1/31 Rocket AM BG 99=NS/PM BG 115=NS/? re ultrasound

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rocket & his Mom

Member Since 2010
Hi all,
sorry for the late opening of the condo...

AM BG 99

here is yesterday viewtopic.php?f=9&t=35623

it was short lived him staying in the bedroom...but it was better than nothing at all...he was somewhat restless last night...ate very little and stayed in the spare room for the whole night...

today so far he has eaten ok...and finally is out in the dinning room...

i was out at the hand surgeon...good news...i don't have to have surgery just yet...the just yet...i'll take....i need to get a custom made splint to wear all the time....so i'm happy with that...as it really worried me the not being able to test/care for Rocket as it is my right hand (thumb)....took longer than expected the apt as i had xrays done, etc etc etc....

so got home and +8 he ate a good serving of food...didn't touch what i left him while i was away....

one thing i've noticed with Rocket is there seems to be a constant drooling and lip smacking...he is on pepcid 1/4 pill bid and zofran 1 mg bid....i can't give cerenia as it doesn't quite go with the phenobarbital....i've asked the vet but so far i have not had any replies....

thank you all for thinking of us...much appreciated....
 
Re: 1/31 Rocket AM BG 99=NS

hello, you two!

sending hugs your way!

images
 
Re: 1/31 Rocket AM BG 99=NS

Hi Claudia,
Good news on your thumb, and not such a bad report for Rocket, either!

Have a good evening, and I hope that Rocket will continue to eat pretty well.

Hugs,
Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/31 Rocket AM BG 99=NS

I'm glad you don't have to have surgery and I hope the "not yet" means a really long time. I'm also glad Rocket ate a little and is spending more time out of the tub. I am continuing to send prayers your way.
 
Re: 1/31 Rocket AM BG 99=NS

I wish I knew the answer to drooling and lipsmacking. Nausea is the only thing that comes to mind (or a tooth problem). How do they rule out painful teeth in cats? Maverick hasn't had a dental before.

I'm so glad you don't have to have surgery right away. Hope the splint helps you a bit.

Rockets BG is amazing. I'd say he's OTJ a second time ;)
 
Re: 1/31 Rocket AM BG 99=NS

Karrie and Maverick said:
I wish I knew the answer to drooling and lipsmacking. Nausea is the only thing that comes to mind (or a tooth problem). How do they rule out painful teeth in cats? Maverick hasn't had a dental before.

I'm so glad you don't have to have surgery right away. Hope the splint helps you a bit.

Rockets BG is amazing. I'd say he's OTJ a second time ;)
i wish it was the case....on the otj

i tried experimenting with some food this afternoon....gave him a lil bit of the Hills M/D and the Proplan....and i guess this could mean his PM BG 115

but then again hard to tell....

my gut tells me something is not right...so whatever it is i hope i get the answers this Wednesday....

being on both meds pepcid and zofran one would think it would take care of the drooling and lip smacking....about 1 hr after +8 that i fed him i found him sitting inside the litter box....so i know something is not right....

can't wait until Wednesday
 
as you all know Rocket will be getting his abdominal ultrasound this Wednesday

i know his belly will be shaven....over 2 yrs ago it was summer time when he had it done...and it was really hot....so i didn't worry about the belly being on the floor all shaven

should i go tomorrow and buy him baby shirts to put on him?

what would you guys suggest i do? i worry cause we have NO carpet here...we have hardwood and tile and the floor is colder than normal cause the repairs in our building are not yet done (don't get me started with insurance companies)....though we have the heat at the max and i have 2 heaters i do worry about his belly being cold...

suggestions are more than welcomed!
 
I think Latte had her U/S done in the winter....or early spring. They shaved her belly, too. I didnt even think of a shirt or anything like that. She seemed fine with it. Suppose it wouldnt hurt to have one on hand, just in case. Will just have to decide based on what you think Rocket would want.

Is Rocket difficult at the vet for exams, xrays and such? Im just wondering why they are putting him under for it?
 
Have you ever used metaclopramide (Reglan) with Rocket? What you're describing - the lip smacking and drooling, and possibly the repetitive grooming sound like tardive dyskinesia. It's associated with antipsychotic drugs in humans but also with Reglan and with certain other dopamine receptor blocker drugs. (Cerenia is not a dopamine blocker.) It would be a very far reach for this to be a possibility.
 
carolynandlatte said:
I think Latte had her U/S done in the winter....or early spring. They shaved her belly, too. I didnt even think of a shirt or anything like that. She seemed fine with it. Suppose it wouldnt hurt to have one on hand, just in case. Will just have to decide based on what you think Rocket would want.

Is Rocket difficult at the vet for exams, xrays and such? Im just wondering why they are putting him under for it?
he is extremely difficult to handle at the vet...as far as i know he will be sedated and they will put a catheter and won't let me be present while they do the ultrasound...the latter really bothers me the most...as last time i was there...but this IM vet won't let me...i had a chat with her on Saturday...she said they do better while the owner is not present..and i asked her if he was going to be sedated he wouldn't know any different...then she said it was protocol...which i think she just made up....so i can't go against her....

we will be there from 11-3....as 11 am is the apt with the neurologist then 1 pm is the ultrasound...then 2 pm the im vet....and he never eats while at the vet...doesn't matter how prepped i am with treats (even carb treats)....he won't touch food at all at 2 pm....so will be a long day and i'm stressing over it...i know i need answers but i hope everything goes well with him....
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
Have you ever used metaclopramide (Reglan) with Rocket? What you're describing - the lip smacking and drooling, and possibly the repetitive grooming sound like tardive dyskinesia. It's associated with antipsychotic drugs in humans but also with Reglan and with certain other dopamine receptor blocker drugs. (Cerenia is not a dopamine blocker.) It would be a very far reach for this to be a possibility.
have never used Reglan at all....
the only meds/supplements are phenobarbital, pepcid, zofran,subq fluids, denosyl and cosequin and of course the aluminum hydroxide and some miralax....
 
Cheryl & Whiskers said:
Hi,

Thinking of you. We will keep you in our thoughts tomorrow, and keep fingers and paws firmly crossed. cat_pet_icon .
thanks Cheryl...but the ultrasound is on Wednesday.....it seems like an eternity though....
 
It is standard procedure to not allow owners in the back, no matter the clinic no matter the client...I've heard of a very few exceptions but they are very rare. Don't take it personally, and allow them to do their work

Hope things go well tomorrow

Jen
 
Holding you in my thoughts and prayers through tomorrow (and beyond, of course). I hope it all goes smoothly. And so glad you don't need surgery! Last thing you needed now. That's a good sign!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top