1/5 Chino AMPS=355, +4=395, +8=302, PMPS=386, +4=406

Status
Not open for further replies.

Adrian and Chino

Member Since 2016
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...5-6-361-8-5-334-pmps-428.170729/#post-1861938

313 early this morning at 7.5 hours after last night's dose. Increased to 3.25 units this morning. Measuring .25 was more difficult than I expected.

He only left solids in the litterbox, so I wasn't able to test for ketones before work.

Not sure if the difference in absorption rate between these 2 sites is significant, but I injected over the left flank this morning. Until now, I've been administering all his injections over the rib cage (AM on the left, PM on the right).
 
Good work getting that late night test in. Those in between doses are painful but you'll get use to them. I hope the increase brings him down a bit. Work the juice Chino!
 
Hang in there, those small doses get easier as they become less strange! They drove me completely nuts at first but then once I was giving them my eyes learned to recognize them and my hands learned to fine tune the syringe. I worked the syringe quite a bit before drawing each time so that the lubricant inside was really all thru it. It made moving those tiny doses in the syringe easier. I also turned rather than pushed to get out the extra when measuring. Didn't over shoot as many times that way!
With Gussie injecting in his side did work better for absorption than in the scruff, I moved it around throughout the side area too.
Surf safely and work that juice Chino!:bighug:
 
Good Lucke with the Dosecrease, hopefully its just a touch of NDW and he will start working the juice soon.:)

Just wondering how come you took him up today??
Your signature says SLGS, so according to the guidelines you would hold the dose for 7 days, before taking him up.
Perhaps you have decided to do TR?? You test frequently enough, and it seems Chino is on LC wet. The TR protocol allows you to take the dose up more quickly, reassessing the dose every 6 cycles, on TR the dosecrease would have been warranted.
 
I think I'm going to switch over to TR at some point, especially now that I can work from home mostly, but I want to reread and re-reread all the info on it first, and want to be confident that I can do it safely before I start. Trying to get rid of the ants nesting in the kitchen wall before I get automated feeders for overnight.
 
302 at +8! Recent readings have shown a nadir at +9 or later, so I'm going to check once more, but that will be it until the PMPS. He was already expecting dinner after the last test.
 
306 at +9... 386 before tonight's dose, which was probably 3 units instead of 3.25 because of a stupid bubble I didn't see until I was about to inject.

Chino and I have fallen into a ridiculous routine. I keep the litterbox on the patio, and when I see him coming back inside, I go out to check for ketones. Half of the time, I find nothing (they also go out there to watch squirrels) or I just find solids. When I come back inside, he goes out to the litterbox, but when he exits less than a minute later, I go back out and find nothing. When it happened tonight, I saw him backing out of the litterbox.

So I think this is what's happening... though it can't be. It's just too ridiculous:

He uses the litterbox or doesn't. Either way, he doesn't pee.
I go out to test the urine that isn't there and he sees me do this.
He goes out to see what I was doing to his litterbox and finds nothing.
I go out to see what he was doing in the litterbox and find nothing.
 
...another +4 that's higher than the PMPS. Grrrr.

Now that I have a computer again, I'm reading as much as I can about the TR protocol. I can't keep dragging these ineffective doses out for a week at a time until the right dose is found, and I want to give Chino the best chance for remission. I'm on call for the next 3 days, which means I'm stuck at home all weekend. As long as there are no critical issues to manage, I'll be doing as much research as I can and preparing to switch. One big area of uncertainty is how much LC, MC, or HC to feed to keep him from dropping too low or too fast.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top