1/4 Elmo switches from Vetsulin to Lantus tomorrow morning..

Status
Not open for further replies.

Beth 73

Member Since 2016
Hello and so glad to be here. Elmo has been on vetsulin since late July and 3 day DKA stay at vet. He has done adequately on vetsulin up until last month when we hit the vetsulin "wall" which has brought us here. I have read all the Sticky Notes which have been so informative but feel much like a newbie with the switch. My vet wanted Elmo to try a 2 week OTJ trial now but I am opting for Lantus and more time to heal. We will be shooting Lantus for first time tomorrow morning, starting with .25 dose( last few weeks has been on .25 minus a small drop of Vetsulin). What AMPS should I not shoot ? Am I correct that it is 50 and I am to monitor to insure he stays above 50 thru out the day ??Also, at what times in cycle should check BG , especially for first few days ? It will be interesting to see how he responds to Lantus as he seems to be very sensitive to changes in general. We are also in process of upping his thyroid meds this week. Thank u in advance for answers, insights and wisdom. If not for the fabulous kitty parents of FDMB , Elmo would possibly not be alive .
 
When switching from a non-depot insulin to a depot insulin, you can usually switch to the same dose. So I think your 0.25u is probably a good starting point.

If you've looked at the sticky notes, have you had a chance to think about whether or not doing Tight Reg or Start Low Go Slow is the right method for you? You test plenty for following the Tight Regulation Protocol if you want to do that one. That fits your reference to 50, although the 50 is in reference to using a human glucometer. If you are still using the AT, then you want 68 to be your cut-off number.

I'm going to assume you're interested in Tight Reg since you're referencing that, you test regularly, and he is on wet food (per your signature.) If so, the guidelines there are to test at +3, +6, +9 and preshots on the first 3 days. There is more info on that on the sticky for Tight Regulation.

As far as what should be your lowest preshot . . . . for an experienced user using Lantus and an AT, that would be 68. For your situation, I'd probably post if you have any doubts if it's too low and ask for some help making a decision. You are experienced, but not with Lantus, so I'd be a little more cautious to begin with. The Lantus depot will build over the next few days. I see you have "hypo" noted a while ago on the ss, so I know you know how to bring up low numbers.

Post here and update your test results in your subject line and people will be able to see what's going on with Elmo. I think I'd put "1st day on Lantus" in your subject line so it doesn't get missed. You can check in with each test, update your subject line, ask any questions, and people will help you know what to do next.

Here is a link to "Where Can I Find?" that can help you find helpful information that we use on this group.

Welcome to the group - it's a wonderful group of people and cats and people will be happy to help you learn what you need to know to use Lantus. Ask as many questions as you have!
 
I think since you're new to Lantus, I'd suggest if you get a PS of 150 or less, you stall, don't feed and post for help....We like to have someone watching over you the first few times you shoot low (but after your experience with Vetsulin, you know how to keep Ozzy safe by now!!)

Welcome to L&LL!!
 
Hi Beth, and welcome to L&L Land (the nicest place you never wanted to be).

Julie and Chris have given you some great guidance. I just want to share a link to the Lantus & Levemir Slang Dictionary. You are probably already familiar with many of the terms we use, but there may be some that are new to you, so you can look them up if you need to (or ask - we love to help!).
 
I think since you're new to Lantus, I'd suggest if you get a PS of 150 or less, you stall, don't feed and post for help....We like to have someone watching over you the first few times you shoot low (but after your experience with Vetsulin, you know how to keep Ozzy safe by now!!)

Welcome to L&LL!!
Hey Chris !! So good to finally be here , tho I feel a bit like a newbie. Want to be clear, if his AMPS is 150 or below( on FS meter) I don't feed and post for help? I am thrilled at the thot of someone watching over me these first few days...and yes, I have experience with lows...vetsulin is very skilled at slamming to them :woot:
 
Want to be clear, if his AMPS is 150 or below( on FS meter) I don't feed and post for help?

That's what I'd suggest....there's also a sticky titled "Shooting and handling low numbers" worth reading (I'm sure you're looking forward to more reading!!!)

Make sure your subject line is clear that you're looking for help...something like "STALLING! NEED HELP!" usually works (you can go back and edit it when you have help)
 
Hi Beth, and welcome to L&L Land (the nicest place you never wanted to be).

Julie and Chris have given you some great guidance. I just want to share a link to the Lantus & Levemir Slang Dictionary. You are probably already familiar with many of the terms we use, but there may be some that are new to you, so you can look them up if you need to (or ask - we love to help!).
Thanks, Tricia...I've poured over LL stickies past few days getting ready. As I've said, I feel like a newbie all over again and welcome all guidance and direction ! I have been following the LL forum and feel confident and safe with all the excellent help I see given so am excited to start( and a little nervous) .So so glad you all love to help cos I am going to need it :)
 
That's what I'd suggest....there's also a sticky titled "Shooting and handling low numbers" worth reading (I'm sure you're looking forward to more reading!!!)

Make sure your subject line is clear that you're looking for help...something like "STALLING! NEED HELP!" usually works (you can go back and edit it when you have help)
Thank u, Chris. As I've said, here u ,Elmo and are again , late at night , sorting things out. You are the one who coached me thru his first/worst hypo which I am eternally grateful for :):bighug:So glad and comfy to be having you help us :bighug:
 
Hi, Beth and Elmo, welcome to L&L!

I had been using Vetsulin for almost a year when I switched to Lantus, so my learning curve was pretty steep, lol, and I was a nervous wreck! I asked LOTS of questions, and felt very much like a newbie all over again! The wonderful folks here gave me all the help I could ever ask for, and gave me tons of support and encouragement (and still do!). You'll do fine, making the switch, and I have no doubt you will be happy using Lantus!
 
Hi, Beth and Elmo, welcome to L&L!

I had been using Vetsulin for almost a year when I switched to Lantus, so my learning curve was pretty steep, lol, and I was a nervous wreck! I asked LOTS of questions, and felt very much like a newbie all over again! The wonderful folks here gave me all the help I could ever ask for, and gave me tons of support and encouragement (and still do!). You'll do fine, making the switch, and I have no doubt you will be happy using Lantus!
So glad to hear from you, to know you know the leap from vetsulin to Lantus is a big one...so many differences..and after Squallie ( love the name) being use to the vetsulin routine for that long,wow...thinking differently about it is my biggest challenge after just after 5 months on vetsulin...glad u and Squallie will be keeping an eye on us ! Any and all advice is welcomed and sought by us !!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top