1/31 Zarley AMPS-441, +3-326, +6-260, +9-265, +12-325

Status
Not open for further replies.
, (1/30 Zarley AMPS-380, +3-220, +6-315 +9 410) - First day on Lantus. .5 (I was too afraid to shoot 1u)

Today is the second day.

I know the increase normally should be .25 at a time, but in hindsight, I sh265, +12-395ould've started him on 1u the first day. I asked for advice on this yesterday but everyone was busy (not a complaint - just an explanation in case anyone asks why I didn't ask for help first).

He had breakfast (1/3 can of wet) after the shot. Right now (+3), he's acting like he's starving. But he's been doing that for the past month (ever since his numbers went too high).
 
Re: 1/31 Zarley AMPS-441, +3-302

Tracy, your link from yesterday:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=4565

Just remember each dose needs time to build up....filling the "shed"... rushing each dose won't speed things up and u would be missing the chance to see how each dose is working on Zarley...and also Lantus likes consistency.

You did a good job getting those checks in yesterday, but it really is too early to tell. I'm hoping others can help to ease your concerns at this early stage.

Kitties need as much food as they want in the early stages, u will see this decline plus many other positive physical changes.
Patience is something we all learned and some still working on it.
Zarley and u will get the hang of it, you'll see!
 
Re: 1/31 Zarley AMPS-441, +3-302

looks good. Now you'll want to hold this dose for at least 3-5 days, unless Zarley goes too low on it.

He's getting some big early drops, I know it's too late for this cycle but can you get a +3, +4, and +5 on a cycle soon so we can see where Zarley is nadiring?
 
Re: 1/31 Zarley AMPS-441, +3-326, +6-260

Thanks, guys.

BTW, the +3 was 326 not 306. Typo.

He had few bites of food throughout the day but still I'm stunned at the consistency of numbers at +6, +7, +9.
 
It's been 12 hours and his numbers are back up so I'm thinking nadir long past.

I've heard people talk about overlap though.

Is it safe to give him his next dose? Thanks.
 
BUMP

BG 325 is ur PMPS number then (the +12)

good spotchecks today Tracy - will u be around to grab the usual for this evening? +3 and a before bedtime check?
 
It's absolutely safe to give a shot.

Overlap means that there is a "steady state" of insulin between doses. The overlap is one of the benefits of using a long-acting insulin like Lantus. With the shorter acting insulins, there is a period in the later part of the 12-hour cycle where there's no insulin. As a result, there are sharp drops and steep rises within each cycle. Lantus is much gentler in this regard.
 
Tracy0504 said:
It's been 12 hours and his numbers are back up so I'm thinking nadir long past.

I've heard people talk about overlap though.

Is it safe to give him his next dose? Thanks.

Yes, looks good. And as Ronnie mentioned it would be best to get some spot checks tonight. Ok?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top