1/30 Garland AMPS 164 +4 455 PMPS 326 Ketones 1.5

Status
Not open for further replies.

Violet and Garland

Member Since 2011
Sienne you said to increase this morning. How much? Her current dose is 4.5

Her +11 is 148. I think the low number is due to not eating very much as opposed to insulin.

Overnight last night she threw up twice. The first time was food, the second time was white foam?? She just ate about half a can of FF chunky chicken for breakfast. I hope she keeps it down.

I will be taking her to the vet this afternoon for a blood panel and a look-over. Im not sure what is going on with her and want a vet to look at her before it gets worse. :sad:

As far as behavior, shes not as spunky as usual,and laying around a bit more, but she is walking about, purring, snuggling and snoozing in comfy positions (as opposed to the sick meatloaf position)

Im going to check her ketone level when I give her shot in an hour. I just hope its gone down instead of up. I feel so bad for her when she starts getting sick :sad:

Yesterday

PS- Im about to leave to run my daughter to speech class, I'll be back in 30 minutes
 
Re: 1/30 Garland +11 148

I might consider giving Garland 1/4 of a tablet of Pepsid AC if she's got an upset stomach. I'd also increase by 0.25u. Let her eat whatever she wants.
 
Re: 1/30 Garland +11 148

Nice start for Garland. Hope the extra juice helps and she gets to feeling better quick! No dramatics Garland. Have a great day Violet!!
 
Re: 1/30 Garland +11 148

I have pepcid and odanstredon here at the house. Which should I give? Also, should I do it now, or wait until the vet?
 
Re: 1/30 Garland AMPS 164 -raised dose by .25, Ketones 1.5

AMPS 164

Raised dose by .25 to 4.75

Ketones 1.5!!!! Yay!! They have gone way down. She still seems tired though....not running around chasing Connick as she usually does this time of day..
 
Re: 1/30 Garland AMPS 164 -raised dose by .25, Ketones 1.5

What a relief Violet! I think we all see this condo and breathe a sigh of relief for you and Garland that her ketones are coming down.

Feel better Garland :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/30 Garland AMPS 164 -raised dose by .25, Ketones 1.5

Hi guys .. good luck with the extra juice .. and yay on the ketones coming back down! Maybe she is just tired, from not feeling so hot the last few days? I hope she starts feeling better soon .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 1/30 Garland AMPS 164 -raised dose by .25, Ketones 1.5

Pepcid for sure. If her appetite doesn't perk up by tomorrow, I would do a couple days of the ondansetron.
 
Re: 1/30 Garland AMPS 164 -raised dose by .25, Ketones 1.5

Karrie and Maverick said:
Pepcid for sure. If her appetite doesn't perk up by tomorrow, I would do a couple days of the ondansetron.
How much? And what is the best way to pill a cat? I always struggle with it
 
Re: 1/30 Garland AMPS 164 -raised dose by .25, Ketones 1.5

1/4 of a 10mg Pepcid AC pill. I use empty #4 gelcaps from the pharmacy. You can coat it in butter to help it go down the throat easier. Always syringe some tuna juice/food or water after pepcid to ensure it doesn't stay in the throat or esophagus. I always stood with my feet at Maverick's ribs keeping him from running away, opened his mouth and popped the pill into the back of his throat. Some people use small portions of pill pockets or hide it in treats.
 
Re: 1/30 Garland AMPS 164 -raised dose by .25, Ketones 1.5

You can also dissolve it in some water and syringe it, I usually just pill mine w/the "pop the pill in the back of throat" method Karrie mentions, but if I have to pill one of the wilder ones I dissolve it in 5-7 mls of water and syringe it into them.

YAY for the ketones coming down!
 
Re: 1/30 Garland AMPS 164 -raised dose by .25, Ketones 1.5

I'm also saying YaY for ketones coming down!
 
Re: 1/30 Garland AMPS 164 -raised dose by .25, Ketones 1.5

+4 455 :!: :shock: :!:

Surely this is food influenced. Here is her food day

before the +11, she hadnt eaten in like 6 hours at least, and threw up twice

+11 128 fed 1/4 can chunky chicken FF

AMPS 164 fed 1/4 can chunky chicken FF

+3 fed 1/2 can mix of FF flaked tuna/shrimp and FF grilled chicken <--- Both cats were eating this, Garland did eat more of it than Connick, she loves the flaked tuna

+4 455

No throw up since last night, but I did find something weird in the litter box. it was covered in litter so it was hard to see...it was gooyier than usual poop? about the size of a nickel
 
PMPS 326 - Food influenced

So this is bizarre. Starting from the beginning. Last night's throw up was weird. I was in bed, I heard her. I got up, turned on the light and started looking around for her. I found her in the living room. There was just a small amount of throw up. I cleaned it up quickly and checked her out. Then I went back to sleep. About 30 minutes later I noticed there was an awful smell coming from another part of the house. Thinking one of the cats had pooped outside the litter box, I got up. I didnt find poop, but i did find more throw up in the play room. It was a pretty big amount and was weird textured.... like brown slime almost (?) And smelled horrible. At least I assume it had to be that, bc i never did find poop and the litter room smelled fine. When I say smell bad, I seriously thought a mouse had snuck in and died in the house. Awful smell. Even after I cleaned it up, the smell lingered. A few hours later is when I heard her throw up again, this time it was super white and all foam.

I would say the worst of this "sick episode" was last night overnight and this morning. Around noon I found the weird stuff in the litter box. It was slimy like the throw up. It was hard to see bc of all the litter stuck to it, but I almost want to say it wasnt brown. (TMI I know) *yuck

Anyways, ever since noon, she's slowly started improving. She has some energy back and is even eating better. She isnt back to normal by any means, but it feels like she has turned a corner.

So my question is, do you think she may have eaten something somehow that did this? Like soap or something? I have a vet appointment at 1030 in the morning

EDIT- I know she's feeling better because I just now had to chase her off the top of the kitchen cabinet bc she was browsing for human food on the counters :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top