1/5, Dusty, AMPS 98 ... +6 264 +8 381, PMPS 376

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michelle & Dusty

Member Since 2012
Yesterday's condo: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=86302

I'm happy to see the green. But at her AMPS test time? Makes me wonder what her evening was like (I got her +3 but then thought I was safe). Dusty has been known to slide rather than curve, so maybe this is a low point. I'll take her levels in 30 minutes to see if she's going up.* The last time she had these numbers and I skipped, she was up in the pinks by her next shot time. I'd like to avoid that.

She's still got the UTI troubles. Been taking the clavamox and eating well. Some quite loose stools, but I was rather expecting that with the clavamox. She's still in quite a bit of pain, though. :YMSIGH: I don't know how much sleep she got last night. She didn't sleep *at all* yesterday, and when I woke up at 1:30 for her +3 she was still there, awake. I woke up a couple more times just to peek at her and at one point she was curled up and sleeping. But still. I'd love for her to just sleep most of the day and let her body heal itself.


*I couldn't hold her food, though. She's getting the clavamox in 12 hour increments and needs to eat with/prior to that.
 
Re: 1/5, Dusty, AMBG 67, 70 (~40 min later)

Well, basically no change. I think I'm going to skip this morning. I've been wanting to reschedule her shots to a 9/9 (for a week-long transition down to 8/8 since the semester starts a week from Monday and I'll need to be to campus by about 8:30 each morning), so I think I'll just plan to give her her PM shot then. I'm a bit worried about this. Because of her UTI, I haven't been able to test for ketones (b/c there isn't much urine at all). They *did* check for ketones yesterday at the vet. And her numbers have been pretty good lately. And she's eating and drinking, which is a good thing. Fingers crossed for a day of sleeps and waking up feeling a bit better.
 
Re: 1/5, Dusty, AMBG 67, 70 (~40 min later)

You could shoot a reduced dose.

Has the vet done a cystocentesis (sterile urine draw through a needle) and run a culture and sensitivity? This will help target the infection. It may be the clavamox isn't the right antibiotic.

You may also want to add FortiFlora or another probiotic to Dusty's food. It will help with the loose stools. Also, did you ask your vet for anything for the pain?
 
Re: 1/5, Dusty, AMBG 67, 70 (~40 min later)

Sienne,

Could I still shoot a reduced dose this late? It's now an hour from her 10:30 dose time.

The vet has not run a cystocentesis. He collected urine after Dusty peed on the examining table and ran a urinalysis which showed an increased level of white blood cells. He gave me the antibiotics and said that if it didn't resolve itself by Monday or Tuesday then to bring her in and he'd run the cystocentesis then. I do have some pain meds (buterphanol) and gave some to Dusty yesterday but she didn't have a great reaction to it. It causes drowsiness and I think she really fights going to sleep when something feels off. If I go back in with her on Monday/Tuesday, I'll talk with him about trying a different type of pain med.

For now, though, she's sleeping. (Hurrah!) I was about to head out to Petco to grab some fortiflora/probiotic and some more freeze dried turkey treats. Perhaps I should test again and see if she's going up? Or just let her sleep?
 
Re: 1/5, Dusty, AMBG 67, 70 (~40 min later)

You can't get FortiFlora at most stores. I'd call before going. You can find Pearls, a very tiny probiotic at a pharmacy. Or, you can see if you can find ReNew Ulitmate at a Whole Foods.

You can shoot late. A late shot acts alike a dose reduction. I'd test and see where Dusty's numbers are now. If they've come up, shoot your usual dose and we'll work the time back. If she's still running low, post and let's see where her numbers are.
 
Re: 1/5, Dusty, AMBG 67, 70 (~40 min later)

Hi Sienne,

I just tested and she's at 98. So she is going up, but not quickly at all. Still shoot something? I've got to run a couple of errands but will be back in about an hour, so if I dose her now I can be back to watch how she does before any real drop might happen.
 
Re: 1/5, Dusty, AMBG 67, 70 (~40 min later)

If it were me, I'd give the full 1.25u. If you're not comfortable with that, you could shoot 1.0u or 0.75u. However, how far off schedule are you and can you accommodate the late shot if we're still adjusting the time on Monday?
 
Re: 1/5, Dusty, AMBG 67, 70 (~40 min later)

OK. I'll go dose her. And, I just caught a typo in my SS -- her normal dose is 1.5. Though I've been (probably inadvisably) inconsistent with her dosing because of the problems with low numbers and/or eating issues. She got 1.5 last night, though, not the 1.25 I accidentally wrote down. I'll give her full dose, I think, since I'll be around to watch her. And the 1.5 seems like such a good dose for her, I don't want her to deplete that depot and start getting those higher numbers again.

If I give her the dose now, at 12:30, then I'll dose her again tonight at, say, 12:15? I'd like to get her down to an 8/8 and have nine days to do it (classes start on Monday 1/14). In fact, ideally I'd like to get her to a 6/6 (or perhaps 6:30/6:30) dosing time so that I can get a +2 before I have to leave for campus in the mornings. I think getting her that far would be pushing it, though, unless I do skip a dose and just restart at the new time.

Thanks, as always, for your wisdom, Sienne. I really appreciate it!
 
Re: 1/5, Dusty, AMBG 67, 70 (~40 min later)

Sounds like a plan.

Always remember, numbers will continue to rise until Lantus onset. You may want to take a look at Libby's post on dealing with low pre-shot numbers. (It's also in the Shooting & Handling Low Numbers sticky.

How you adjust the time will depend on where Dusty's numbers are. If, for some reason she's sitting in high numbers, there are times when you can shoot early by way more than 15 min.
 
Re: 1/5, Dusty, AMPS 98 (late dosing), +1.5 125, +3 170

Well she was clearly on her way up. Glad I dosed (and hope it kicks in soon). Meanwhile she's sleeping and enjoying a quiet afternoon.
 
Re: 1/5, Dusty, AMPS 98 +1.5 125 +3 170 +6 264 +8 381

OK, this isn't what I was expecting today *at all*. I know I didn't give her a fur shot, so I'm perplexed by these numbers. She did get one non-diabetic friendly treat (one of these: http://www.amazon.com/Pet-Naturals-Calming-Cats-count/dp/B0011DHJ2W?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20) because I was giving them to my other two cats and she begged and I gave in. But to spike things this high? (She ate some Fancy Feast Flaked Tuna (8%?) and Soulistic Polynesian Picnic (4%?)...so I don't think it's the food that's causing the spike. Perhaps maybe the UTI? Though I think she is feeling a bit better with regard to that.)

A question -- how early would be too early to give her her next shot? I shot at 12:30 pm (because her morning numbers were quite low). Ideally I'd like to get to an 8/8 shoot time, but I don't want to shoot just eight hours into her cycle. If she's not dropping in a couple of hours, do you think shooting at, say, 10 or 10:30 might work? I'd like to avoid her going even higher and, well, getting closer to that 8/8 time would be great.
 
Re: 1/5, Dusty, AMPS 98 +1.5 125 +3 170 +6 264 +8 381 (new ?

She's just bouncing off those green numbers. It's s very typical response. Let me look at her SS real quick and I will brb.

Shooting early will be ok...I will let you know how early as soon as I look at her SS.
 
Re: 1/5, Dusty, AMPS 98 +1.5 125 +3 170 +6 264 +8 381 (new ?

What a bounce Dusty, clear it soon!
Sorry for hijack Dusty's condo :oops: Marje, you're our angel! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/5, Dusty, AMPS 98 +1.5 125 +3 170 +6 264 +8 381 (new ?

First, it would help if we fix her SS a bit so when we are looking at it, we get the right picture. As I understand it, you tested her this morning at +12 and she was 67 and she was 70 at about +12.5. You shot at +14 when she was 98.

So on +11 from yesterday's PM cycle, you can put "67 @ 12; 70 @ 12.5". In the AMPS column for this morning, put "98 @ +14". That way we know immediately that you shot two hours late.

Her numbers today could also be from the delayed shot as a late shot acts like a reduction. But mostly...I think her liver got panicky with lower numbers than it likes.

If you test her at 10:15 tonight and she's still high, you can shoot at 10:30. You might see wonky numbers for a few cycles until you get her back on track. If possible, please get a +2 tonight so you can see if she's coming down.

Does that help?

I use buprenorphine for pain and it works well for my kitties.
 
Re: 1/5, Dusty, AMPS 98 +1.5 125 +3 170 +6 264 +8 381 (new ?

Hi Marje -- that's basically right. I was planning to shoot her at 10 am (which was her +12) got a 67, tested again at 11 am (her +13) with a 70, and finally shot at 12:30 pm (14.5) when she was 98. I just couldn't figure out how to represent that on the chart. I'll go back and fix it per your suggestion.

I'll test her at 10:15 and go from there depending on the numbers. Frankly, I've been so uneven in her dosing for the last week or so that I'm quite prepared to get all sorts of wonky numbers, so this will just be more wonk added. I'll certainly plan to get a +2 as well. I'm getting used to setting the timer on my phone to go off in 1 or 2 hour increments, depending on Dusty's numbers. :smile:

And thanks for the recommendation for buprenorphine. Dusty seems to be doing better this evening - sleeps and purrs and some pretty fantastic feats of flexibility. :) When I next head in to the vet, I'll talk with them about getting some, though. It would be nice to just have on hand in case there's a flair up.

Thanks so much, again, for your help. Tortie is absolutely right - you're an angel!
 
Re: 1/5, Dusty, AMPS 98 +1.5 125 +3 170 +6 264 +8 381

Perfect! You're welcome and thanks, Helen (tortie). :YMHUG: it takes a village.

Have a great night. Hope Miss Dusty feels better soon.
 
Re: 1/5, Dusty, AMPS 98 +1.5 125 +3 170 +6 264 +8 381, +9.75

Well at least she's not continuing to go up! I'll plan to give her her normal (1.5) dose of insulin at 10:30 then test at 12:30 to see how she's doing. Hoping for a day of greens and blues tomorrow!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top