1/3 Pino PMPS 56

I'm not really able to advise but I've been in your shoes a couple of times with low preshots and when I'm waiting for advice, I turn to the TR sticky. I see you are on TR: Good luck! It's scary but keep breathing!

Some general rules when stalling (ECID):
  • 50s or higher – don’t feed. The number will bump up on its own soon due to the insulin wearing off.
  • 40s or lower – you have a couple of choices.
    • When 40s occur at the end of the cycle, it can be beneficial to withhold food and test in 15-20 minutes to determine if kitty is on the rise or hasn’t reached nadir yet.
    • If they are hanging in the 40s for a while, or if they are still dropping, it is ok to feed a tsp or two of LC and retest. This is very tricky. You want to avoid feeding too much while you’re waiting for them to go over 50, because you don’t want to artificially inflate the number with food.
      • Example: if kitty is 43 and you feed a whole meal, or feed some HC, and the number bumps up to 52, is that the cat’s natural end-of-cycle rise, or is it food spike? What if it is food spike? Then if you shoot the 52, when the food wears off he might drop back to the 40’s (and when insulin kicks in a couple of hours later, you might have a problem). If the 52 is the cat’s natural rise, then he will probably keep rising for the next few hours until insulin kicks in. If you can’t tell whether the number is food spike or natural rise, it’s safest to wait. Your data will help you here. Study the spreadsheet. How much food spike does the cat usually get? How many hours after the shot does the insulin’s onset usually occur in this cat? At what number is the cat likely to be when onset occurs? If the cat does drop, how easy/hard is it to regain control of the numbers? How carb sensitive is he?
  • Test often (every 15-20 minutes, or at most every 30 minutes). You want to catch the rise the minute it starts. With most of our cats, once they start to rise they will really zoom. You want to get the insulin in as soon as possible, because it will be another 2-3 hours before the insulin kicks in and you don’t want to let the cycle get too far ahead of you.
Perhaps the most important guideline in shooting low is that any time you shoot your lowest ever number, you should get a +1 and +2 to give you an idea of how the cycle will go. If the +1 is not higher than PS, or if +2 is much lower than PS, that means “pay attention” over the next few hours. Those tests will also help you become even more data ready for the next time you are presented with a low preshot reading.
 
I gave him 1tsp of his regural low carb food. I had to give him some because he is begging for it. I will retest in 30 again.
 
Yes. Any drop under 50 earns a reduction. Down to 4.25. Will you be able to monitor closely tonight as long as needed?
 
I’d test again 30 minutes after he ate lc. If any drop feed higher lc. I will check back in 30. Good catch. Are you doing ok?
 
I’d test again 30 minutes after he ate lc. If any drop feed higher lc. I will check back in 30. Good catch. Are you doing ok?
I will retest him in 30.
I'm doing okay. I just got scared of these low preshoots because I am used for him to be really high. That's why I didn't test him again at +10 after AMPS because he is usally already high at that time. But maybe I should :(
I guess that is the depot effect right?
 
I think you might have hit the breakthrough dose. Because he was still dropping a +10 would have made it possible to feed them to keep him from dropping under 50. Honestly, I would have not tested at +10 given his +8 though. He had a very late nadir. Congrats on shooting your first green.
 
You earned this.
upload_2023-1-3_9-28-56.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-1-3_9-28-56.png
    upload_2023-1-3_9-28-56.png
    31.4 KB · Views: 150
Just edited the thread.

+0.5 is 59.
I will retest again in 30minutes that will be +1.

I am so glad that he is such a good and patient kitty. But when he is hungry he becomes a (devil).
 
+1 is 56.
I will test him every 30minutes just to make sure he is okay.
He ate everything at the shoot time and his snack when you told me to give him.
 
He is +1.5 45. :arghh:
i will give him the 11% and see what happens after 30minutes. In that time i will have the 20%.
 
I just gave him some honey. I will retest again and let you know what's going on. He seems just normal as usally.
Honey will take at least 15 mins to affect his numbers. Food takes 20 mins. It's good he's doing okay. As long as you can feed and test you can keep him safe.
 
He will eat whenever I will give him as long as it's not a big meal

OK...I'd give him a teaspoon or two of the 11% and test again in 30 minutes.

Another option is to give him a few teaspoons of the "gravy" part of a Gravy Lovers (the 20%). He has earned the reduction so there's nothing left for him to prove during this cycle so there's no reason you can't carb him up so you're not up all night.
 
I have 17% carb and a can ob 29% that’s all boyfriend could get at the moment.

OK...break out the 29% and give him at least a couple of teaspoons. Like I said above, he's already earned the reduction so there's no need to worry about feeding high carb food. Even if you fed him the entire can, it won't last forever. (and he's probably also going to bounce again at some point, so there's no reason to worry about feeding him high carb food.)

Test again in 30
 
OK...break out the 29% and give him at least a couple of teaspoons. Like I said above, he's already earned the reduction so there's no need to worry about feeding high carb food. Even if you fed him the entire can, it won't last forever. (and he's probably also going to bounce again at some point, so there's no reason to worry about feeding him high carb food.)

Test again in 30
Okay. I gave him the 29% and i will retest again in 30minutes.
So tomorrow i continue with 4.25U right?
 
If he'd usually get a snack, yes, use his regular low carb.

Get 1 more test in an hour. If he's still going up, you could probably go ahead and get some rest
 
I am so sorry. I lost my internet. The workers unplugged everything. I’m glad Chris and Bhooma were around.
 
Looks like he's going to be safe for the rest of the cycle. Unless he does something totally unexpected in the next 30 minutes, I think you could wait until AMPS (although it might be a good idea to get a +11.5 so if he doesn't bounce you would have some time to get opinions on the AM dose)

If he wasn't pretty high, I'd probably suggest dropping to 4.0 considering how hard it was to get him up this cycle
 
Looks like he's going to be safe for the rest of the cycle. Unless he does something totally unexpected in the next 30 minutes, I think you could wait until AMPS (although it might be a good idea to get a +11.5 so if he doesn't bounce you would have some time to get opinions on the AM dose)

If he wasn't pretty high, I'd probably suggest dropping to 4.0 considering how hard it was to get him up this cycle
99. He is going up REALLY slowly. I will sure get a test at +11.5 and maybe an extra test before if he wakes me up (as he does often). He will get his snack around +8 after the shoot.
 
Back
Top