1/30 Dillan AMPS 373, +3 Missed, +6 331, +9 333, PMPS 326

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dillan420

Member Since 2010
Hello Everyone,
I just got the AMPS and it is slowly coming down a few days at a time. DIllan is doing good this morning alert and laying in the middle of the hallway. I'm still looking for a wet food to switch him to for we can really start to see the numbers drop. I'll be going out today to see if I can find something in Canada that will work well. Dillan was weighed yesterday when we brought him to the vet for a BG level 348 (probably high due to the stress), he gained 1.5 pounds in a week and you can't feel his ribs anymore so that was a reassuring sign, his current weight is 14.1 pounds now. I'll be doing spot checks throughout the day today to see what the insulin is doing for him, I'll keep you all updated through the day. Thanks for all of the support LL.

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=4025
 
Re: 1/30 Dillan AMPS 373

Hi Mike...
Good job on the condo this morning with the link to yesterday and the SS too! :thumbup
Maybe someone will stop by with an idea of which food to use if Dillon is prone to crystals....I am not sure...
it will be good to switch to canned if you can....
i basically just wanted to say hi to you two and welcome you to Lantus Land.... :mrgreen:
Hope you were able to read through all the helpful important links that you got yesterday. I tis a steep learning curve
in the beginning...so much to read and process. We are here if you have any questions....wishing you both much success!
Dillon is so cute...great pix...love black kitties myself!
 
Re: 1/30 Dillan AMPS 373

Thanks for the welcoming post. As far as I have read on this forum it seems as if any wet food will be better for his crystals because of the increased water in his diet and I'll probably add even more water to the food, but if anyone has some good suggestions of foods in Canada that would be nice. I looked at Binky's food list and its got some foods from Canada but not much. I think I might try the President's Choice food it looks like it has pretty good stats but I'm going to go check out Costco today to see what they have. Also I will be staying away from any foods that show increased phosphorus for its good on his kidneys, since they have probably been through so much lately due to the diabetes.
 
Re: 1/30 Dillan AMPS 373

I'll be doing spot checks throughout the day today to see what the insulin is doing for him, I'll keep you all updated through the day.
Thanks for all of the support LL.

Hi Mike and dillan

welcome back!

just gonna give u a link here: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=157
This example is in the link:

Learn how YOUR kitty is responding to insulin:
Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
Duration - when the insulin is strongest or works the hardest

How to do a Curve
Example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.

Also, the more data you collect the easier it is to see if Dillan needs more or less insulin, based on the Tilly Protocol.
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581

(I'm going to copy and paste what I posted for another newbie here Kathy & Bert, on curves)

The curve chart is an example, most here will do testing every 2 hours, some every hour, some every 3 hours, really depends on what the numbers are doing thru the cycle.
Since u are fairly new with lantus, u may not see much action yet, that doesn't mean don't get spotchecks, just so u know.
So u may not see much happening or Dillan could totally throw u a curve (no pun intended) ball and u may see a lot of good stuff!

By the way, for feeding, when u get to +10, u will want to pull food, the two hours leading up to the next shot time (PMPS) u will want to make sure there is no food spike influencing the preshot number. Therefore, many here give a snack at around +8 or +9 to keep kitty happy till dinner time,
the same applies for the AMPS.
A little treat would be fine in there in most cases.

Also, it is very important to get the BG test before u shoot insulin, and follow up if u are home to monitor at least a +1 test before u head out the door...for the evenings, again, the same and/or a +3 test and a before bedtime test.

This of course all depends on what Dillan is up to when u get those spotchecks, post in ur daily thread/condo for feedback. We hope to see you posting daily and to help you along.
 
Re: 1/30 Dillan AMPS 373

There are so many Canadians here...they should be along with some suggestions...
maybe Ronnie will come by...she gave you lots of links yesterday....but definitely wet food is the way to go!
I had been giving my two Hills mature and indoor cat for 12 years....the vet I had back then told me it owuld keep their teeth clean.
Boy, I wish I had not heard that way back when they were kittens.
I always add warm water to their food now...I use Fancy Feast ....and Wellness too.
keep up the great work Mike! :-D (gonna go find Ronnie...)

She posted right before me....i am in line to submit...LOLOLOL....she is always right on top of things....Yay Ronnie! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/30 Dillan AMPS 373

lol, Pat, I'm in Toronto, a bit far from B.C :lol:

Certainly is a lot of Canadians joining the board in recent months.

Ken/Blackie are in B.C thou - he has a condo here, u may like to send him a PM about where to find food selections in B.C.
Have you tried Global Ryan Pet Foods? Not sure if there is one in B.C, but their website may help with locations across Canada.
There is also Pet Value and the grocery stores chains.
Most of the food selection in Janet & Binky's food chart are available in grocery stores, with the exception of EVO, Wellness, and other "higher" end brands.
 
Re: 1/30 Dillan AMPS 373

Dillan420 said:
Thanks for the welcoming post. As far as I have read on this forum it seems as if any wet food will be better for his crystals because of the increased water in his diet and I'll probably add even more water to the food, but if anyone has some good suggestions of foods in Canada that would be nice. I looked at Binky's food list and its got some foods from Canada but not much. I think I might try the President's Choice food it looks like it has pretty good stats but I'm going to go check out Costco today to see what they have. Also I will be staying away from any foods that show increased phosphorus for its good on his kidneys, since they have probably been through so much lately due to the diabetes.


If you're looking for low phosphorus, I believe anything less than 300% (from Janet's charts) is good.
Anything with fish in it - is out of the question usually.

I have a fishy issue with my cat, so I stick with Wellness Chicken and Turkey flavours. (200% and 219%)as an example.

Be careful with Fancy Feast, some flavours, although may say "chicken" may contain fish, check the ingredient labels.
Example, Turkey/Giblets was at 396% for phosphorus in the "old food chart"

PC is a good choice, watch for gravy flavours, although good to have for your Hypo Tool kit.
 
Re: 1/30 Dillan AMPS 373

Dillan usually finishes his 1/3 of a cup portion of Hills MD DRY by +4 or so. Therefore we usually do not run into the problem of taking his food away in time and we are trying to stay away from anything in between his 12 hour portions, just because his numbers are so high right now. Also since Dillan is new to the whole ear pricking thing, I think we are just going to do a few shots today (AMPS, +3, +6, +9, PMPS) until he gets a little more use to it. Since my girlfriend and I are doing the tests (hard to do them alone) we will only be doing PMPS tests most likely during the week, but on the weekends we will always try to do lots of tests for we get some feedback on how things are going.

Yeah the places in the Eastern provinces have different stores then what we have in the west, so I haven't heard of the Ryan place before. But what type of food are you using anyways? Its possible that we have the food just not the store. I checked out EVO but it doesn't seem to be that much better then other foods that I've looked at but like I said after the next test I will be going out to look for some wet food.
 
Re: 1/30 Dillan AMPS 373

....I think we are just going to do a few shots today (AMPS, +3, +6, +9, PMPS) until he gets a little more use to it. Since my girlfriend and I are doing the tests (hard to do them alone) we will only be doing PMPS tests most likely during the week, but on the weekends we will always try to do lots of tests for we get some feedback on how things are going.

Yup this is fine! Good plan and many here do this as well, they work during the day and can only gather data in the evenings and weekends.

I feed Wellness, this one is usually available in most pet stores, you wont find it in grocery chains, Walmart or Costco.
Check your local pet stores, google it or yellow pages.

By the way, dont buy a case right off the bat of anything, try a few different brands within the % ur looking for and you'll find one that sticks.
 
Re: 1/30 Dillan AMPS 373

Whats the general trend you look for on the cans? No fish, High Protein, Low Fat? What are the %'s on the cans that you feed? I'm new to it and the can's don't really give me the numbers that I'm looking for like on Binky's food chart.
 
Re: 1/30 Dillan AMPS 373

Dillan420 said:
Whats the general trend you look for on the cans? No fish, High Protein, Low Fat? What are the %'s on the cans that you feed? I'm new to it and the can's don't really give me the numbers that I'm looking for like on Binky's food chart.


for us, low phosphorus, protein so-so, fat so-so, carbs - low ... my food choices were based out of Janet's charts...the cans wont give those numbers, you can contact most companies for updates - Wellness is pretty good about that.
In Janet's link she tells ya what info and how to ask for it when dealing with the companies.
Janet's food charts are the only source I know of that has this much valuable info on canned foods.
 
Re: 1/30 Dillan AMPS 373, +3 Missed,

I poked Dillan 4 times and each time there wasn't enough blood for the meter. I'm going to go out and get a meter that requires less blood.
 
Re: 1/30 Dillan AMPS 373, +3 Missed,

For low carb food, you want less than 10% of total calories from carbs. Use either Janet & Binky's list or "as fed" values. The "guaranteed analysis" values on the cans don't give you real numbers. A high carb food is 18% carb or more. These usually are flavors with gravy. You want to have several cans on hand if you need to steer low numbers. You can buy medium carb foor or mix HC ad LC to make your own LC. I think Ronnie answered your question about amounts with regard to phosphorus.

If you want further input on foods available in Canada that meet Dillan's dietary needs, post on Health. There are lots of people from all of the insulin forums who read the Health board and who will be able to make some additional suggestions.
 
Re: 1/30 Dillan AMPS 373, +3 Missed,

Sometimes a sock with a little rice in it...put in microwave for a few seconds....warm the ear with that.
Cold ears don't bleed as readily...
And Mike, I hope you and Ronnie understood what I meant...by " Ronnie stopping by"....LOLOLOLOL...
I meant here in your condo ....not in your real home... :lol:
 
Re: 1/30 Dillan AMPS 373, +3 Missed,

Yeah I wish I had more experienced help. Before I was doing the test with with a warm wet cloth, but this time I'm going to use the sock with rice in it. When I was using the cloth the drop would build up on the Vaseline and then it would spill out onto the cloth. I have the new tester now so I will be trying in 20 minutes also I have some Wellness Jerky treats to reward him after with.
 
Re: 1/30 Dillan AMPS 373, +3 Missed, +6 331

The new tester worked way better then the old one. My new test number was 331. I was surprised that it wasn't lower then this. Would a single little treat throw off his test if he had the treat one hour before the test? Sorry I totally forgot about the two hour thing when I gave him the treat to see if he liked them, until right after I gave him the treat :oops: What do you all think about the new test?
 
Re: 1/30 Dillan AMPS 373, +3 Missed, +6 331

Treats won't spike too much, ....

food after +9 will usually show up in your preshot number when it's time to do next insulin shot.....so if u want to feed a late cycle snack, get it in there before +10

but if there is still dry food available then yes - plus it takes longer to clear the system.
Ur SS says still on dry food, that's why I mention that.

hard to say where this +6 is going until we get to know Dillan more...but it's a good start.
 
Re: 1/30 Dillan AMPS 373, +3 Missed, +6 331

Welcome to LL :-D
What a beautiful kitty Dillan is! And, so glad to hear that he is gaining his weight back.. great news..
Looks like you have received a wealth of information to help you get started in the sugar dance..
I have used quite a few different meters and found that the Accu Check Aviva has the best sipping of all of them!
The test strips are a little spendy, but you can find great deals on e-bay :mrgreen:
Good luck on your food search today! I also was feeding Pepper WD and found that his numbers went substantially lower when we made the transition to wet..

Look forward to seeing Dillan's progress!
 
Re: 1/30 Dillan AMPS 373, +3 Missed, +6 331

OK so don't get too disappointed by the number then. Even though the +6 wasn't that low then its possible that he has his lowest point at another time?

Thats the tester that we just got, it worked amazingly well. It didn't even need the whole drop, plus I got it done on the first prick so it was quick and easy. :smile:
 
Re: 1/30 Dillan AMPS 373, +3 Missed, +6 331

Honestly, in my opinion, it's too early to tell...put on your Canadian patience cap - it may be a while yet before u can see what Dillan does mid cycle and where he peaks ya know?

You'll find it, trust me, just takes a bit of time.
 
Re: 1/30 Dillan AMPS 373, +3 Missed, +6 331, +9 333

Just finished the +9 test everything is looking pretty flat. I just thought that you see the results fast for the drops, I don't mind waiting though. I'm just happy that we're down as far as we are already and Dillan is acting better now and gaining some weight back.
 
Re: 1/30 Dillan AMPS 373, +3 Missed, +6 331, +9 333

Dillan420 said:
I'm just happy that we're down as far as we are already and Dillan is acting better now and gaining some weight back.

Most of us notice good behavior changes even before the cat's numbers come down. Enjoy your "new" kitty!

The numbers tend to stay pretty flat until you hit the right dose. If you can get tests before EVERY shot and try to get at least one spot check per cycle when you're home, then we can help you find Dillan's right dose.
 
Re: 1/30 Dillan AMPS 373, +3 Missed, +6 331, +9 333

So how long should I continue with the same dose before I start to increase it?
 
Having alot more success with the new glucose meter only needing to poke once. Dillan is starting not to like the counter where we poke him but we are trying to change that by giving him a treat each time. I'm sure as we get better with taking the BG level he will get better with it as well. We gave him a 1/4 can of Wellness Chicken Formula with a 1/4 cup of Hill's MD and he loves the wet food. He must think its a treat because he devowered it in 5 minutes, where as usually he leaves his food there for around 4 hours. I made sure that I portioned the food for it was approximately the same caloric intake as he is use to from 1/3 of a cup of Hill's MD. From the numbers I guess we have him at least regulated in the 300's, can't wait to make it to the 200's :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top