1/30. Do Daa. AMPS 336, ... +9 89, PMPS 104

Goose

Member Since 2019
Previous Thread

SS Updated.

Well, a Surprise today. AMPS +9 89 and PMPS 104.

We Reduced to 2.75u and we DID shoot him that dose at PMPS.

He had a Good Day Today!
 
Great job shooting!!! Did you read my post from yesterday on the previous condo?

Hi.

I didn't read it until I logged on after we shot him at 2.75u and shot the PMPS at 104.

The dry food is really limited to overnight food. He will absolutely not eat wet food (after 14 months of trying) by himself and the wet food has to be fed on the table in a small bowl right under his mouth. He will not eat the wet food overnight. The 1/3 cup of Dry is for him overnight so he won't starve and can eat it at his pleasure. This food is already expensive enough as it is. So I think there needs to be a compromise of the two methods to something custom other wise we have to do what's best for our situation. This isn't a criticism of your thoughts on the other post and we appreciate your insight as well as the insight of everyone here in this forum.
 
Yay, so glad you decided to shoot! Do Daa sure did have a great day! Anytime you shoot a lower number than you are used to, it is a good idea to check +1.
 
Hi.

I didn't read it until I logged on after we shot him at 2.75u and shot the PMPS at 104.

The dry food is really limited to overnight food. He will absolutely not eat wet food (after 14 months of trying) by himself and the wet food has to be fed on the table in a small bowl right under his mouth. He will not eat the wet food overnight. The 1/3 cup of Dry is for him overnight so he won't starve and can eat it at his pleasure. This food is already expensive enough as it is. So I think there needs to be a compromise of the two methods to something custom other wise we have to do what's best for our situation. This isn't a criticism of your thoughts on the other post and we appreciate your insight as well as the insight of everyone here in this forum.
Why does he need food overnight? Just curious. I’ve had cats for 59 years and never had any that were fed overnight and some of them were large males. He won’t starve....promise. You just have to be sure he gets his required calories in by the time you go to bed. If you really feel he needs food overnight so he doesn’t bother you, he should easily eat freeze dried food (similar to dry) out of a dish or auto feeder if he’s hungry.

There is no compromise of the two methods. The reason is because TR is already more aggressive. Wer food brings the BG up faster than dry if we need to use it for that and it also takes dry longer to leave the system. We have had many members over the years feeding Dr. Elsey’s or Young Again. If they choose to do so, they can but TR is not available for them as a regulation method on this board.

You did fine shooting 2.75u. He earned that reduction. :D
 
SS Updated.

PMPS +1 112.

He only eats 1/3 to 1/2 a can of wet food at a time and that's under Constant supervision. The last test is at pmps +4, which is 1am. He gets tested again at 9am. That is a Really long time to go without any food. As I mentioned he won't eat any wet food by himself. I am not sure what to do at this time with Tight Regulation.

I am glad that he had a Reduction! :)
 
Marje raises a good point. Many moons ago, when Maverick was first diagnosed, I hung onto the dry food for a little while, since both boys were always grazers and I wasn't sure how it would work with wet food only, so I would leave a small amount overnight like you are doing. But, then I started to see the patterns with Lantus, and found more often than not, if I needed to, I could bump up the carbs earlier if his cycle was going down a little faster, and he really didn't need the dry overnight.

You may also find he will be more interested in the wet food after you cut out the dry. Dry food tends to be full of a lot of extra fibre, which makes them feel full. Well, at least I know that's how I feel when I eat a lot of fibre :)

Just something extra to ponder. I'm happy to help you either way.
 
SS Updated.

PMPS +1 112.

He only eats 1/3 to 1/2 a can of wet food at a time and that's under Constant supervision. The last test is at pmps +4, which is 1am. He gets tested again at 9am. That is a Really long time to go without any food. As I mentioned he won't eat any wet food by himself. I am not sure what to do at this time with Tight Regulation.

I am glad that he had a Reduction! :)
My cats eat at 11 pm and not again until 8 am and they are fine. They sleep all night and don’t ask for food. Many cats go longer than that. My cats are also on a feeding schedule where they are fed every five hours during the day. What is most important is that you know how many calories he needs to maintain his perfect weight and then feed that amount.

Unfortunately, as long as he has any dry in his diet, it would preempt using TR. As Christie said, we will help you either way...dry food or not.
 
My cats eat at 11 pm and not again until 8 am and they are fine. They sleep all night and don’t ask for food. Many cats go longer than that. My cats are also on a feeding schedule where they are fed every five hours during the day. What is most important is that you know how many calories he needs to maintain his perfect weight and then feed that amount.

Unfortunately, as long as he has any dry in his diet, it would preempt using TR. As Christie said, we will help you either way...dry food or not.

SS Updated.

Do Daa eats at amps/pmps, and aside from a dry snack, eats something (wet) at many of the testing times throughout the day.
I just don't think that we are ready to do TR right now, it's not just my options and thoughts going into these decisions. I still appreciate everyone who wants to help.
 
Last edited:
Do Daa eats at amps/pmps, and aside from a dry snack, eats something (wet) at many of the testing times throughout the day.
I just don't think that we are ready to do TR right now, it's not just my options and thoughts going into these decisions. I still appreciate everyone who wants to help.
We respect your decision and will move forward helping you all with SLGS. I wasn’t trying to put undue pressure on you. I appreciate your honesty.
 
Back
Top