrating.

I'll get a +2 or +3 tonite and see where he is.

Hope all the kitties and beans are having a good day/evening!
 
At ADW I only had to have the vet's prescription for syringes once. After that I used to write in the "comments" box that the vet's prescription was "on file". Now, years later, I don't even do that, even when ordering different brands. If they have a question, they will call you.

Good luck with the AeroKat.

Ella & Rusty
 
So, nothing much happening here. About the same. Hold some good thoughts that the dose increase tomorrow starts to bring him down some.
Thanks for all your support L&L!!

Going to bed soon. Back to TBP tomorrow. Night night...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top