1/4 Chino AMPS=485, +6=361, +8.5=334, PMPS=428

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hope Chino's numbers slide down for you.

He does look like he is needing more insulin at the moment, though on SLGS you would wait a week before taking him up.
Have you got a ketone test in today?
When their numbers are high, it's advisable to keep a check on ketone levels daily, particularly if he seem off in some way ore is not eating.
 
If you don't see blue tonight I'd bring him up to 3.25u in the morning. He's too high to wait the full 7 days (5 days is enough IMO). You have enough tests to bring him up safely.
 
Thank you, Karen. I was going to ask about the timing and increments for the next increase but you beat me to it :) I really appreciate all the guidance and will make a point to get that +8 for tonight's cycle, on the highly unlikely chance that he's starting out so high each morning because he's hitting blues and greens overnight. Probably not the case... But I can hope.

Gill, no ketone test yet today. If I don't catch him coming out of the litterbox in the morning before work, I often have to wait until evening and hope he doesn't go while I'm out running errands or making dinner (can't see/hear the litterbox from the kitchen).
 
Question: I know that my 2.5 unit dose started the week over again. Does the counting of a week start again with the next shot after a fur shot as well?
 
Question: I know that my 2.5 unit dose started the week over again. Does the counting of a week start again with the next shot after a fur shot as well?
Yes on both accounts but tonight will be the 11th consecutive dose with 3u which is enough. If he see's blue tonight then I might hold for an extra cycle but if not I'd increase tomorrow. He's too high and holding much longer could cause glucose toxicity. If you're more comfortable holding the dose for the full 7 days from the reduced dose than that's fine too. I just think you test enough and have enough data to move forward.
 
These high numbers are SCARY, especially knowing that the real BG is much higher than what the human glucometer is telling me. I would rather increase tomorrow than continue to hold this dose.

I want to give him the best chance for remission, which I know would be the TR protocol, but the inability to monitor overnight during the week is my main concern. And I don't know how to keep him from eating my other cat's food if I implement automated feeders.

If I turn my back or leave the kitchen while they're eating, Chino pushes my younger/smaller cat out of the way and eats his food after finishing his own. He gets 1.5 cans for each meal (vs. the fuzzball's 1 can) and still finishes first.
 
I want to give him the best chance for remission, which I know would be the TR protocol, but the inability to monitor overnight during the week is my main concern. And I don't know how to keep him from eating my other cat's food if I implement automated feeders.
You seem to be able to get a +4 most nights, which is more than enough data to implement TR. Can you put automatic feeders in separate rooms? Or make sure your other cat gets enough food before you go to sleep and leave just Chino's food in the autofeeder? You can also buy dishes that slow down how fast a cat eats. Amanda just bought this one for her @Osha
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B017JSY89O/ref=ox_sc_act_title_2?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=A2K0UR2SMXJIUN
 
Hi, I am not up to date on Chino's story, but my Osha would eat her food in 2.5 seconds and then go after all the other food available..... The dish that I bought and that Wendy linked has been AMAZING! It takes her sooooo much more time to eat her food and my other cats can eat their food while she is busy with hers. If you need him to slow down while the other cats eat their food this has worked for me. Sounds funny to be in love with a cat bowl, but I do love this one.
 
Can you put automatic feeders in separate rooms? Or make sure your other cat gets enough food before you go to sleep and leave just Chino's food in the autofeeder? You can also buy dishes that slow down how fast a cat eats. Amanda just bought this one for her @Osha
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B017JSY89O/ref=ox_sc_act_title_2?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=A2K0UR2SMXJIUN

That's awesome! I might have to get one of those. Right now, I have to wash the bowls as soon as they finish and can't leave anything on the kitchen floor or in the sink. A large colony of ants moved into this apartment before I did, and I'm just now starting to see their numbers decrease 2 weeks later.

Unfortunately, separate rooms isn't an option. The apartment is small, and I can't allow them in my bedroom - I take meds twice a night for narcolepsy and if I can't get 3-4 hrs of sleep with each dose, I can't stay awake during the day.

Does anyone give different AM and PM doses? Would it make sense to try to keep him in the green during the day and in the blue at night?
 
Does anyone give different AM and PM doses? Would it make sense to try to keep him in the green during the day and in the blue at night?
Unfortunately, that does not work with Depot insulins like Lantus and Levemir. What you shoot in one cycle is impacted a lot by the depot and we can't control which cycle sees more action. Many cats also prefer to go low at night. Take a look at Osha's spreadsheet - she's a great example of that. What you can do is get that +4 test, then load an autofeeder with low, medium, or high carb food based on what the cycle looks like. We've had several members with sleep disorders and similarly not able to monitor at night.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top