1/4 Cali PMPS: 294 +2=213

Status
Not open for further replies.

beclt

Member Since 2011
Day two on the increased dose (1.5). Her number this AM was a bit lower than it has been, so that is encouraging, although she was a bit higher last night.

I do have a question about food though. Cali seems to have an increased appetiete lately. I wouldn't say it is anything alarming but I was just curious if the switch to Lantus has anything to do with this. We feed her a can of FF in the morning and I leave her three ice cubes of wet food to last while we are at work. When we get home we feed her another can and maybe a snack or another can before bed. Lately, she finishes that first can right away. She would typicaly have left some food in the bowl for a bit and ocme back to it, but she seems to eat it all in a sitting.

She is acting completely fine, no real increase in water or any weird behavior, just curious on the food. I don't want to over feed her, but want to keep her happy. I know the FF cans are small, so I don't feel super guilty giving her two if needed.
 
Re: 1/4 Cali AMPS: 314 (Food Question)

The issue with food isn't so much how many cans but how many calories. Dr. Lisa's site has a formula for calculating calories:

Required calories per day = [13.6 X optimal lean body weight in pounds] + 70​
You can divide up the calories from food over the number of meals that you feed. (Note that Dr. Lisa describes this as a "generous" formula.)
 
Re: 1/4 Cali AMPS: 314 (Food Question)

If that is the case, she should get around 230 calories a day. I think the FF cans are on average 70 calories so that would be a little over 3 cans a day. I think we are just about at that, if not slightly over.
 
Re: 1/4 Cali AMPS: 314 (Food Question)

Hi guys ... glad to see you got an answer about feeding cali .. Nice to see her amps a bit lower too! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 1/4 Cali AMPS: 314 (Food Question)

Yes--I just wasn't sure if I should be alarmed or not.
 
Re: 1/4 Cali AMPS: 314 (Food Question)

Keep in mind, too, that while her numbers are high, she may be a little hungrier. I would stick to her required calories, though. As her numbers come down, she should settle in to eating her pre-FD amounts.
 
Re: 1/4 Cali PMPS: 294

Cali's number this evening is nice! She was a little higher at 10.5 and starving, so I fed her then shot her. That could have something to do with the numbers, but I'll take it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top