1/30 Jupiter - AMPS-302 , +4.5-285 questions about diabetic cats and dental

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jamie & Jupiter

Member Since 2013
Link to previous condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-28-jupiter-pmps-232.132180/

Well still not really seeing any improvement in Jupiters #'s.

The vet did call and let us know Jupiters bloodwork and urinalysis all looked pretty good (other then his blood glucose level and sugar in the urine) so he said theres a good chance the higher BG could be caused by his dental issues.

the vet also mentioned that we had to get jupiters BG down before he will do the dental. he said jupiter may need 4 extractions. im just wondering... if the high BG is due to the dental issues....why not do the dental to get Jupiters numbers down? Is there a reason to wait til after Jupiters BG is a little lower?
 
Jupiter, please come down some more!

Your question about the dental is a really good one. Some vets seem to think the numbers need to come down before the dental, some don't. I've seen it a lot here. It really is a catch 22, especially if you need the dental to bring the numbers down. Neko's first dental was done by her regular vet when she was in her "red is my favorite PS color" period. She also had anesthesia 4 other times a few months later when she still was no where near regulated. I'd ask the vet what his reasons are.
 
Generally, it is very difficult to get a diabetic "regulated" with dental problems on board as ther raise counter glucose.
 
That doesn't make sense to me. It seems the dental would bring the numbers down. I'd definitely ask the vet why.
 
We recently had a dental done and both our local vet and the dental vet said it depends on the glucose levels and that you didn't have to have complete regulation of the diabetes before having a dental done. My Lucy's glucose levels were high when she had the dental done a few weeks ago but they had come down from when she was first diagnosed. The dental went very well and we are also starting to see some lower glucose levels now along with an increase in insulin dose. All the best to your Jupiter and you too.
 
I don't see any reason for them to wait. If he's a little high at dental and the vet is worried, they csn give him some R to bring the numbers down a bit. If he's low that day, they can give him some dextrose.

Jamie...you are holding the dose too long. You are experienced at this and to get him back into remission, you need to be more aggressive. If the numbers are due to dental issues, or even if they are, you don't want glucose toxicity to build up.

I'd raise his dose every six cycles by 0.25u until you see blue.
 
Max was up to 7 units/twice a day with very high blood sugars, and still going up until we got his dental done. As soon as those rotten teeth were gone, his numbers started to go down and after 2 months we are at 3 units/twice a day, and still reducing. We would have probably never seen lower numbers until the teeth were gone.

There's a higher risk for infection with high BS and surgical procedures, however, there is a high risk for infection with rotten teeth and high numbers. It's a wash. There's no reason to wait.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top