1/30 Cobb AMPS 344 +3 183 +5 113 +7 147 +9.5 150 PMPS 212

Status
Not open for further replies.

Suzanne & Cobb(GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday

Well...after a nasty streak in the pinks last night I upped Cobb's dose this morning. We are coming to the end of a Lantus vial so I wonder if it isn't quite as potent. But we'll see when I get a new one. Also strange, last night when I took the syringe out of Cobb after giving the shot, it was bent. It wasn't going in. It freaked me out and if it was like that, who knows how much insulin he got.

Cobb was extra hungry last night. I'm sure that's because of his higher numbers. All other P's are in place. Hope we find the right dose soon, although I don't see an end in sight to that...even with a high dose diagnosis, I feel like we're just going up and up. I'm going to have to talk to the vet about switching off Lantus to Lev. He yelped at this morning's shot.
 
Re: 1/30 Cobb AMPS 344

Good morning ~O) :cool:
cobbsmom said:
Also strange, last night when I took the syringe out of Cobb after giving the shot, it was bent. It wasn't going in. It freaked me out and if it was like that, who knows how much insulin he got.
If there us a possibility that last nights shot was a fur shot, make a note.

Cobb had a pretty good run with the 11.5u - Hope the new dose shows some good action- fingers crossed!
 
Re: 1/30 Cobb AMPS 344 +3 183 dosecrease

Well, we haven't seen a response to a new dose as quickly as we did todsy!! I don't think we've ever seen a response Ike between today's AMPS and +3.
 
Re: 1/30 Cobb AMPS 344 +3 183 dosecrease

Looks like the insulin did get in last night. . .

This is action from the previous dose your seeing - the bounce has cleared.

Heads up ! :cool:
 
Re: 1/30 Cobb AMPS 344 +3 183 dosecrease

So should I not have increased?

I'm confused about increasing on a bounce...

Some say it's okay. Some say no.

Is it okay to increase if the numbers aren't low enough (in the low 100s or green)?

I'm just trying to figure it out...
 
Re: 1/30 Cobb AMPS 344 +3 183 dosecrease

Sorry I don't have advice on shooting a bounce, I just wanted to say good luck with the dosecrease :-D Looks like a nice blue day for Cobb, maybe green later? Have a good one!
 
Re: 1/30 Cobb AMPS 344 +3 183 dosecrease

In general, taking into consideration whether your kitty is clearing a bounce is something that should be factored into a decision to increase.
However It is not the only factor.

-You held 11.5u for 7 days/14 cycles.
-He saw action that brought green on the 5th cycle.
-It's been 9 cycles/4.5 days since he saw green and all the blues have been high blues.

In the context of Cobb, who is clearly high dose, a more aggressive approach is required.
As long as you known your cat will eat and are able to monitor closely, when the fight to knock out high BGs gets north of 10u, you can take off the gloves.
 
Re: 1/30 Cobb AMPS 344 +3 183 +5 113

Hi Suzanne,
Sorry about the "ouchie". Rusty has bent the needle on occasion when I have given an "ouchie". I always feel so bad when that happens. But it happens. Ouchies are never fur shots, so I don't think you have to worry about the insulin not getting in. I think that what happens is that you hit a muscle instead of getting the shot just under the skin. I think it simply gets absorbed differently, but I have never noticed much difference in the movement of the numbers. By the way, I am an expert in giving all of the kinds of bad shots: fur shots, ouchies, blood shots. Despite it all, Rusty survives!!

Good luck with the dosecrease.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/30 Cobb AMPS 344 +3 183 +5 113

G-day Suzanne. Lovely blues on Cobb's SS today. I hope than means better weather outside for you. Good job increasing this morning.
Cobb was extra hungry last night. I'm sure that's because of his higher numbers. All other P's are in place. Hope we find the right dose soon, although I don't see an end in sight to that...even with a high dose diagnosis, I feel like we're just going up and up. I'm going to have to talk to the vet about switching off Lantus to Lev. He yelped at this morning's shot.
I had one of those extra hungry mornings too - I'm so happy when onset happens. :-D Depending on the results of the high dose tests, there may not be a single "right dose" but rather the dose that is right for now. With acromegaly, which Neko has, the tumor output can wax and wane. It's like you are constantly chasing after the right dose. That means going up and going back down, then up and down, repeat. I basically kept going up until a reduction was earned, then turned around, then up again if numbers aren't where I want them.

I agree with Ella that ouchies can happen, no matter the insulin. Whether a cat feels a sting on Lantus seems to be an ECID thing. Nancy/Pepper got up to 25U and didn't seem to have an issue. We got up to 8.75U without issues and I didn't switch until we got down to 1.25. Donaleen described Ozy as growling at his Lantus shot when she got to a certain number of units, so that's when she considered switching. Tommy/photosquirrel has been on Lantus for years.
 
Re: 1/30 Cobb AMPS 344 +3 183 +5 113

Wendy&Neko said:
Depending on the results of the high dose tests, there may not be a single "right dose" but rather the dose that is right for now. With acromegaly, which Neko has, the tumor output can wax and wane. It's like you are constantly chasing after the right dose. That means going up and going back down, then up and down, repeat. I basically kept going up until a reduction was earned, then turned around, then up again if numbers aren't where I want them.

I'm sure, once we have the tests run, I'll have many questions. But until then...do you just search for the right dose? Do you hold it for 4-6 cycles? I'm sure this is a ECID answer, but for Neko, what do you do?

I'm not changing any of my dosing strategy off your answer...just curious as to what we'd be doing differently if Cobb did have a positive acro test.
 
Re: 1/30 Cobb AMPS 344 +3 183 +5 113

Woo Hoo!! Look at that +5! Good going Cobb!!

Just my opinion, but I'm not sure switching insulins now that you are getting some movement will help much. The both work in a similar way (although I have heard that at higher doses, Lantus might sting) but considering the weirdness with the needle this morning, that may have as much to do with it as anything.

Also, switching to Lev would mean having to kind of start over on evaluating data if it "usually" has a later nadir.

Just thinking out loud! You're an excellent caretaker and Cobb is lucky to have you! (so is Matt and babybean too!)
 
Re: 1/30 Cobb AMPS 344 +3 183 +5 113

Chris & China said:
Woo Hoo!! Look at that +5! Good going Cobb!!

Just my opinion, but I'm not sure switching insulins now that you are getting some movement will help much. The both work in a similar way (although I have heard that at higher doses, Lantus might sting) but considering the weirdness with the needle this morning, that may have as much to do with it as anything.

Also, switching to Lev would mean having to kind of start over on evaluating data if it "usually" has a later nadir.

Just thinking out loud! You're an excellent caretaker and Cobb is lucky to have you! (so is Matt and babybean too!)
Yeah, you're right. I definitely don't want to start over!! Especially since we're seeing some progress. It could have been anything. I'm not sure an extra .5 unit would just suddenly start stinging, although there would be a dose that it does. I suppose if it does sting him I could split the dose into 2 shots and give it that way. I was just writing my thoughts as well! :-)
 
Re: 1/30 Cobb AMPS 344 +3 183 +5 113 +7 147

Neko also had SRT (stereostatic radiation therapy) which neuters the acro tumor cells, so that adds another bit of complication to the picture. She also tested positive for IAA. The IAA part means I try to keep her at a dose where she sees as much green as possible, or else her bouncing gets worse. For example, she was doing really well in December but for some reason decided to trade in her flat shoes for bouncy basketball shoes this month. :roll: So I've got to get her used to seeing green again.

There is no fixed length of time I hold a dose. Instead, I focus on where I want the numbers to be. I like a dose that gets her nadirs in the 70s or 80s. I'm not trying to heal her pancreas so I just try to keep her in nice below renal threshold numbers as much as possible, which is harder when she's so bouncy. I do generally follow the protocol. If her nadirs are lower than I want, that's OK, I hold the dose until she tells me she needs less juice. If she's not getting the nadirs I want, I'll increase until they're where I want them. Last summer I held a dose for two months because the nadirs kept on landing where I wanted them to.

You don't completely start over when you switch to Levemir, but you do have to start learning the patterns again. That was the painful part for me. I had an understanding on Lantus on whether I could sleep based on the before bed test and had to relearn that all over again.
 
Re: 1/30 Cobb AMPS 344 +3 183 +5 113 +7 147 +9.5 150 PMPS 21

Thanks Wendy! Good info for me to read and reread. :-)

Not a bad start to this cycle. Given where we started the day, I'll take my sunny preshot! :cool: I mean, Cobb's sunny preshot, of course. Because if you ask him, he's doing all the work. The life of a cat must be SO demanding! :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top