1/30 Blackie +12.5-65,+18.5-436,PMPS-425,+6-342

Status
Not open for further replies.

Team Blackie (GA)

Member Since 2009
1/29 Condo

Our first green AMPS ever. I shot 30 min early last night. I haven't given him his food or injection yet. I'm planning on retesting at 30 min after his test to see where he is.

Now I'm pretty sure he'll get a rebound if I inject him anyways but since I'm using a new cartridge of insulin I should use some caution.

So my decision is either:

1. Retest at 30 min and if hes the same or lower then I skip his shot and feed him.
OR
2. Just inject him anyways since hes known to rebound after hitting a low number.

I'm leaning towards #2, am I right in this case?

I'll be home all day.
 
Re: 1/30 Blackie AMPS-65 *decision help*

have u fed him? if no - dont feed yet - u want to make sure this is a rising number without food in there.

remember the longer u stall (and yes - stall) you will have to make up that time later.
 
Re: 1/30 Blackie AMPS-65

Hes the exact same number so I decided to skip the shot and give him his breakfast. It'll be one of those learning experience days.

He was actually quiet and patient while waiting for his food. Before he would start his non-stop meowing if he didn't get food at his usual time.
 
Re: 1/30 Blackie AMPS-65 (no shot)

Wow Ken, Blackie sure likes to keep you on your toes - either by nipping them directly or with some crazy numbers!

Another alternative would have been to go with a BCS dose so the shed doesn't empty. Since Blackie has a relatively high dose you had a lot of wiggle room with that - something less than usual but what you'd be comfortable shooting.

But like you said, today's a learning day, and regardless of where the day takes Blackie's numbers, you know he's capable of producing a green AMPS # for you finally!

I think having the new lantus is already making a difference.
 
Re: 1/30 Blackie AMPS-65,+18.5-436

A BCS shot didn't even cross my mind, that would have been the best way to go about it. Next time he gets this kind of AMPS and I'm home all day I'll know to give the full dose. I probably would have gone down a full unit for a BCS for today's AMPS.

Hes doing good today, eating lots as usual.
 
Re: 1/30 Blackie AMPS-65,+18.5-436

It's always nice to know what they do without a shot.. Always a learning experience :mrgreen:
I've seen some kitties where skipping a shot empties out the shed a little and they do fine..
Now, you know that Blackie will be okay with a BCS.. Have a great Caturday Ken!
 
Re: 1/30 Blackie +12.5-65,+18.5-436,PMPS-425

that's really not so bad for a +24. Today was good data collection, now you have some new ideas about what to do next time Blackie gives you a green AMPS. Hopefully it will be on a weekend, or a day you're home, so you can try a BCS or full dose next time and see what happens.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top