1/31 Maverick PMPS 94 (barely LOL) OTJ trial here we come!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Karrie and Maverick

Member Since 2010
Yesterday http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=35649

He's got green preshots but his nadir seems higher or I'm totally missing it. I'm home all day so I'll do my best to catch when he is eating and how much. He was eating well the hour before AMPS plus immediately before.

He let me sleep this morning but I had a really restless sleep last night. Like there was something nagging at my mind and I have no idea what. ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 1/31 Maverick AMPS 80

I know what you mean about missing the nadir. So far I can't figure out where Chaos's is, either. Your AMPS is great, though, and yesterday was good too! I hope Maverick has a nice surf and eats for you when he wants to.

I know what you mean about something nagging at the back of your mind. Hopefully you figure it out soon, or it turns out to be nothing.
 
Re: 1/31 Maverick AMPS 80

whatever the nadir, the amps looks fabulous.
Hope whatever your sub conscience is trying to tell you makes itself clear soon and you work it out. Those restless sleeps are awful
 
Re: 1/31 Maverick AMPS 80

Awesome AMPS!! I can't tell Gracie's nadir either...it moves around or it's disguised by us having to manage her curve. If you think you are getting higher nadirs then PSs, you should ask one of the experts if he's getting an inverted curve. I don't know how to recognize it but they do.

Hope you are doing well today, Karrie. Hugs to you both!
 
Re: 1/31 Maverick AMPS 80

Maverick sure looks good in green today. I'm confused about Simon's nadir also. Sometimes he is very low at +6 and other times he tests much higher than at other times of the day. This whole thing keeps us on our toes! You are doing an incredible job with Maverick.
 
Re: 1/31 Maverick AMPS 80 - dose increase time?

I'm sorry I've got so many holes in my data. The last few days he seems to be going up and then down for preshots.

Just tested at +6 at 122 and I'm betting he'll be back down for preshot. WHo knows though. He had a decent appetite this morning. I've tried to note in the comments section when and how much he ate.

I'll try and get tests done every two hours until PMPS. Should I go back up to .25?
 
Re: 1/31 Maverick AMPS 80 - dose increase time?

Hi Karrie, It's confusing to me, too. Maggie seems to peak at +4 or 5, but many times I'm not home to catch it. I think more peope with experience are on later. What time is your next shot? His numbers look good to me, but you know your cat and how you think he should be doing so far.
 
Re: 1/31 Maverick AMPS 80 - dose increase time?

I have never had to do a dose increase other than making a dose fat. No idea if I should continue status quo or not. Insulin cartridge I believe was opened Dec 30th and still have half left. I have three more cartridges in the fridge too if I need to go with a new one.

I don't give the shot until 9pm, 4.5 hours from now. I'll get two more tests in that time also.

Thanks :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/31 Maverick AMPS 80 - dose increase time?

SOmething happened this morning on the way to the mailbox HAHA.

So Maverick waits at the door every single morning while my dog Nike and I go to the end of the laneway to get the paper. Always stops what ever he is doing to do this also. So lately I've been bringing him out with us. I carry him like a baby with him on his back in my arms. He's a BIG cat too. Not sure what a furry 15lb baby would be like. Well I didn't think of people actually seeing me do this. Never anyone around.

Today I'm at the end of the laneway with Maverick in my arms (looking around and sniffing the cold air) and a car stops at the stop sign. almost right next to our driveway. I sure bet they were thinking I had lost my mind. I was embarrassed. DH said who cares, if he enjoys it, keep it up.
 
Re: 1/31 Maverick AMPS 80 - dose increase time?

Hi Karrie, this will give you a bump up! How cute that Maverick lets you carry him like a baby! My GA Siamese used to love being carried the same way. Maybe that person never saw a cat being carried that way! I like your DH's response. Hope you soon get an answer about the dose.
 
Re: 1/31 Maverick AMPS 80 - dose increase time?

Hey, Karrie! Hope you get the answers to the puzzle of Mav's cycle soon! No idea on the dose, but thought I'd give you a bump and a good evening! :)
 
Re: 1/31 Maverick AMPS 80 - dose increase time?

I think the carry is great! Too cute on the looking around and sniffing. I wish mine would do that - too fun.

I too can't answer the dose question, but this will bump you up. The amps are great - gorgeous shade of green!
 
Re: 1/31 Maverick AMPS 80 - dose increase time?

Hi, Karrie and Maverick :-D
Maverick is looking sooooooo good & I am soooooo jealous that you get to stay home to supervise.. I hate having to leave Baby, it makes me nailbite_smile
I dont know about the dosecrease... but I DO know to keep carrying him to the mailbox, it is super cute & he enjoys it :-D
I hope you all are having a great day/evening!
 
Re: 1/31 Maverick AMPS 80 - dose increase time?

actually..... I've been talking about Maverick with Jill and Sienne. Instead of an increase, what would you think about doing an OTJ trial? :mrgreen:

Maverick's spreadsheet looks like he is starting to show inverted curves (where the curve pretty clearly goes up in the middle of the cycle and then back down). Sometimes with cats on very tiny doses, inverted curves can mean they are getting too much insulin. We think it is time to take the training wheels off and see if Maverick can do this on his own.

Here's what you do:

Test at your normal AMPS and PMPS times. Feed multiple small meals throughout the day as much as possible (small meals are less likely to overwhelm a newly functioning pancreas).

If he is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time, just feed small meals and go about your day. If he is blue, feed a small meal and test again after about 3 hours. If his number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then his pancreas is working!

Post every day so we can monitor your progress and see if any tweaks are needed. It is not unusual for cats to get lots of blue during their trial, especially at first. Don't panic and don't shoot unless we tell you to.

After 14 days of no insulin, we have a party!

Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens, we just give him the support he needs. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.

Good luck!
 
Re: 1/31 Maverick AMPS 80 - dose increase time?

OMG my heart is panicking just reading this let alone trying it! :o :o :o :o Seriously I have butterflies. I was kind of sad I was going to have to tell him more juice tonight but never thought you'd ever recommend an OTJ trial. Holy moly. For real?

So no shot tonight or I post what his PM reading is and we decide tonight?

I think we will keep up our walks to the paper box too. My nosy neighbor will let me know when people start talking that I've gone mad.
 
Re: 1/31 Maverick AMPS 80 - dose increase time?

how about starting a trial on the next green preshot? That will give him a nice starting point. For real. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/31 Maverick AMPS 80 - dose increase time?

Wow! I guess you weren't expecting that answer, Karrie! I was kind of wondering why you would increase with such beautiful preshots, but what do I know? I can't wait to see how your trial goes. Way to go, Karrie!
 
Re: 1/31 Maverick AMPS 80 - dose increase time?

Honestly I'm so nervous. The insulin is like a security blanket almost. Like riding a bike without training wheels nailbite_smile 1/2 hour to find out what colour he will be :mrgreen:

You guys are all the best. I can't imagine what these last four months would have been like if you guys weren't there. Scary to think.
 
Re: 1/31 Maverick AMPS 80 - nervous anticipation

Jill still teases me because she and Jojo didn't think I would ever stop shooting Lucy. I was too scared. So I understand! You know how to control the numbers with insulin. Without the insulin, it's all up to him. He can do it, though. :smile:
 
Re: 1/31 Maverick AMPS 80 - nervous anticipation

Karrie, this is really exciting! We'll be following Maverick's new journey closely and rooting for you and him.

Try to get some sleep tonight!!!!!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/31 Maverick AMPS 80 - nervous anticipation

Lots of tempered optimism here!!! Don't want to get too excited and jinx you! You've been doing so great, Karrie! All fingers and paws crossed for success on your first trial run! :)
 
Re: 1/31 Maverick AMPS 80 - nervous anticipation

(((Karrie))) WoW Karrie and Maverick!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/31 Maverick AMPS 80 - nervous anticipation

Only just read this now - I hope you are breathing again by now! Please allow me to wish you calmness and serenity as you take this next step of your FD journey. You can do this !! (and you have all the LLers behind you!) Good luck - and scritches to Maverick!!!!
 
Re: 1/31 Maverick AMPS 80 - nervous anticipation

SWEET!!!

And carrying Mav to the mailbox can't look as crazy as Smudge chasing me in the snow (in only boxer shorts and a tank top, barefoot)...chasing binks who was chasing Annie.

never gonna live that down in the hood.

I'm so excited for you and mav!
 
Re: 1/31 Maverick AMPS 80 - nervous anticipation

How exciting!!! He can do this....you are both ready!!! This is great news for LL today!! Congratulations!
 
Re: 1/31 Maverick AMPS 80 - nervous anticipation

YAY!!!! A TRIAL!!! How exciting is this! I am so happy for you. :-D :-D :-D :-D

Congrat - what a happy day. Maverick - you can do this! You are ready.

Mannie is so excited that he has already begun to plan your party menu....
 
Re: 1/31 Maverick AMPS 80 - nervous anticipation

And carrying Mav to the mailbox can't look as crazy as Smudge chasing me in the snow (in only boxer shorts and a tank top, barefoot)...chasing binks who was chasing Annie.
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

I am so nervous. Just barely green.

Thank you for the wellwishes and calm vibes. I think you guys all know how much your support and daily visits mean. Its kept my feet on the ground. Who would have thought I'd be managing FD without a vet ohmygod_smile You guys are the best. What an awesome group of people.

I see what you mean about Maverick being in control, I'm giving up control. Makes a lot of sense!
 
Re: 1/31 Maverick PMPS 94 (barely LOL) OTJ trial here we com

What exciting news!!! Try to stay calm although I know I would be a nervous wreck, too. Good luck and I can't wait to see how Maverick does every day. Go, Maverick, Go!!
 
Re: 1/31 Maverick PMPS 94 (barely LOL) OTJ trial here we com

Oh how exciting! I know Maverick can do it. I bet he gets a nice green tomorrow morning. We will all be cheering you on and then a big party, and we all love parties!
 
Re: 1/31 Maverick PMPS 94 (barely LOL) OTJ trial here we com

Congratulations :-D I've been in your shoes & know exactly how you feel! As others told me "Stop & step away from the syringe”:lol: soooo happy for you both!
 
Re: 1/31 Maverick PMPS 94 (barely LOL) OTJ trial here we com

Congratulations :-D I've been in your shoes & know exactly how you feel! As others told me "Stop & step away from the syringe” :lol: soooo happy for you both!
 
Re: 1/31 Maverick PMPS 94 (barely LOL) OTJ trial here we com

i'm happy for you guys...i know you are nervous but as you said it's time to give up the control and let him have control....
will keep my fingers crossed for you two!!!
 
Re: 1/31 Maverick PMPS 94 (barely LOL) OTJ trial here we com

dancing_cat Wow... Congratulations... How exciting!!! Stop & step away from the syringe!!! :-D
 
Re: 1/31 Maverick PMPS 94 (barely LOL) OTJ trial here we com

(((Karrie)))

I know what you mean about being nervous and breathless and excited and anxious all at the same time and I totally relate to the security blanket comment you made. I felt exactly the same way.

Maverick - Good luck Kitty-boy! Show'em what you're made of.
 
Re: 1/31 Maverick PMPS 94 (barely LOL) OTJ trial here we com

This is so exciing! C'mon Maverick, show us how it's done! :razz: Great, great job getting him to this point, Karrie!
 
Re: 1/31 Maverick PMPS 94 (barely LOL) OTJ trial here we com

Hi Karrie and Maverick,

OTJ!!!!! That is sooooo exciting dancing_cat flip_cat :YMHUG: . I so glad for you guys. We wanted to stop by you condo and say hi, and then saw the wonderful news. Let us know when the party will be :-D .

The vet told us since Miss Witty has been a diabetic on insulin for 3 or 4 years, she will probably always be on insulin. Oh well I'm happy if she is healthy and we can live vicariously thru you guys!
 
Re: 1/31 Maverick PMPS 94 (barely LOL) OTJ trial here we com

Go Maverick!!!!!

I'm so excited for ya Karrie. Paws crossed for you my dear.
 
Re: 1/31 Maverick PMPS 94 (barely LOL) OTJ trial here we com

Wow....congratulations!!!!

C'mon Maverick u'z can do this! I be watchin' u to see how it be done! ~~Attie
 
Re: 1/31 Maverick PMPS 94 (barely LOL) OTJ trial here we com

Wow! (((Karrie!))) this is exciting! Go Maverick!! I will send you serenity vines, for sure. C'mon, Maverick, you can do this!
 
Re: 1/31 Maverick PMPS 94 (barely LOL) OTJ trial here we com

WHOOOOOO HOOOOOOO LOOK AT MAVERICK GO!!! PAWS & FINGERS CROSSED FOR OTJ TRIAL party_cat party_cat party_cat
WE ARE SOOOO HAPPY FOR YOU & MAVERICK!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top