1/31 Thumper PMPS/258 After a vet visit & 30 mins late!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barbara

Member Since 2011
yesterday's condo

I can only hope for no more bouncing! We are headed to the vet this evening so that will probably throw her off. She's fine but it was a new vet that prescribed Lantus & she wanted to see her again. Civvie Callie is going also so we've got a major field trip, 2 cats & the vet is 45 mins away...if we don't get caught in traffic!
 
Re: 1/31 Thumper AMPS/266 +4/146 +6/71

Hi guys .. well with numbers like these I am sure the vet will be happy! That 71 looks puuurfect .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 1/31 Thumper AMPS/266 +4/146 +6/71

I hope the vetty gets to witness these nice numbers. But after a 45 minute car trip, she'll probably have to take your word for it.
 
Re: 1/31 Thumper HELP LATE DOSE QUESTION

PMPS is 258 20 mins late which is GREAT for just coming from the vet but shot time is going to be 30 mins late. Do I shoot my normal dose?
 
Re: 1/31 Thumper HELP LATE DOSE QUESTION

Yes -- regular dose. You can get back on track by shooting 15 min. earlier at AM and PM shot times tomorrow.
 
Re: 1/31 Thumper HELP LATE DOSE QUESTION

There are some great stickies to read and print out for help in such situations. I am not an expert but you should be fine to shoot the normal dose within 30 minutes. If you are much later then you will need to adjust your shot time tomorrow. If you want to catch attention, you can put the ? Icon in your subject line. I will bump you up for more experienced eyes.
 
Re: 1/31 Thumper HELP LATE DOSE QUESTION

Thanks, I didn't want to keep waiting so I fattened it up a little. I will keep an eye on her. I was looking through the stickies but didn't see anything other than what I already knew, late shot is a dose decrease, which is why I gave a tiny bit more.

Linda for Weezer said:
I hope the vetty gets to witness these nice numbers. But after a 45 minute car trip, she'll probably have to take your word for it.

She didn't even test her. She said she didn't want to charge me since I am perfectly capable of checking her myself! :mrgreen: AND she said she knew it wouldn't be accurate!

She wanted to wait a while longer to see if I can get her regulated before doing a dental. They need to be done but she said it's not awful & not enough to be causing any issues with her BG. She did say I could go ahead with the B12 since my civvie has had such good results with the limping, and also since Thumper has had pancreatitis. She did want me to start back with the fluids on a more regular basis. I just hate doing it but it's only a couple times a week.

Civvie Callie got a good report also & the bill was only 153.00!! I was dreading going since it's such a drive but she's much better than the last vet. I hate it being so far away in case of an emergency BUT they also do emergency care after 7:00pm & all weekend so that's a plus if they do have to stay.
 
Barbara:

For future reference, remember that Lantus dose isn't based on the pre-shot number or what time you shoot. The dose is based on nadir. There's no way to really figure out if you shoot early/late by however many minutes, then you reduce the dose by some amount. Shifting around the dose only results in messing with the shed. Lantus likes consistency!
 
I'm glad you found a good vet, and having the 24 hour emergency care is a definite plus.

I wouldn't have increased the dose (even slightly) tonight, because won't you want to shoot a little early tomorrow, to get back on schedule? The increased dose will be in the shed, and you will be shooting earlier which is also equal to an increase. I would have just shot the regular dose tonight, and then shot 15 minutes earlier tomorrow morning and tomorrow night. I'm sure all will be fine. Just for future reference.

Nice greens, today :mrgreen: glad the vet visit went well.
 
Thanks ladies! It's just hard to teach an old dog new tricks! Yes, I will need to shoot 15 mins early tomorrow so I hope she's not low since I have to leave at +12, and don't you know DH has an appt tomorrow & won't be home till probably +3 or later!

Go figure, she starts getting some decent numbers & I've got all these schedule problems this week!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top