1/31 Ripley PMPS 216, +3.5 115

Status
Not open for further replies.

Josie & Ripley (GA)

Member Since 2012
Yesterday

Good morning!!
I have a question about Ripley's dose: she was, until recently, primarily in the greens w/some blues. Then she got constipated, had/has? a UTI, started A/B a week ago (Clavamox) & has 3 more wks to go... I know that there are factors that can contribute to higher numbers (discomfort, pain, stress, infection, etc.).
Questions: Should I wait until she is done with her A/B before increasing her Lantus dose? Does the A/B contribute to higher #s?

Health update:
Still no poo (last poo was Monday night after enema), but vet said she's no longer constipated.
Seems happy, hungry, and drinking water (but not too much).

Sending vines to all kitties and beans who need them!!

~Josie
 
Re: 1/31 Ripley AMPS 227, dose/#s question

Hi guys .. I don't want to say for certain what to do here, but I am pretty sure that AB's can raise numbers up in cats, not every cat, but in some .. I think normally people are told to wait till AB's are done before increasing insulin, but just wait till others with more experience can chime in here, I don't want to steer you wrong! have a great day guys!
 
Re: 1/31 Ripley AMPS 227, dose/#s question

Morning Josie ~O)

Simon was on AB Clinacin for 2 weeks after his dental. I upped his dose twice to get him back to some greens during that time.
Whether it was the ABs, dental effect or both I don't know :oops: but now that ABS are done, we're trying to move back down the scale.

Have a great day!
 
Re: 1/31 Ripley AMPS 227, dose/#s question

Josie --

Is the Clavamox a pill or liquid? Many of the liquid ABs are in a sugar syrup to mask the bitter taste. If it's a liquid, I would see if you can find out what the ingredients are. Obviously, if the base is syrup, numbers will be higher.

Are the culture results back on the urinalysis?

If numbers aren't coming down, I'd increase the insulin provided the AB isn't in syrup. If it is, you can see about either a pill or getting it compounded in a non-syrup base.
 
1/31 Ripley AMPS 227, dose quest.

Thank you for the responses!

Sienne: The Clavamox is liquid. I'll check the ingred. after work today. It's pretty sticky. I'll contact my vet today; I just bought about 3wks worth of the Clavamox (the culture showed a strong UTI w/ecoli); I have about a bottle of the liquid, plus a bottle w/just the powder to be mixed w/water. Hopefully he'll take back one or both.

:?: If I'm not able to exchange for unsweetened AB, is there much harm done with the (hopefully) temporary higher numbers?

Thank you!!!!!!
 
Re: 1/31 Ripley AMPS 227, dose quest.

I would go ahead and increase her dose to pull the numbers back down. Just be prepared to need to reduce it again once the infection starts to clear.

She is mostly under renal threshhold, so there is probably not a lot of risk with these high numbers. One exception might be ketones - definitely check for ketones daily, because insufficient insulin and infection can contribute to development of ketones. Another possible drawback is that she could develop some glucose toxicity if she sits in higher numbers for long, making her need more insulin in order to pull the numbers back down later on.
 
1/31 Ripley AMPS 227, PMPS 216

Dose increased to 0.75u tonight.

Having a hard time finding the exact ingredients in Clavamox, but I assume it does contain sweets.
Not sure yet if I can trade my liquid AB in for pills, vet's thinking about it.

Not much to report today.
Tests: nope
Poo: nope
Sun Time: Yes! (She caught the last few mins. of rays in the backyard -- she kept moving with the sun until she was up against the fence -- literally leaning on the fence, as if her life depended on it. It was so cute and funny!)

Also, I found out this morning she likes oregano. Good to know in case I ever need to use it as an eating tool.
I've always joked that my kitties are part Italian, like me. Ripley's sister, Lucy (GA) always got into bags of dried pasta and she loved all things tomato.

Off the topic: I found out today that I have tennis elbow. A friend said that it's due to Ripley's diabetes, from pushing on that plunger twice a day. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

ETA: Just tasted the Clavamox. Tastes like BUBBLE GUM. Really?!?! :roll:
 
Re: 1/31 Ripley AMPS 227, PMPS 216

Sunny Yellow day will turn blue & maybe green tomorrow! Not to worry...
Moonie Hates any liquid put down her throat--and she needs lots!
Yeah!! Dont cats love bubble gum flavor?? Just do your best & Ripley is really doing just fine :mrgreen:
Hugs & Love from us!
 
Re: 1/31 Ripley AMPS 227, PMPS 216

There should be no reason why they wouldn't take the powder ones back that haven't been mixed yet. Probably not the liquid that you are currently using. Once it's mixed with water, it's only good for about 10 days.
 
Re: 1/31 Ripley AMPS 227, PMPS 216

My speculation is that the clavamox has some kind of sweetener. I know most vets won't take it back. You might have to save it for the other cats, if they ever need it, and just get some pills.

Hope things improve even more.
 
Thanks for the visits, Roni, Anne, and Marje!

If I need to use the liq. for the 3-wks-duration, I'm not too worried. It's temporary.
And her numbers are dipping into the blues (and a little green).
I'm sure things will return to normal (anti-jinx) once she's off the Clavamox.

I wish everyone in LL sweet dreams tonight!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top