1/30 BUDDY AMPS #279 +3 212 +6 325 PMPS #302 +4 246

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mike&Buddy

Member Since 2011
No food for 3 approx. hours, one small can of FF Beef (This is his 1st shoot we are going by work schedule to accommodate shots. 130PM work to 130AM home) *did we check him to many times? :smile:


1st reading 12:30 pm; 285

2nd reading 1:00 pm; 305

3rd reading 1:26 pm; 279

I think according to A 4.4- we gave a token shot.
 
Re: 1/30 BUDDY AMPS # 282, 305, 279 PM

hi mike. welcome to the group! :mrgreen:
are you home to monitor today? the reason i'm asking is we usually like to see the first couple of cycles monitored. if you're home, i wouldn't hesitate to shoot one unit .
 
Re: 1/30 BUDDY AMPS # 282, 305, 279 PM

Jill & Alex said:
hi mike. welcome to the group! :mrgreen:
are you home to monitor today? the reason i'm asking is we usually like to see the first couple of cycles monitored. if you're home, i wouldn't hesitate to shoot one unit .

Oh nuts... I gave him a little less then that was going by the A.4.4 newbie sticky! Yep, home all day with him
 
Re: 1/30 BUDDY AMPS # 282, 305, 279 PM

no problem! don't give him any more, k?
how about getting a spot check at +2? post the number.
 
Re: 1/30 BUDDY AMPS # 282, 305, 279 PM

Jill & Alex said:
no problem! don't give him any more, k?
how about getting a spot check at +2? post the number.

No more...Check in +2, roger that!
 
Re: 1/30 BUDDY AMPS # 282, 305, 279 PM

No worries....can you post in your thread (not subject line) what you did shoot? Also, your subject line should only have your AMPS...that is the number right before you shot...otherwise, we are all confused about the numbers above :lol: One of the dosing experts can help you decide what to shoot tonight but it will depend on if you can monitor...remember, Lantus likes consistency so you need to try and shoot same dose, same time each cycle unless you get a low number that you are not comfy with...then post and someone will help you.
 
Re: 1/30 BUDDY AMPS # 279

Marjorie and Gracie said:
No worries....can you post in your thread (not subject line) what you did shoot? Also, your subject line should only have your AMPS...that is the number right before you shot...otherwise, we are all confused about the numbers above :lol: One of the dosing experts can help you decide what to shoot tonight but it will depend on if you can monitor...remember, Lantus likes consistency so you need to try and shoot same dose, same time each cycle unless you get a low number that you are not comfy with...then post and someone will help you.


I shot a "token" which to me looked like it really was about just under 1/2 a unit, any less and the thing would not be holding anything. But I am not going anywhere tonight, will be here with him. So I post the 279, which was his last BG reading before shoot, right?
 
Re: 1/30 BUDDY AMPS # 282, 305, 279 PM

Glad Jill stopped by as she is a dosing helper! Do you work nights?
Just monitor like you did this morning--Do you have high carb food? or Medium carb? karo syrup or honey and lots of strips??
That's your emergancy hypo kit--You can control the numbers with food , and if needed a little syrup..Normal numbers are 60-120. Not to worry I'm sure he'll be fine today!
I do checks at amps, +3,+6, Pmps & before bed--That's basics-Jill suggested +2 to see where he is going on his first day!
 
Re: 1/30 BUDDY AMPS # 282, 305, 279 PM

Roni and Moonie said:
Glad Jill stopped by as she is a dosing helper! Do you work nights?
Just monitor like you did this morning--Do you have high carb food? or Medium carb? karo syrup or honey and lots of strips??
That's your emergancy hypo kit--You can control the numbers with food , and if needed a little syrup..Normal numbers are 60-120. Not to worry I'm sure he'll be fine today!
I do checks at amps, +3,+6, Pmps & before bed--That's basics-Jill suggested +2 to see where he is going on his first day!

I work 4 PM to 12 AM, do not get home till about 12:30 or so, we go for 1:30 in case I am late. But note: I tend to get stuck with overtime now and then - like a 16 hour shift!- I have some snacks (Temptations) and high carbs I think (9 lives Chicken & Beef?), and some hard stuff Wellness Core - yeah I know its hard stuff. I have glucose goop in packaged tubes, but no syrup.
 
Re: 1/30 BUDDY AMPS # 282, 305, 279 PM

Hi Mike! And Welcome!!!!
Good job with the shooting and testing. From reading bits here and there, I see you are really working hard to make sure Buddy is getting the best care.

One note about the temptation and kibbles. IF Buddy were to go low and you fed this to him, it would not hit his system right away and he could continue to drop (or stay in a lower than comfortable range). Then, later on..maybe an hr, 2, or 3 down the line his numbers will sky rocket from the dry stuff. So, that said...best to stick with wet food, gravy, or karo.

There is a discussion and links in Cheryl/Whiskers condo today about what to use if your cat is going into low numbers. Take a peek when you have a chance, k?
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=35621

Good luck today to both of you!!!
 
Re: 1/30 BUDDY AMPS # 279

welcome to Lantus Land, Mike!

When you're at the store, I would pick up some foods like Fancy Feast or Friskies grilled varieties with gravy, or the Fancy Feast gravy lovers. Mark the cans "HC" or "high carb" and put them on a top shelf so they don't get mixed up with his regular food. Those are the best thing to have on hand if he gets lower numbers - the gravy makes it easy to "steer" his numbers with food, without sending him as high as the glucose stuff will. Of course, still keep the glucose because in a real emergency that would be the fastest way to bring the numbers up fast.

Looking forward to seeing the rest of your tests today!
 
Re: 1/30 BUDDY AMPS # 279

Libby's suggestion regarding food is what you need to have on hand. We use high carb (HC) food to steer numbers. If you look at Gabby's SS, you'll see in the comments section that I've been keeping her surfing in the 60s this afternoon by giving her some of the gravy from FF Gravy Lovers. I've never used the glucose goop you mentioned. Honey, Karo or maple syrup are also simple sugar solutions and will work just as well as the glucose if you need a bigger gun to raise BG levels.

Also, just so you know, we don't really use clock times. There are people from every imaginable time zone here. We post times based on how many hours past your shot time you tested. It gives us a common language. So, when you get the +2 test, you can go to your first post from today, click on the "edit" button, and add the "+2 - ###" to your subject line. The info will only appear on the Board if you edit the first post in the thread (or condo, as we refer to our daily threads). If you want to bump your condo to the top of the Board, you need to add a new post to the thread.
 
Re: 1/30 BUDDY AMPS # 279

Sienne and Gabby said:
Libby's suggestion regarding food is what you need to have on hand. We use high carb (HC) food to steer numbers. If you look at Gabby's SS, you'll see in the comments section that I've been keeping her surfing in the 60s this afternoon by giving her some of the gravy from FF Gravy Lovers. I've never used the glucose goop you mentioned. Honey, Karo or maple syrup are also simple sugar solutions and will work just as well as the glucose if you need a bigger gun to raise BG levels.

Also, just so you know, we don't really use clock times. There are people from every imaginable time zone here. We post times based on how many hours past your shot time you tested. It gives us a common language. So, when you get the +2 test, you can go to your first post from today, click on the "edit" button, and add the "+2 - ###" to your subject line. The info will only appear on the Board if you edit the first post in the thread (or condo, as we refer to our daily threads). If you want to bump your condo to the top of the Board, you need to add a new post to the thread.

OK, will try to figure out this posting thing in regards to time. My work uses 24 hour operations and its drilled into a habit. Reports, etc all are documented in times. Using the process you desire here will take some brain training. As for the food, ect. We will go to the store tomorrow before work -if time allows that is- and get the Karo and stuff. We have been feeding everyone FF for over a year now - we got the info from the FDMB listing- after April started to be FDB, which now she is so far remission due to the diet.
 
Re: 1/30 BUDDY AMPS # 279

Not to worry about the time thing. It's like a 12-hour clock. You just start over with numbering every time you give a shot. Before you know it, you'll find yourself talking in "+" times and everyone around you will look at you funny.

Getting your SS up and running is probably the more important thing for life in Lantus Land. Most of us are entirely SS dependent.
 
Re: 1/30 BUDDY AMPS # 279

Ok, will try to get into the SS ASAP. I need to check Buddy here in about 20 minutes for his +3. Strike that, I have another hour! Gessh!

Also, I have not eaten anything since I got up except for about 10 cups of coffee, so I am heading for the instant mac-cheese mix.
 
Re: 1/30 BUDDY AMPS # 279 +3 212

Don't worry you'll get it. I am still sort of confused and have already been giving insulin for almost a month, but alot better off then when I 1st started thanx to all the help from these wonderful people here!

Sounds like you are doing great so far tho!!! :thumbup
 
Re: 1/30 BUDDY AMPS # 279 +3 212

Thanks, now for the big wait I suppose is what to do come 1:30 AM tonight?
 
Re: 1/30 BUDDY AMPS # 279 +3 212

Mike said:
Thanks, now for the big wait I suppose is what to do come 1:30 AM tonight?

The next part is easy - you just shoot the same dose you shot this morning, every 12 hours for at least 5 days. Get tests at each preshot and as many spot checks as you can, and then we'll evaluate his dose then. Of course, if he goes too low (under 50) on any cycle then you would need to reduce his dose, but you don't want to increase it for at least 5 days unless we suggest otherwise. Occasionally we will recommend that someone increase a dose earlier than that, but that's usually only if the cat's numbers are very high and flat.

Your assignment is to read the New to the Group and Tight Regulation Protocols stickies again (and again!). They won't all make sense yet, but those will explain how we approach dosing, as well as the "prerequisites" for using a tight regulation protocol.

Good job today!
 
Re: 1/30 BUDDY AMPS # 279 +3 212

Libby and Lucy said:
Mike said:
Thanks, now for the big wait I suppose is what to do come 1:30 AM tonight?

The next part is easy - you just shoot the same dose you shot this morning, every 12 hours for at least 5 days. Get tests at each preshot and as many spot checks as you can, and then we'll evaluate his dose then. Of course, if he goes too low (under 50) on any cycle then you would need to reduce his dose, but you don't want to increase it for at least 5 days unless we suggest otherwise. Occasionally we will recommend that someone increase a dose earlier than that, but that's usually only if the cat's numbers are very high and flat.

Your assignment is to read the New to the Group and Tight Regulation Protocols stickies again (and again!). They won't all make sense yet, but those will explain how we approach dosing, as well as the "prerequisites" for using a tight regulation protocol.

Good job today!

Oh, wow. So unless its really low I keep shooting!? Yeah the TRP's are a bit confusing at the moment. As far as testing goes I would have to set my alarm, I go to bed by 2 or so. My schedule is one of the worst when it comes to caring for my furkids. I will do the best I can, so far he seems OK. We are just tired and cross eyed from reading, typing and searching for the last 24 hours!

Thank you!
 
Re: 1/30 BUDDY AMPS #279 +3 212 +6 325

It's ok....it happens.....even to long-time FD. They kept telling me "it's a marathon, not a sprint". I still forget sometimes. :lol: Good job today, Mike. Love Buddy's avatar!
 
Re: 1/30 BUDDY AMPS #279 +3 212 +6 325

Thanks, this has been a rough week so far. My internal clock is kind of whacked at the moment. I am still jumpy to shoot him at 1:30 AM tonight. Then I will have to set my alarm to wake up a couple of hours later, then get up and do it just before I'm NOT supposed to get up yet. But I understand its necessary.
 
Re: 1/30 BUDDY AMPS #279 +3 212 +6 325

Hi, Mike! You and Buddy are doing great! As long as your pre-shot is not below your "do not shoot" number, you shoot your scheduled dose. Lantus is an insulin that loves consistency, and Buddy may bounce around a bit while his "shed" fills. I know how FD wrecks havoc on a schedule! I've been at this for 7 weeks now, and it seems like it's been a crazy balancing act!

But you are doing the best you can, and Buddy is a very lucky little furbaby to have a dad so devoted to making sure he gets the care he needs. So, hang in there, okay? Seriously, you're doing great! :)

Have a good night!
 
Re: 1/30 BUDDY AMPS #279 +3 212 +6 325

Christie & Willie said:
Hi, Mike! You and Buddy are doing great! As long as your pre-shot is not below your "do not shoot" number, you shoot your scheduled dose. Lantus is an insulin that loves consistency, and Buddy may bounce around a bit while his "shed" fills. I know how FD wrecks havoc on a schedule! I've been at this for 7 weeks now, and it seems like it's been a crazy balancing act!

But you are doing the best you can, and Buddy is a very lucky little furbaby to have a dad so devoted to making sure he gets the care he needs. So, hang in there, okay? Seriously, you're doing great! :)

Have a good night!

Hi, as I understand that he gets the same does he did at 1:30 PM.. 1/2 unit. It was supposed to be 1 unit(?) but we where trying to determine the shot on the sitckys we have been reading. When you say below you mean under 200? Right? Applies to section A4.4, under 200 no shoot, above 200 shoot..I am confused about this pre-shot value. Does this mean what the had when I first shot him should not lower? I am very tired and trying to figure this out... again. Section A4.4 is a little confusing to me.
 
Re: 1/30 BUDDY AMPS #279 +3 212 +6 325

Its harder in the beginning - you're nervous and you don't know how your cat reacts to the insulin. Give it a couple of weeks and you will be a lot more calm, its nice to be able to go look at your SS and say okay...this # is lower than normal - I need to set an alarm to make sure nothing crazy happens, or this # is about where he usually is...I can go to sleep without worrying.

I personally keep my testing supplies on my nightstand - Kazi sleeps with me so it makes it easy to just flip on my lamp, test and then go right back to sleep without ever having left my bed. I am far too lazy to actually get out of bed and find the cat in the middle of the night to test. :lol:
 
Re: 1/30 BUDDY AMPS #279 +3 212 +6 325

Amanda said:
Its harder in the beginning - you're nervous and you don't know how your cat reacts to the insulin. Give it a couple of weeks and you will be a lot more calm, its nice to be able to go look at your SS and say okay...this # is lower than normal - I need to set an alarm to make sure nothing crazy happens, or this # is about where he usually is...I can go to sleep without worrying.

I personally keep my testing supplies on my nightstand - Kazi sleeps with me so it makes it easy to just flip on my lamp, test and then go right back to sleep without ever having left my bed. I am far too lazy to actually get out of bed and find the cat in the middle of the night to test. :lol:

Your not kidding! No, Buddy is a night kitty. After he lays down with me at bed time about 20 minutes later he is up and wondering around. I have to find him I'm afraid. He will perch some place and "nap", he only comes to bed a long time when its really, really cold or he has been doing his "sentinel" patrols none stop.

As for the SS, honestly I have peaked at it. I have so much stuff going for this right now that I can't really focus on the sheet, make inputs and deal with this Google hypertext posting in your signature thing. I am good an multi-tasking but when I have had enough rest. Yes, I hope it gets easier. It seems when its "family" you tend to worry a little to much I guess. Thank you very much for your support. And the rest of you. Well, 30 minutes till shoot number two time.
 
Re: 1/30 BUDDY AMPS #279 +3 212 +6 325 PMPS #302

OK, I think I did the post right PMPS#. This is his second shot for him in 12 hours. We shot 1/2 unit like the last time, if my old eyes did not deceive me. Those lines look fuzzy this late. :lol:

Well, I am off to bed. Up in about 3 hours... ugh! Thank you all that are still up and those in later.

Mike
 
Re: 1/30 BUDDY AMPS #279 +3 212 +6 325 PMPS #302

good job, mike! it is late. if i were in your shoes i'd set an alarm to check buddy around +4.

if he's still in the mid to upper 200s (or higher) @ +4, i'd go back to bed.

if he's in the lower 200s - mid 100s i'd retest A +5 or +6... depending on how low he is.

if he's dropped into the lower 100s by +4, you'll want to test more frequently. post his numbers. if no one is available here, cross post on health. the other side of the world should be waking up soon. someone will be around if you have questions.

just trying to set up a few scenarios for you 'cuz i'm heading off to bed shortly...
 
Re: 1/30 BUDDY AMPS #279 +3 212 +6 325 PMPS #302

Ok, thanks. Will print this out and stick it on the door (with all the other notes!)...

Lets hope he levels off. Thank you!
 
I was hoping for a little lower. :-| Not as good as the last time. Huh.... 246

Not as good as the PM check one was. Well, he seems OK back to bed till the next check.

Take care all.
 
You did great and got sleep. For today, you start a new condo (i.e., a new thread).

Also, if you are stuck with the SS, there is a Tech Support forum. If you need help, they are there to lend a hand with getting your SS set up and linked to your signature. If you got your avatar set up, the SS should be easier! (Or it was for me.)
 
OK, I'm up! Staring the day with the usual mayhem. When I start to do the next shot around 1:30 PM I will post a new thread. And I will read up on this SS -notes- at work during lunch (I do not have web access at work).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top