1/31 Ruby AMPS 95-change dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.

lexiruby

Member Since 2010
Hello to all of my friends in Lantus land,
I am still a newbie with this site, but I gotta tell ya, I would probably be thinking about putting my Ruby down if I haven't found this site!
Ruby is now doing Wonderful! So good in fact that I am wondering if anyone out there has taken there kitties off of lantus?
My Ruby has had her bg between 51 to 120's for about 8 days now, on .25 of lantus 2x's a day. Is her bg good enough to attempt to take her
off of Lantus? Should I just keep going with what I am doing? I am looking for some advise as I am afraid to take her off of Lantus completely.
Thanks for your help.
Jen and Ruby
 
Re: 1/31 Ruby AMPS 95-good bg#'s for days?

Hi and welcome to LL! I know i'm a little late in that, but this is the first time I've been to your condo.

Yes many kitties do go into remission w/ Lantus (we call it OTJ, off the juice) but not from .25 u. You are close to getting into real microdosing. There could be 2 or 3 steps down for Ruby yet. Usually we try to have them on just 1 drop before trying OTJ.

I'd put "DOSE ??" in your subject line for some attention, You may be close to a reduction:
Reducing the dose...
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
 
Thank you, I will change the subject line!
Interesting, I wasn't aware that I should just keep reducing the dose!
 
What beautiful numbers!! We try to keep a kitty on insulin, even a drop, for as long as possible. This give the pancreas support and allows it the best chance to heal before you stop providing that support. If you can, you may want to try to post more regularly since you are getting so close to an OTJ trial.
 
Yes kitties go OTJ and we party when they do. I'm so glad you found the board. I wonder how many owners think about euthanasia. Vets are in the dark ages when it comes to diabetes it seems. Ruby is doing so awesome!!!!!!

Maverick is also trying out .10. We may have to put him back up to give his pancreas a bit more time to adjust.

Good luck with the dose reduction *clapping*.
 
Thank you all for your help, I am learning so much!
Ruby was diagnosed the first week in Aug 2010, almost 6 months now!
I can't believe how much better she is. I am so happy for her, she is dealing with it just wonderful!
We have 3 kitties and Ruby is the "lap cat" of the house. She sleeps on my lap and follows me
all over, I would be so upset if I lost her. This is why I have done all of my research to find
options on my own, because the vet never said a word. Don't get me wrong, I love all of my cats,
but Ruby is mama's girl:)
Anyway, I will reduce the dose just a bit and see what happens. I will try to post more.
Thanks again to everyone. It is so wonderful to have support:)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top