1/31 Callie AMPS 126

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 1/31 Callie AMPS 126 dosing question?

Hi guys .. no dosing advice from me, but hopefully others will be along soon to help you out .. sure is a pretty start though! have a great day!
 
Re: 1/31 Callie AMPS 126 dosing question?

She's high enough to shoot now. Also, she may have a gap in insulin coverage later today since the shot is delayed?

Will you be around to monitor today? And has she had more food than usual this morning? If so, my personal vote would be to keep 2U today, but do 1.75 tonight. Then see what tomorrow brings. It's during the overnight cycle when she goes the lowestl

But, as I've already said: I"d love to hear some other opinions!
 
Re: 1/31 Callie AMPS 126 dosing question?

Janet

Is the AMPS a food influenced number? If you fed at +10... Did you give her LC?

IMHO, I would hold the dose of 2u. According to the tight regulation protocol, newly dx cats earn a reduction when they drop below 50. Callie was clearing a bounce and sometimes they can do so a little more actively than just a regular cycle.

She might be getting ready for a reduction, but I would let her earn it. Usually when they are ready, they won't stay above 50 unless you are giving them a ton of HC food and gravy. And if you are working that hard then you should reduce.

But she came up pretty fast.
 
Re: 1/31 Callie AMPS 126 dosing question?

My mom ended up doing 1.75 before the replies came in. We'll be around most of the day to keep an eye on her...thanks for the advice!
 
Re: 1/31 Callie AMPS 126 dosing question?

You're welcome. Can you please take the question mark and "dosing question" out of your subject line so people won't keep popping in to answer questions? thanks so much.

Also....for tonight. Let's see how she does during the day today. My guess is she might bounce up. But just to be thinking about it, you have two options for tonight:

1. consider that this morning was just a reduced dose because you were worried about shooting a 126; take her back up to 2u tonight
2. leave her at 1.75u and see how she does

If your mom can get some tests today and put them on her SS, that would be helpful. Thanks!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top