1/4 Checkers PMPS 300 -1.5/348..+3/419 +4/348

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barb & Checkers (GA)

Member Since 2009
Hi again, LL. No more lurking, for me. We need advice, please. I haven't been posting, because I can't do daily condos, for a couple of reasons.
Sienne shot down my first reason, by telling me how to attach an Excel SS, to my post.
Thank you Sienne :smile:
Here is thread from Sept, when this all started. We had been OTJ for 3 months, until he got back pain, and he never did get back on track. I won't go into it all.
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=53027
I can't do Google SS, but have always kept a daily journal, so have all the numbers.
Filling in the Excel SS, starting Nov.

Problem now is I'm not doing so well, dosing. I thought all yesterday and Monday's high numbers needed full 1u insulin, now thinking he was bouncing from Sunday, and should be getting much less.
Could someone please look at his SS and set me straight?
I'm really struggling alone right now, without the daily eyes.
Thank you!
 
Re: 1/4 Checkers amps 321.Here we go again.

Hi barb ...I checked out checkers SS .. I wish I had better trained eyes so I could tell you what's up with him and his numbers .. I can't imagine that the pen is the problem, since it's only a week old .. Hopefully more experienced lookers will be here soon .. don't forget, you don't have to struggle alone .. hugs to you guys!
 
Re: 1/4 Checkers amps 321 +2/92 +3/29 +3.25/34 +3.5/57 +4/91

Thanks Devon. I guess I'm asking if I should reduce to .75 now.
That's the proper prototocol, right? nailbite_smile
He's been on 1u, for 5 cycles, and dropped really hard, this morning.
 
Re: 1/4 Checkers amps 321 +2/92 +3/29 +3.25/34 +3.5/57 +4/91

Hi Barb and Checks, I'm sorry to see you both here again. Looks like Checkers numbers this morning have answered your question. Wow on the 29!!!!!! :o :shock:

Surf safer Checkers ok? You are going to give your bean a heart attack.
 
Re: 1/4 Checkers amps 321 +2/92 +3/29 +3.25/34 +3.5/57 +4/91

Hi Barb and Checkers,
I'm glad you are back, because this is the place to be when Checkers needs help (not to speak of the fact that we miss you). I can't read your Excel SS on my Mac, but I can see from today's numbers that after 5 cycles Checks has a big drop. I agree that you need to reduce the dose--probably by .25 at first-- and then see what happens. I'm sure you'll get some good feedback by the end of today.

So welcome back and hopefully you'll be able to get Checkers stabilized and that his back will begin to feel better, too. Did you make the move to the new vet (the one who likes cats)? Reading through your thread from September, I got angry all over again at the way that "Dr. Nasty" treated you.

Anyway, I hope that 2012 will be a good year for you and Checkers and that you'll be able to get all of his health issues under control.

Lots of hugs from us,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/4 Checkers amps 321 +2/92 +3/29 +3.25/34 +3.5/57 +4/91

((((((((((Barb)))))))))) Sorry that you had to come back, but glad to see you all the same. I'm not an expert either, but that 29 is a definite reduction. I'd take the full .25 reduction if I were you. It just takes some getting used to again. Do you need a new fitting for Patience Pants? :lol: Waiting it out , for me, is the hardest thing to get do.

You are always w/ friends here, no need to feel alone just because of SS problems. Just remember, you need to upload the SS everyday.
 
Re: 1/4 Checkers amps 321 +2/92 +3/29 +3.25/34 +3.5/57 +4/91

Hi Barb! Good to see you, but sorry it's under these circumstances. I would reduce .25 as well...that 29 is a bit scary. I suppose it's possible there's some shed action there, but you can always go back up if the full reduction doesn't stick, and it will give the shed a chance to drain a little. Hugs to you and scritches for the Chex-man!
 
Re: 1/4 Checkers amps 321 +2/92 +3/29 +3.25/34 +3.5/57 +4/91

looks like you got your answer! A full .25 reduction .. GO CHECKS!!
 
Re: 1/4 Checkers amps 321 +2/92 +3/29 +3.25/34 +3.5/57 +4/91

The day we saw Dr Nasty, I brought him in for pre-dental check. His life-long vet, Dr Dave, hadn't wanted to do a dental, because he was afraid he would have problems with his back, when he woke from anesthesia. That was the day we saw doc nasty.
We found out his kidney values were off, then Dave had another reason for not wanting to do anesthesia.

I was really upset, because I knew in the pit of my soul, that Chex had pain in his mouth.
The high bg numbers continued, with me thinking it was temporary, because of all the trauma, with him biting me, etc.

Fast forward to last month. Knowing my own cat, I instisted to Dave, that Chex needed dental. He told me again about his fears of pain in the spine ofter anesthesia. I had to take the risk. I knew he was in mouth pain!!
Sure enough. Three extractions, infection, and pus filled canine tooth.

And what Dave was afraid of....happened. Checks was having pain in his back. I gave him bute the first day, for dental surgery pain, so it took care of the back too. Second day is when I saw him favoring the back, so gave bute second day also. Third day, he was his happy playful self again.....and has been ever since.

His numbers haven't been too bad for the last couple months but not good either. He was on .5u and slowly crept up to 1.25, before having to go back down.

Oh yeah, his kidneys values had improved to almost normal, last time he was in. Yay. Don't know what was up the first time.

Yes Ann, I need to be fitted for patience pants again. I forgot how hard this was. :roll:

Ella, I am with the same clinic; I just won't see Doc Nasty again.
 
Re: 1/4 Checkers amps 321 +2/92 +3/29 +3.25/34 +3.5/57 +4/91

love hearing that checks has a healthy mouth now, and is feeling good!! All because you're such a good beanz to him!
 
Re: 1/4 Checkers amps 321 +2/92 +3/29 +3.25/34 +3.5/57 +4/91

Hi, Barb,
Checkers really took a nose dive today, but I'm glad he came back up to a more manageable number. Good luck with the decrease, and let us know how he's doing whenever you can.
:YMHUG: from Mookie and me
 
Re: 1/4 Checkers amps 321 +2/92 +3/29 +3.25/34 +3.5/57 +4/91

I agree with what everyone is saying. That 29 is a wake up and take notice. I'd drop the dose to 0.75u.
 
Re: 1/4 Checkers amps 321 +2/92 +3/29 +3.25/34 +11/316

Barb, 29! 34!--Girl reduce that dose!! 0.75U!!!
Listen Barbs, This could go very well so put the Patience Pants on & let's see where this goes--
He has nice clean Toofies, all bad mouth thingys are gone, Checkers, you know what to do!
Do you remember my Dr Nasty from long ago? Replaced By Dr Mrs Goodness!!--
We are all psychic when it comes to our kitties Right?
You did great for Him!! Hugs & love from us!
 
Re: 1/4 Checkers amps 321 +2/92 +3/29 +3.25/34 +11/316

Holy Moly, that 29 is a serious "Welcom back", isn't it? Yes, those patience pants are an essential tool, aren't they?
 
Re: 1/4 Checkers PMPS 300

Looks like I'll be on watch tonight, until I'm sure he's not dropping, after what happened this morning, altho I reduced from 1u, to .75 tonight.
He was yellow and blue for 2 days, this drop was totally unexpected! I had forgotten how unpredictable he is. nailbite_smile

Sure do wish that boy enjoyed eating. Uh, except for stolen kibble. :roll:
 
Re: 1/4 Checkers PMPS 300

WELCOME BACK, BARB & CHEXMAN!!!!

I know it's for a crummy reason, but i can't help celebrating seeing you!!!!!

(Although those lows made me spit a mouthful of pepsi on the laptop :shock: )

funny-pictures-cat-missed-you1-e1299024329458.jpg
 
Re: 1/4 Checkers PMPS 300

:lol: thanks Celi, I ain't coming to clean your computer.
Darn cat seems to have been bouncing for a couple of days, but I'm so out of practice here, that I thought he just had gotten into contraband somehow.
That's my excuse for letting him drop so low today.
He's trying to see how strong the old bean's heart is. nailbite_smile
 
Re: 1/4 Checkers PMPS 300

It really is good to "see" you again, Barb!!! If it makes you feel better, because of work, I don't post every day, though I'm going to try to do better than I have been (sometimes I've let over a week go by...yikes!!!). It's so much easier on YOU to have everyone here to lean on. I'm sorry Chex is back on the juice, but glad to have you here!!
 
Re: 1/4 Checkers PMPS 300

it looks like whatever caused Checkers' to need an increased dose for a while is starting to clear out. I'm glad you reduced by a full 0.25 instead of a shave, since shaving wasn't enough on the last reduction.

Welcome back!
 
Re: 1/4 Checkers PMPS 300 -1.5/348..+3/419

Oh, good grief, I sure hope this is a bounce. After 2 years, y'd think I would take this in stride.
Nope, it still freaks me out.

PMPS 300.......(actually 2 different meters gave me 292 and 316)
.75u
+1.5....348
+3......419
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top