1/30 Ivy Amps 125, +3 112, +6 225, +9 186, Pmps 122, +3 97 Libre

Staci & Ivy

Member Since 2022
1/29/25
Amps 125 Libre

Good morning, Ivy had. much calmer overnight cycle after a reduction and I was able to finally get some sleep. :smuggrin:
She slept in her own room, but woke me early this morning before my alarm by jumping up on my bed for purrs and cuddles.:cat:
I’m loving this new again behavior that she hasn’t done in almost 2 years. It’s like she’s found this new talent and she’s very excited with it:)

Hope everyone has a safe day ahead :cat:
 
I woke up this morning thinking about Ivy jumping on your bed and it just made me smile :)
Awww. That’s so sweet. Thanks, Tim. It’s so shocking to me all of a sudden and I’m just loving it for her. Up until she injured herself every night she slept on our bed so it’s been a very weird year and a half of her not being on the bed with us. I hope she continues the trend and I’m glad that at least she’s figured out how to use the steps in case she actually needs to.

Hope you and Pookey have a wonderful day ❤️
 
Good meowning Staci and Ivy!
I love reading about Ivy's adventures and snuggle sessions. I'm so happy she started doing that again. It's a sign for me she's feeling better ❤️
Hopefully this trend continues.

Good luck with this reduction.
Beautiful pre shot #this AM :cat::bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Good meowning Staci and Ivy!
I love reading about Ivy's adventures and snuggle sessions. I'm so happy she started doing that again. It's a sign for me she's feeling better ❤️
Hopefully this trend continues.

Good luck with this reduction.
Beautiful pre shot #this AM :cat::bighug::cat::bighug:
Good meowning, Karolina,
Awwww, we appreciate your continued support. She was so adorable and snuggly. I agree. Something must be making her want to do all of this. I do hope she feels better.

Sending you, Nestle and Peanut lots of loving snuggles :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Aww such wonderful news! It has got to be that she is finally feeling much better, like her old self. Do you think it’s because the other meds are finally the right amount she needs? Such a dramatic turn around, it has to be! I’m so happy for you! Hugs and kisses!
 
Aww such wonderful news! It has got to be that she is finally feeling much better, like her old self. Do you think it’s because the other meds are finally the right amount she needs? Such a dramatic turn around, it has to be! I’m so happy for you! Hugs and kisses!
Thanks, Deb. I sure hope her med dose is working correctly and thus making her overall sit better.
We had a similar situation back in October when they doubled her AM dose, so I have seen this once before and then it leveled off again, so we’ll see what happens. I just have to watch her really closely.

I hope you and Tiger are doing well and feeling. sending you back hugs and kisses to both of you:bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Hi Staci,

such beautiful news, Ivy comes into your bed again and is even jumping! Who needs stairs, if you can jump! :cat: I am so happy for you because I know how said it made you, she changed her behavior after this broken leg trauma. I never asked how this happened?

Happy you had a night in your bed with a beautiful bounce in blue. :cool::cool::cool: I keep my fingers crossed she can hold the reduction well and continues to see these good numbers. I hope there is another calm night to come and you can recover from so many sleepless nights!

I send you many hugs and nose kisses for sweet Ivy! :bighug::kiss::bighug:
 
Hi Staci,

such beautiful news, Ivy comes into your bed again and is even jumping! Who needs stairs, if you can jump! :cat: I am so happy for you because I know how said it made you, she changed her behavior after this broken leg trauma. I never asked how this happened?

Happy you had a night in your bed with a beautiful bounce in blue. :cool::cool::cool: I keep my fingers crossed she can hold the reduction well and continues to see these good numbers. I hope there is another calm night to come and you can recover from so many sleepless nights!

I send you many hugs and nose kisses for sweet Ivy! :bighug::kiss::bighug:
Hi Heike, she’s got a new trick and she seems to really enjoy getting up on the bed. Yay!!
She did it every night for 11 years and then not since the accident :(

So what happened was one morning it was about 10 or 15 minutes before it was time for me to get up to get everything ready to feed Ivy and give her a shot. She was kind of milling around walking around the floor near my bed and she decided to jump up on the other side of the bed, not near me.
Oddly enough just by coincidence my husband was not in the bed that night because he couldn’t sleep and went and slept in another room so he wasn’t there to help her up.
So she tried to jump up and didn’t make it all the way and slid back down, and I think her leg got caught in the bedframe and I guess as she fell backwards, her leg snapped.
I immediately jumped out of bed and ran over to see what was going on and she was just laying on the floor not moving and I just knew in my gut that it was bad. So of course I called the hospital and they told me to sedate her, not feed her and give insulin and then bring her, which we did.
Again stupid me, it was so early in our insulin journey, I gave insulin with no food and of course, the whole ride there the Libre was beeping and she was going low and I was freaking out.

I think what actually happened was she had developed neuropathy and she didn’t have the strength in her hind legs to jump up on the bed and that’s why she slid back down.
Her leg has been surgically repaired. She’s got all kinds of plates and screws in her leg. It was a horrific day and it was a horrible accident and it was months of difficult healing and restraining her. She had to wear a soft cone for months so that she would not lick her surgical site. It was very important that she not get her leg infected from licking, so that was very critical and that’s how she ended up becoming very comfortable in the basement. I had to confine her there for several months as she was not allowed to climb stairs or jump up on any furniture.
It was truly an awful approximately three months.
It was just a freak accident, and I still can’t believe it happened. My bed has been retrofitted since then so that she cannot get caught in the bedframe again.
Like I said, I bought the pet steps leading up to my bed when she got clearance to come back upstairs again and the only thing she’s used the steps for up until last week was to scratch them :p

Goofy cat!

Wishing you and Binie a restful night and I hope she will feel better tomorrow. I hope she comes down from pinks and has a healthy day ahead. You’re doing such great work taking care of your sweet girl.

We send lots of hugs and kisses to you both :bighug::cat::bighug::kiss::cat:
 
Hi Heike, she’s got a new trick and she seems to really enjoy getting up on the bed. Yay!!
She did it every night for 11 years and then not since the accident :(

So what happened was one morning it was about 10 or 15 minutes before it was time for me to get up to get everything ready to feed Ivy and give her a shot. She was kind of milling around walking around the floor near my bed and she decided to jump up on the other side of the bed, not near me.
Oddly enough just by coincidence my husband was not in the bed that night because he couldn’t sleep and went and slept in another room so he wasn’t there to help her up.
So she tried to jump up and didn’t make it all the way and slid back down, and I think her leg got caught in the bedframe and I guess as she fell backwards, her leg snapped.
I immediately jumped out of bed and ran over to see what was going on and she was just laying on the floor not moving and I just knew in my gut that it was bad. So of course I called the hospital and they told me to sedate her, not feed her and give insulin and then bring her, which we did.
Again stupid me, it was so early in our insulin journey, I gave insulin with no food and of course, the whole ride there the Libre was beeping and she was going low and I was freaking out.

I think what actually happened was she had developed neuropathy and she didn’t have the strength in her hind legs to jump up on the bed and that’s why she slid back down.
Her leg has been surgically repaired. She’s got all kinds of plates and screws in her leg. It was a horrific day and it was a horrible accident and it was months of difficult healing and restraining her. She had to wear a soft cone for months so that she would not lick her surgical site. It was very important that she not get her leg infected from licking, so that was very critical and that’s how she ended up becoming very comfortable in the basement. I had to confine her there for several months as she was not allowed to climb stairs or jump up on any furniture.
It was truly an awful approximately three months.
It was just a freak accident, and I still can’t believe it happened. My bed has been retrofitted since then so that she cannot get caught in the bedframe again.
Like I said, I bought the pet steps leading up to my bed when she got clearance to come back upstairs again and the only thing she’s used the steps for up until last week was to scratch them :p

Goofy cat!

Wishing you and Binie a restful night and I hope she will feel better tomorrow. I hope she comes down from pinks and has a healthy day ahead. You’re doing such great work taking care of your sweet girl.

We send lots of hugs and kisses to you both :bighug::cat::bighug::kiss::cat:

Hi Staci,

oh no.... I didn't know the accident happened while jumping on the bed. Of course that made her scared and she didn't try. But seems she overcame trauma now! :bighug::bighug::bighug: I can imagine this whole accident experience was a nightmare. I am so sorry that happened to you and Ivy. :( And all this on the beginning of the fd journey.

And the worst thing is you and Ivy had to deal with this for such a long time. It must have been so stressful to make her wear the cone and restrict her to one room. I am sure you needed a lot of strengh to deal with all this.

You are such a great mom and I am so happy, all this gets rewarded by Ivy being more active now and that she cuddles with you in bed again. :bighug::kiss::bighug:
 
Hi Staci,

oh no.... I didn't know the accident happened while jumping on the bed. Of course that made her scared and she didn't try. But seems she overcame trauma now! :bighug::bighug::bighug: I can imagine this whole accident experience was a nightmare. I am so sorry that happened to you and Ivy. :( And all this on the beginning of the fd journey.

And the worst thing is you and Ivy had to deal with this for such a long time. It must have been so stressful to make her wear the cone and restrict her to one room. I am sure you needed a lot of strengh to deal with all this.

You are such a great mom and I am so happy, all this gets rewarded by Ivy being more active now and that she cuddles with you in bed again. :bighug::kiss::bighug:
Thank you, Heike. You’re very sweet. ❤️
I’m just so thankful she feels strong enough to finally try again on her own ❤️
 
It is so great that she jumps on your bed again! She must be feeling a lot better. Enjoy those night cuddles :bighug::bighug::bighug:
I can only assume she must feel better in some way, Cecile. The whole thing is so confusing to me, but I’m happy for her that she feels she wants to jump up.

She usually sleeps in her room in the basement, but that’s her choice. We don’t make her stay there. I would be thrilled if she decided she wanted to spend the night in our room again like she used to :smuggrin:

I hope you’re getting some rest these days and taking care of yourself.
Thinking of you and sending hugs :bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Staci. I love hearing that Ivy is jumping on your bed again and greeting you with cuddles and purrs.
Glad you both had a calmer night with the reduction, and you were able to get some sleep.
Wishing you both a wonderful night and safe surfing, Ivy!
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I happened to get up just now 3 AM and looked at your spreadsheet, I see you reduced to 3 units , good luck with that . I assume you have been up a lot tonight by looking at the +8 . Come on up Ivy , Mom needs some sleep. That is such a great news that she's using the steps and comes up to give you cuddles or just jumping up on the bed , that makes me so happy. Our little fluffball :p :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
@Staci & Ivy
 
Last edited:
Hi Heike, she’s got a new trick and she seems to really enjoy getting up on the bed. Yay!!
She did it every night for 11 years and then not since the accident :(

So what happened was one morning it was about 10 or 15 minutes before it was time for me to get up to get everything ready to feed Ivy and give her a shot. She was kind of milling around walking around the floor near my bed and she decided to jump up on the other side of the bed, not near me.
Oddly enough just by coincidence my husband was not in the bed that night because he couldn’t sleep and went and slept in another room so he wasn’t there to help her up.
So she tried to jump up and didn’t make it all the way and slid back down, and I think her leg got caught in the bedframe and I guess as she fell backwards, her leg snapped.
I immediately jumped out of bed and ran over to see what was going on and she was just laying on the floor not moving and I just knew in my gut that it was bad. So of course I called the hospital and they told me to sedate her, not feed her and give insulin and then bring her, which we did.
Again stupid me, it was so early in our insulin journey, I gave insulin with no food and of course, the whole ride there the Libre was beeping and she was going low and I was freaking out.

I think what actually happened was she had developed neuropathy and she didn’t have the strength in her hind legs to jump up on the bed and that’s why she slid back down.
Her leg has been surgically repaired. She’s got all kinds of plates and screws in her leg. It was a horrific day and it was a horrible accident and it was months of difficult healing and restraining her. She had to wear a soft cone for months so that she would not lick her surgical site. It was very important that she not get her leg infected from licking, so that was very critical and that’s how she ended up becoming very comfortable in the basement. I had to confine her there for several months as she was not allowed to climb stairs or jump up on any furniture.
It was truly an awful approximately three months.
It was just a freak accident, and I still can’t believe it happened. My bed has been retrofitted since then so that she cannot get caught in the bedframe again.
Like I said, I bought the pet steps leading up to my bed when she got clearance to come back upstairs again and the only thing she’s used the steps for up until last week was to scratch them :p

Goofy cat!

Wishing you and Binie a restful night and I hope she will feel better tomorrow. I hope she comes down from pinks and has a healthy day ahead. You’re doing such great work taking care of your sweet girl.

We send lots of hugs and kisses to you both :bighug::cat::bighug::kiss::cat:
You are an amazing mom. What a journey through recovery AND while managing diabetes. Thank you for sharing. How rewarding to have Ivy returning to the bed. Love this. :bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Staci. I love hearing that Ivy is jumping on your bed again and greeting you with cuddles and purrs.
Glad you both had a calmer night with the reduction, and you were able to get some sleep.
Wishing you both a wonderful night and safe surfing, Ivy!
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Madeline, thank you so much. I love to see her jumping like her old days :)

I hope you and Butch had a calm night :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Oh, this makes me so happy! I know it was sad when she stopped getting on the bed, so it such good news that she's started again.
Scritches to Ivy, and I hope tonight is another night of sleep. :bighug:
Hi Alicia, don’t get too much sleep last night. A little active but not the worst I’ve had ;)

It is great for her to be on that bed. I just love to watch her do it with ease as when she was young.

She used to jump on a high stool in the kitchen then up on the island. But she doesn’t do that anymore either.
I’m ok with that, it’s pretty high and I would probably have a heart attack if she tried :facepalm:

Give your new babies lots of kisses from me:kiss::kiss::kiss:
 
I happened to get up just now 3 AM and looked at your spreadsheet, I see you reduced to 3 units , good luck with that . I assume you have been up a lot tonight by looking at the +8 . Come on up Ivy , Mom needs some sleep. That is such a great news that she's using the steps and comes up to give you cuddles or just jumping up on the bed , that makes me so happy. Our little fluffball :p :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
@Staci & Ivy
You sure know how to read the tea leaves @Diane Tyler's Mom GA
Yep, our furball kept me close in the sofa last night. Just a little active. She’s a little tricky in that she doesn’t have a low point early on and then come up for the rest of the cycle because she has a lot of later dips in the cycle.
It’s a little hard for me to call it a night after an earlier nadir, so it just keeps me on the sofa for the entire night when she has these cycles.
What can you do? Gotta just roll with it;)
I hope you had a decent night sleep, although if you were up at 3 AM you couldn’t have been sleeping too well either. ;)
Try to get some rest today. Thanks for checking on us Diane.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
You are an amazing mom. What a journey through recovery AND while managing diabetes. Thank you for sharing. How rewarding to have Ivy returning to the bed. Love this. :bighug::bighug:
You’re so sweet, Laura :bighug:
We just have to take everything one day at a time and do the best we can.
Thank you for checking on us. I hope you and Minner have a wonderful day:)
You’re doing an awesome job with her.:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
You sure know how to read the tea leaves @Diane Tyler's Mom GA
Yep, our furball kept me close in the sofa last night. Just a little active. She’s a little tricky in that she doesn’t have a low point early on and then come up for the rest of the cycle because she has a lot of later dips in the cycle.
It’s a little hard for me to call it a night after an earlier nadir, so it just keeps me on the sofa for the entire night when she has these cycles.
What can you do? Gotta just roll with it;)
I hope you had a decent night sleep, although if you were up at 3 AM you couldn’t have been sleeping too well either. ;)
Try to get some rest today. Thanks for checking on us Diane.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
I slept well, just had to get up to use the litter box
@Staci & Ivy
 
Back
Top