1/4 Doodles AMPS 266 +4 287 +8 253 PMPS 205

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doodles & Karen

Member Since 2015
Doodles 1/3 The boy and his antics yesterday morning sure gave us a good laugh and his bean unnecessary worry. No more issues with meal time but he did sleep most of the afternoon. All was fine until just before his PM +4 meal and here came the coughing and a 100pt jump in his BG making it to stinky pink overnight. It's only been 4 days since the last episode that I caught anyway. It didn't last to long and once settled he ate his meal without issue.

The breath easier drops should be here tomorrow and hope they will help. In the meantime I feel horrible and frankly angry that my sweet boy has problems breathing and it seems there's nothing we can do. His mouth is open quite often and I can actually hear the crackly breathing time to time. I still cannot get myself to give the hydrocodone and think I'll make a call to Dr. Church's office to let them know.

Surf safely kitties and eat your fuds.
 
Oh Karen I'm sorry he's still having coughing episodes:( It's so frustrating when we can't seem to fix what is wrong. What are the breath easier drops?
 
Let us know if the breathe easy drops work. Doodles certainly has you trained or should I say chained into not leaving him. Have you ever thought of taking him with you on your trips to diamond back? Maybe he will associate your non sweat pants attire with something fun.........
 
I did find this case study published in the Journal of Feline Medicine and Surgery. It's a study of only 1 cat's treatment of asthma who also has diabetes, HCM & CHF. The treatment was with ciclosporin (Atopica) which of course comes with it's own set of risks/ side effects. Funny or not so funny Atopica was the drug they wanted to treat his IBD with and I declined. Guess I'm reaching..just reaching for a way to help him while in denial that his condition is guarded and his life expectancy is short to say the least. Luckily in the meantime he's still a pretty happy boy and his QOL is still in a good range.
 

Attachments

Oh, Karen, I am so sorry that he had another coughing episode so soon after the last one. I am glad it didn't last long, but I'm sure it's scary to see him like that. I just wish I had any advice... but I am sending lots of vines and good thoughts. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hey Karen, I am so sorry about Doodles with his coughing spell again and I can imagine how upsetting it is.

Atopica is also used to treat auto immune skin problems and I know of 2 dogs on it that have chronic itching and chewing on themselves till they are raw. Both animals have responded to it greatly and one of the dogs has been on it for at least 5 years.
 
Hi Karen, I hope that Doodles coughing will calm down. Is it indeed asthma? I'm going to tag @Melissa & Tarragon for you. Tarragon has had asthma for years and Melissa may have some suggestions.
Rusty's chronic congestion (which he had already when he came to live with us) is not asthma (we've had him tested several times: ultrasounds, x rays; visits to an IM specialist), so we do not medicate. We just live with it.

I hope Doodles will be feeling better soon,
 
What form is the hydrocodone? Is it pill, liquid? Could you possibly give 1/8 or 1/4 dose just to see how he reacts to it? I tend to be on your side with NOT giving it but it might be worth a try if you could try a very reduced amount to start with. At least you would have a base line on his reaction to it if you ever HAD to administer it (emergency situation).

Heck, I avoid my own hydrocodone prescription at all costs. I take liquid advil for my migraines and 9/10 times it will work if I get it on board early enough. If the too late and the nausea that comes with them sets in - there is no hope no matter what I take - as my hubby puts it - I cave dwell (cold, dark room with no sound) until it passes.

Just rambling.
 
Is it indeed asthma
The cardiologist suggested asthma and/ or lower airway disease because of Doodles frequency of coughing. We confirmed it's not fluid/ CHF causing it. It's typically treated with pred and inhalers which he said Doodles heart is not strong enough for. Tarragon is on Pred and had been treated for HCM for many years. Guess the difference is the progression of Doodles HCM (we caught it late) is near end as well as the recurrent CHF that he's in requiring such a high dose of Lasik (33.75mg BID). Most likely we'll just live with it but it really upsets me to see his mouth open with coughing and feel like there is nothing I can do. So, I sent his cardiologist and email with the study and concerns about the hydrocodone. It's hard for me to accept Doodles is dying and we're on bought time. I do just try to enjoy him but it's overwhelming sometimes.
 
The cardiologist suggested asthma and/ or lower airway disease because of Doodles frequency of coughing. We confirmed it's not fluid/ CHF causing it. It's typically treated with pred and inhalers which he said Doodles heart is not strong enough for. Tarragon is on Pred and had been treated for HCM for many years. Guess the difference is the progression of Doodles HCM (we caught it late) is near end as well as the recurrent CHF that he's in requiring such a high dose of Lasik (33.75mg BID). Most likely we'll just live with it but it really upsets me to see his mouth open with coughing and feel like there is nothing I can do. So, I sent his cardiologist and email with the study and concerns about the hydrocodone. It's hard for me to accept Doodles is dying and we're on bought time. I do just try to enjoy him but it's overwhelming sometimes.
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:steal every moment while you can.. good or bad.. he is your little man and you have done everything to give him a great quality of life... :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I had to put Uncle's CHF brother on Atopica to treat his pemphigus foliaceus. Not ideal to add another thing in the mix but it worked out for him . Just wanted to let you know since you mentioned it earlier
I bet the house scrubbing and the Breathe Easier will help. Fingers and paws crossed.
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Karen,
I'm just getting to know everyone on the board, but reading about Doodles just now... my heart hurts for you. I wish there was something I could do to help or some advice I could give, but unfortunately, I have none. All I can do is to send you a million :bighug::bighug::bighug:'s and let you know we're here to support you and Doodles in whatever way we can.
 
Karen, Sending hugs and prayers to you and Doodles. I hope you get the drops soon and they work for you. I know you are doing everything you can to help Doodles.:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Not happy to read your post - If it were me, I also think I might try a reduced dose of the hydrocodone. Although, given his heart disease, it does seem like that would be the most likely cause of the coughing - not a total new dx- but I guess that was ruled out.
 
Although, given his heart disease, it does seem like that would be the most likely cause of the coughing
They insist that cats don't cough with the heart disease he has, at least not as much as he does. I've been scrubbing the house, washing curtains and about to buy unscented walnut litter.
 
Karen, I'm sorry things are so stressful right now. I learned with my civvie Callie's cancer to take it one day at a time and try not to think about what will happen in the future. All we can do is treat their health issues the best we can and give them love and make the most of each day. I know it's not easy and there were days I cried because it got overwhelming. But it does help to just focus on the day at hand and make the most of whatever time we have with them. Sending prayers. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I know it's not easy and there were days I cried because it got overwhelming. But it does help to just focus on the day at hand and make the most of whatever time we have with them
I do alright for a while then not so much. Just have to make sure every option is exhausted to help him. DH tells me to stop crying over the same thing that it doesn't change anything and just be happy that he feels pretty good :(:banghead: Thanks Carla :bighug::bighug:
 
bout to buy unscented walnut litter.
Paws crossed it's something simple like an allergy to his litter. :bighug::bighug::bighug: The balancing of many meds is so tough. I had long talks with Neko's IM vetty about it. Thankfully he was all about balance and thought the way I do. It's hard having to carry that weight on your shoulders. The positive is Doodles feeling good. That means a lot. Embrace those good days.
 
The positive is Doodles feeling good
But is he feeling good...sometimes I wonder and that makes me sad :( Better late then never trying a new litter. Thanks for pointing out the right one. I've been looking at a few here and there and wasn't sure if I was a gimmick or not.
 
The cardiologist suggested asthma and/ or lower airway disease because of Doodles frequency of coughing. We confirmed it's not fluid/ CHF causing it. It's typically treated with pred and inhalers which he said Doodles heart is not strong enough for. Tarragon is on Pred and had been treated for HCM for many years. Guess the difference is the progression of Doodles HCM (we caught it late) is near end as well as the recurrent CHF that he's in requiring such a high dose of Lasik (33.75mg BID). Most likely we'll just live with it but it really upsets me to see his mouth open with coughing and feel like there is nothing I can do. So, I sent his cardiologist and email with the study and concerns about the hydrocodone. It's hard for me to accept Doodles is dying and we're on bought time. I do just try to enjoy him but it's overwhelming sometimes.
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I can't wait to strip my house down from the sawdust. Rooms will be totally emptied and washed floor to ceiling. Blinds cleaned, washed. Carpets cleaned.

I guess you tried an air purifier or ion machine.
 
Just thought of something. I was told to keep the house cold for Smokey. He always sat in the room where the window air was. It was the coldest. When I thought we could get away with the air off for the day, he would cough. I would be bundled in a comforter to be warm. Something to ponder.
 
Karen good time for baby steps:bighug::bighug::bighug: enjoy the good days with him:cat::bighug::bighug::bighug:
they seem to handle all this way better than we do hugs to you:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Karen you are an amazing mommy and nurse for your boy.....
I know the thought of losing our little ones goes against everything that makes any sense.

Always sending prayers ...... :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top