? 1/31 - Xander | AMPS 219 - Question about Budesonide

Brianna & Xander

Member Since 2024
Previous post: 1/28/26

Still having good days and bad days. Yesterday he ate well and seemed to feel okay. Today he seems to feel terrible and isn't really interested in food, despite the ondansetron/pepcid/mirataz cocktail. The specialist said that ~2 weeks was still too early to see full results from the Budesonide... We're 3 weeks and a day now. Does anyone with experience know about how long it should take to see whether or not the Budesonide is making a significant difference?

I know that strictness with the novel protein is ideal, but unfortunately there is no way I could give him injections without the Churus, and there are no rabbit-exclusive Churus. I've done away with the chicken, which seemed to be his main no-no, but he is still getting some seafood and I don't see a way around that. As has been the case with our entire FD journey, what is ideal is usually not feasible with Xander. I just have to try to balance everything the best I can.

In good news, I haven't seen him do that gagging thing once since I started giving him Pepcid the other day. He did cough once without the gag, which I find worrisome, but it was just the once. I've been keeping track of his RR, which is usually about 20.

He has been sneezing some, but I haven't noticed the discharge from his eyes or nose changing colors to imply an infection.

I've been considering another small increase, but he keeps seeming like he may break through these highs. I'll probably give one tomorrow morning. I'm mostly giving half-increases at a time now; it may take longer to see a good result, but it does seem to prevent him from going back to that endless loop of diving and bouncing.

Hope everyone is having a nice Saturday with safe surfs! 💜

signal-2026-01-30-135859_002.jpeg


My Mom made Xander some new, super soft and cozy blankets for all of his favorite places! This is his desk blanket. 🥹 They've been sitting in a closet waiting to be used, because obviously I didn't want them to get ruined with the GI problems he had been having... It's been awhile since any accidents, so I've started pulling them out. (Admittedly, I realized that I didn't know how much longer he had to use them regardless of his GI problems. I'm really hoping I was wrong. 😞)
 
Gosh he's cute. I'm sorry to hear he's not feeling great today ... I hope for improvement ASAP. ❤️ And that you get some quick and helpful feedback about the budesonide!

Hopefully the seafood Churus won't cause him too much discomfort. (I did notice, when I was looking at the ingredients in Koha canned food, that they all include green mussels ... so I guess he's getting seafood anyway? I was wondering about that part.)
 
Gosh he's cute. I'm sorry to hear he's not feeling great today ... I hope for improvement ASAP. ❤️ And that you get some quick and helpful feedback about the budesonide!

Thanks, Allie! 🖤🖤🖤 I hope so. He seems worse than usual today. It's such a roller coaster when one day I'm literally thinking "Are you... dying?" and the next he acts as if he's completely normal. Nevermind diabetes or IBD, he almost seems like he's not even 12. Just a happy, healthy dude. It gives me whiplash.

Hopefully the seafood Churus won't cause him too much discomfort. (I did notice, when I was looking at the ingredients in Koha canned food, that they all include green mussels ... so I guess he's getting seafood anyway? I was wondering about that part.)

Ah, yeah. I hadn't noticed, but I'm not surprised. I know that I've seen lots of mentions of intolerance to those too. Argh. It's frustrating, because really, how many options are there that avoid all the things while also being FD-friendly? 😓
 
I'm sorry today isn't a 'feel-good' day for Xander. I hope tomorrow is better. I love that grandma is taking care of him. He's loved!!
 
Budesonide worked quickly with Neko, though it was kind of hard to tell. She got her SCL and heart disease diagnoses days apart. She started budesonide and 3 days later started - deep breath - Plavix, Vetmedin, Leukeran, and ondansetron all at once. Her ultrasound and echo one month later showed bowel thickness had reduced by a third, and her heart was much better too - which surprised the vets. That's rather a quick time period for the Leukeran (chlorambucil) to start working so I suspect the budesonide was what did it. Her IM vet reduced her budesonide dose at this time.

Neko also started with 1 mg budesonide. She was feeling better within two weeks of starting budesonide, though Leukeran caused periodic nausea. She was on Cerenia and ondsetron for post chemo nausea.

Have you every tried him with all meat babyfood? Can't remember which one (and it's not in Canada) that makes them with ham or turkey. Some cats go nuts for them. I have yet to find a Churu or equivalent treat without fish or chicken. :banghead:. Looking back at my notes, on of the other local FDMB members had made Neko was my notes call "Mariko's magic chicken". She basically cooked chicken in broth, added a premix and blended it to a puree. Neko loved it, and it was a complete meal.
 
Back
Top