1/31 Lucian AMPS 560, PMPS/399,pm+2.75/333

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 1/31 Lucian AMPS 560 OMG Missed PM Shot!

I can't believe it! I fixed his shot and didn't give it to him! I just found it on the table, where I put it last night. ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile

I always test him, fix his food and while he eats, I prepare his shot, which gives it a chance to warm up a couple minutes, then as soon as he's finished eating, he gets the shot.

Last night, I guess I was so excited over his numbers, I completely forgot to give it to him! ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile

Kinda starting over now huh? :sad: No way of knowing WHY his number was this high amps, but how could it not be, with no shot last night?

Since I was expecting a bounce, that pm+3 didn't shock me. ohmygod_smile

I cannot believe I did that to my boy! ohmygod_smile dammm!
 
Re: 1/31 Lucian AMPS 560 OMG Missed PM Shot!

Morning Deb & Lucian

Don't be too hard on yourself...feces occurs. Well at least look at it this way, his shed got to drain a little faster. :-D

You aren't the first one here that has forgotten to give a shot or given a fur shot, it happens to the best of us. I remember when Musette was still alive, she had been like Lucian a very bouncy kitty and one morning she gave me a beautiful preshot number and I got so excited about it that before I shot I ran in to the computer to tell everyone, then throughout the day her numbers kept going up and up and I had no idea why until I heard one of the other cats playing with something on the kitchen counter. I go in there to see Musette's morning shot still loaded being batted around by Sophia. :roll: Well I had my answer to why her numbers weren't coming down..lol.

Live gets busy and stuff happens...missed shots, fur shots, stabbing yourself with the needles or lancets etc. I've even managed to give myself a shot once..it was in the very early days with Autumn when she was still just skin and bones, she was so thin that I couldn't really tent her skin to shoot so I was just lifting her scruff, plus I had to get long needles for her because Walmart had been out of the short needles I normally use, and you guessed it, went right through her and into my finger. :roll: Oh well I used it as excuse to go have some chocolate. :-D

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 1/31 Lucian AMPS 560 OMG Missed PM Shot!

Morning Mel,

I know that is exactly what happened! :shock: I was so excited, he had been doing so well on the lowered dose and I ran in here to the 'puter to let everyone know, because you all have been so helpful.

I saw it this morning, when I went for the new syringe. I always put the old ones in a 2 liter bottle, that sits on the table. Well, the 1st thing I thought, was that I had just neglected to put it in there, then I picked it up and looked at it and saw that it was filled. Then I knew. ohmygod_smile Hard to believe I was such an airhead!

Oh well. He got it this morning and I will make it a point to give the shot BEFORE I post. ;-)

I have a DR's appt this afternoon, so won't be here for his +6, so I'll test @+5 and after I get back.
 
Re: 1/31 Lucian AMPS 560 OMG Missed PM Shot!

Fingers crossed that he will come down nicely for you today.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 1/31 Lucian AMPS 560 No PM Shot Last Night.

I'm just aggravated with myself. :-x

I know how important consistency is with the shots, no matter the dose. I have, since day 1, made sure his shots were from 7:58-8:02 every time, without fail and then I completely forget it! :shock:

Like you said though, won't have to wait long for depot to empty. ;-)


Hope Autumn is well this morning and everyone's kitty are doing fine! cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 1/31 Lucian AMPS 560 No PM Shot Last Night.

Now no beating yourself up over it...it happens it happens to all of us, even those of us that have been giving shots for years. I've missed shots, I've given fur shots, I've had to give early and late shots because LIFE HAPPENS!

Granted we all want to be the perfect sugarcat moms but you know what we are just perfectly us. And all our furkids have much better lives with us, even with all our failings than they would have had without us. At least they are warm, well-fed and loved, and we didn't dump them somewhere to die when we found out they were just a little extra sweet. Nor are we shooting blind and hoping for the best, we are testing we are making sure they get what they need in meds and insulin, not just disposing of them because they are no longer convient that alone says a lot about us and our love for our furry kids.

Again just like learning any new dance...you will every now and then forget a step and the only thing you can do is dust yourself off and hit the dance floor again. Because the music is still playing and your dance partner is waiting with his paw held out to you to join him on the dance floor...So dance on my friend...dance on.

Mel, Maxwell,Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 1/31 Lucian AMPS 560 No PM Shot Last Night.

Thank you Mel, you always make me feel better. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: Big Hugz!!
 
Re: 1/31 Lucian AMPS 560 (No PM Shot) +5/201 Yay!

Woohoo that is looking much better especially with the skipped shot last night. I think we have the boy back on track :-D

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 1/31 Lucian AMPS 560, +5/201, +9/269

I would bet money, he played on that 'blue floor' this afternoon, while I was gone. :-D
 
Re: 1/31 Lucian AMPS 560, +5/201, +9/269

Bet he did too, and that isn't too shabby of a +9 either

He is looking way better on the lower dose. So glad you reduced him, he has to be feeling better now.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 1/31 Lucian AMPS 560, +5/201, +9/269

The biggest thing I noticed is that he hasn't been staying under the table all the time.
Occasionally, he has been laying on the rug, outside of the table, over the last 2 days. And laid on the bathroom rug for a bit yesterday evening.
So he's not keeping himself hid all the time lately. :-D
Still can't get him to sleep with me again, yet, but I think it will come when he is closer to his normal self. :-D
 
Re: 1/31 Lucian AMPS 560, +5/201, +9/269

It will come in time I'm sure. The closer he gets to normal BGs the more normal he will start acting as well...But not hiding is a very good sign. :-D

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 1/31 Lucian AMPS 560, +5/201, +9/269

I'm keeping fingers crossed he'll stay in the 'yellow' for his PMPS (yes, I know it will go up @ pm+1-2, but would be nice not to SEE it! :lol: Ignorance is bliss, they say! :lol: )
 
Re: 1/31 Lucian AMPS 560, +5/201, +9/269

Hey guys - just popped over to see how you're getting along. Lucian looks great so far! Bummer on missing the shot, but all you can do is wait it out until the next one is due and get back on track. Glad to see you're getting the hang of things! You're in good hands - Mel took care of me in my early days, too - an absolute Saint!
 
Re: 1/31 Lucian AMPS 560, +5/201, +9/269

Aw thanks Tara....I have a couple ex-husbands that wouldn't exactly call me a Saint...lol. I think their term is closer to Psycho-B*tch from H@ll lol..

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 1/31 Lucian AMPS 560, +5/201, +9/269, PMPS/399

Looks like a bit of a bounce, I expected that after this afternoon. :smile: Anxious to see how tomorrow plays out.

Hey Mel? I think I've had that label once or 3 times! :lol: You're in good company, there's a bunch of us, I hear. ;-)
 
Re: 1/31 Lucian AMPS 560, +5/201, +9/269, PMPS/399

Yep he bounced a little but high pink is so much better than just having the meter greet you. :-D

Yes, there are a lot of us out there...and we are dang fine company....far better than defendent (my name for the exes) every was. But I do wish I knew what happened to my eyesight all those years ago, I could have sworn that I saw something in them, just hard pressed to remember what it was.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 1/31 Lucian AMPS 560, +5/201, +9/269, PMPS/399

No Kidding! Hate that 'meter greeting'! :-x

Finally got a ketone test, Negative! Yay! :-D He managed to sneak past me 3 times today, but I got him!

Waiting on the pm+3 so I can go to bed, I'm beat. Lucian is waiting on it too, he's hungry and it's too close to test time for him to eat, so he's not real happy with me right now. :roll:

Got the 'heavy shoulder' thing happening. Dr shot me up with steroids and it always feels heavy for a day. @-) Will feel much better over the next couple days, but the first night always feels really weird. :lol: Kinda like the shoulder doesn't belong to you. :lol:

......counting down.......1 hr 2 min till +3......now if I can stay awake, I'm good. :-D

Oh Yeah, funny how your vision changes, huh?
 
Re: 1/31 Lucian AMPS 560, +5/201, +9/269, PMPS/399

Oh how I know that count down..39 minutes here before the last feeding of the day then off to beddy bye for me.

I'm whipped and did nothing much today, but its minus 3 outside so the fibro is kicking my hiney tonight...Glad Autumn is running a little high for her tonight, cuz once I take the sleeping pill and pain meds I'm gonna be down for the count.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Ok, so it's 15 min early.....I can't keep my eyes open much longer! I-)

As long as I know he is on a gentle downward slide, I can hit the hay. :-D

Hope you feel better tomorrow Mel, we'll pretend it's sunny and warm there. ;-)

Have a good night everyone.
 
Hey, Debbie -

Looks like Lucian is recovering nicely from the missed shot. It's no different than a fur shot, which happens to all of us at sometime. Glad to see you're getting more comfortable with the dance, as is Lucian. That's half the battle!!

Thanks for visiting us today. Took me a while to find you here; I don't usually get to the other forums. Sometimes I have the best of intentions, but time gets away from me.

Have a great night -

Libby (& Hershey, too!)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top