1/5 Blaze amps 224 +3 222 +6 80 +9 78 +10.75 62 (Vomiting) PMPS 69 (NS tonight) +2 113

Blaze ate his normal LC snack at +9, and then vomited shortly after. He just vomited two more times, looked like frothy liquid. I tested him at +10.75 and he’s at 62. We’ll see what he’s at in an hour with PMPS, but I’m thinking I might skip his PM shot tonight based off of this vomiting.
 
Sarah , your wisdom and gut sense ab what Blaze needs is fantastic :bighug: Good for you for following that voice inside that knows what's best for your sweet boy ❤️ Sending prayers of healing that Blaze stops vomiting :bighug:
 
I know, me too! I hate to skip a shot but I’m just worried about his tummy being upset and insulin dropping him too low tonight possibly. Just want to keep him safe. I’m sure he will be high tomorrow morning :facepalm:
Possibly but , just like Elmo, he will come down . There have been especially nights where I've skipped a shot because his stomach has had it after a day of constant steering . You are wise to take his nausea into account when faced with possibly needing to feed him . Good job, Momma Sarah ❤️
 
Hope Blaze feels better! I'd probably do something similar and either skipped or reduced as well (which was something I did a couple of days ago). How is he feeling now?
 
Sarah , your wisdom and gut sense ab what Blaze needs is fantastic :bighug: Good for you for following that voice inside that knows what's best for your sweet boy ❤️ Sending prayers of healing that Blaze stops vomiting :bighug:
Thank you Beth! :bighug:I haven’t dealt with this before so I wasn’t sure what to do, but with the vomiting and the 69 at PMPS, it just seemed best to skip the shot tonight. He hasn’t vomited since I tested him around +10.75, so that’s good. I’m keeping a close eye on him tonight, I hope he feels better soon. He’s curled up by the fire right now:)
 
Possibly but , just like Elmo, he will come down . There have been especially nights where I've skipped a shot because his stomach has had it after a day of constant steering . You are wise to take his nausea into account when faced with possibly needing to feed him . Good job, Momma Sarah ❤️
Thank you Beth! I know we will get back on track. I didn’t think of that though, I had to steer him a bit with that 44 we got last night. Maybe his tummy is upset from the HC last night. I hope that’s what it is and he’s feeling better tomorrow morning!❤️
 
Hope Blaze feels better! I'd probably do something similar and either skipped or reduced as well (which was something I did a couple of days ago). How is he feeling now?
Ya, if he weren’t vomiting before PMPS, I would have shot that 69 but with the vomiting, it made me a little nervous to give any insulin tonight. He seems to be feeling okay, he hasn’t vomited since around +10.75 and he’s sleeping on the couch now. I’m just going to keep an eye on him.
 
Yeah !!! When mine have upset bellies I give slippery elm bark ....1/4 teaspoon dissolved in water and slowly syringed (there are other ways to give but this is easiest with Elmo ) I love it . It's my puking go to :woot:
 
Yeah !!! When mine have upset bellies I give slippery elm bark ....1/4 teaspoon dissolved in water and slowly syringed (there are other ways to give but this is easiest with Elmo ) I love it . It's my puking go to :woot:
I’m going to have to get some for the future. Where can you get slippery elm bark?
 
I like to get it at local heath food store where they have it in bulk and I can get as much or little as I need. You can buy it in capsules but those have a flow agent in them and I prefer the pure powder . We use it for ourselves as well when our stomachs feel yuck , just remembering to not take within 2 hours of any meds as it coats the GI tract in both people and animals. Great , natural response to GI tract probs .
 
I like to get it at local heath food store where they have it in bulk and I can get as much or little as I need. You can buy it in capsules but those have a flow agent in them and I prefer the pure powder . We use it for ourselves as well when our stomachs feel yuck , just remembering to not take within 2 hours of any meds as it coats the GI tract in both people and animals. Great , natural response to GI tract probs .
Okay, thank you so much for the info Beth! I’m definitely going to get some for future upset tummies. I appreciate it so much!:bighug:
 
I know, me too! I hate to skip a shot but I’m just worried about his tummy being upset and insulin dropping him too low tonight possibly. Just want to keep him safe. I’m sure he will be high tomorrow morning
You could probably do a half dose safely in this circumstance. Cats undergoing anesthesia who cannot eat usually get a half dose, insulin does more than combat carbs from food. When Neko was off her food, I would offer higher carb LC, around 8%, as a little insurance. Or syringe a little if needed.

I hope Blaze feels better tomorrow.
 
Back
Top