Adrian and Chino
Member Since 2016
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-3-chino-amps-448-3-384-6-287.170667/
Hope this isn't the start of another 3-day bounce...
Hope this isn't the start of another 3-day bounce...
Yes on both accounts but tonight will be the 11th consecutive dose with 3u which is enough. If he see's blue tonight then I might hold for an extra cycle but if not I'd increase tomorrow. He's too high and holding much longer could cause glucose toxicity. If you're more comfortable holding the dose for the full 7 days from the reduced dose than that's fine too. I just think you test enough and have enough data to move forward.Question: I know that my 2.5 unit dose started the week over again. Does the counting of a week start again with the next shot after a fur shot as well?
You seem to be able to get a +4 most nights, which is more than enough data to implement TR. Can you put automatic feeders in separate rooms? Or make sure your other cat gets enough food before you go to sleep and leave just Chino's food in the autofeeder? You can also buy dishes that slow down how fast a cat eats. Amanda just bought this one for her @OshaI want to give him the best chance for remission, which I know would be the TR protocol, but the inability to monitor overnight during the week is my main concern. And I don't know how to keep him from eating my other cat's food if I implement automated feeders.
Can you put automatic feeders in separate rooms? Or make sure your other cat gets enough food before you go to sleep and leave just Chino's food in the autofeeder? You can also buy dishes that slow down how fast a cat eats. Amanda just bought this one for her @Osha
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B017JSY89O/ref=ox_sc_act_title_2?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=A2K0UR2SMXJIUN
Unfortunately, that does not work with Depot insulins like Lantus and Levemir. What you shoot in one cycle is impacted a lot by the depot and we can't control which cycle sees more action. Many cats also prefer to go low at night. Take a look at Osha's spreadsheet - she's a great example of that. What you can do is get that +4 test, then load an autofeeder with low, medium, or high carb food based on what the cycle looks like. We've had several members with sleep disorders and similarly not able to monitor at night.Does anyone give different AM and PM doses? Would it make sense to try to keep him in the green during the day and in the blue at night?