1/3 Marley AMPS 165

Hold the dose. It's good to see all that green. Did he dive from 247 to 67 in the AM cycle yesterday or is that a typo in the SS?
 
Oh my goodness it was in the wrong cycle and a typo!!! So sorry. Corrected now!
 
Oh my goodness it was in the wrong cycle and a typo!!! So sorry. Corrected now!
If you need help with inputting some half hour tests in the SS, let me know. Just send me the readings and I will do it :-)

I gave him higher carb food at +5.5 for the first time and hes been stable for a while. I'm putting timer on for +1 hour with a small bit of higher carb food too and am going to bed
Also, for future reference, it is better to feed the higher carb earlier in the cycle when the insulin action is stronger. So some higher carbs at +3 last night when he was much lower than PMPS would have been good. There is no hard and fast rule in feeding the curve. And one can get different results in different cycles - you just do the best you can!
 
Also, for future reference, it is better to feed the higher carb earlier in the cycle when the insulin action is stronger. So some higher carbs at +3 last night when he was much lower than PMPS would have been good. There is no hard and fast rule in feeding the curve. And one can get different results in different cycles - you just do the best you can!
I think its because I know the healing comes between 40-50 so I didnt want tp prevent that - I wanted to give him time at 50 (whilst keeping a very close eye on him) .Isnt it good he did have time there?

I was ll ready to if he dropped any more.

I guess it meant I had a later night which wasnt ideal but I want him to heal!!!
 
Also, for future reference, it is better to feed the higher carb earlier in the cycle when the insulin action is stronger. So some higher carbs at +3 last night when he was much lower than PMPS would have been good. There is no hard and fast rule in feeding the curve. And one can get different results in different cycles - you just do the best you can!

I really didnt mean for him to have that feed so close to the PMPS. I left it in a time for a plus 1 because I was a bit nervous going to bed when he was still bg of only 50. It was past midnight and I hat hit my wall ( I hit it actually at 10 but pushed through.....and anyway he seemed really well and bored by food which is a good sign.

He'd flatlined for a while so I figured he was safe. But I know he double dips sometimes, but not til really late. So my thinking was, leave him a feed for an hour. If he needs to, he will still be awake and will eat it. If he doesnt need it he wont bother to get up, and if he's goes down bg wise again much later in the night the food will be there when he needs it - so win win,

I then needed the toilet in the night )+10). He hadn't slept on my bed so I wanted to check he was ok. I dont know if I woke him or he was just hungry but I went to see if the food was there, and to see him but I found him arriving at the food! I guess he was hungry enough to bother to get up.

So I didnt mean for him to eat the food then at all. If he hadn't started on it I would have tested him a d given him a low carb treat but as he'd started it seemed too mean to rip it away.

I think its interesting that 2 hours later at PMPS he'd only gone up 2 points from 163 to 165.

Does that show a double dip and that the food stopped him going lower?
 
So I guess I should do a plus 2 and a plus 3 today?
Yes. He will most probably bounce from the lows of last night.

I really didnt mean for him to have that feed so close to the PMPS. I left it in a time for a plus 1 because I was a bit nervous going to bed when he was still bg of only 50. It was past midnight and I hat hit my wall ( I hit it actually at 10 but pushed through.....and anyway he seemed really well and bored by food which is a good sign.
Sorry for the confusion. I meant the higher carb you fed at +5 last night. Not the one he accidentally got into at +10. Interesting that he was flat after eating higher carb at +10. What was the carb%?
 
But I did that as I wanted to go to sleep.

Had it been the day I would have not given it at all as he was holding it at 50. Is that wrong?
Safety first, so it wasn't wrong per se. It's just that you want to feed the carbs earlier in the cycle to prevent drops later in the cycle. Also feeding carbs later in the cycle can reduce the duration of the insulin action and you want him to spend as much time as possible in good numbers.

I think I have done it! Thank you
It worked. Thanks. :-)
 
Ok sorry it took me that long to find the calculator......but the good thing is ive sorted Malreys file now so everything is organised and should be easier to find in a hurry! )

So the supposed HC food actually is 8.7%

I bought two types at the same time, its coming back to me now. One ws meant to be HC and the other MC

This was the MC and the other HC is 13.42%

But in other lows, the 13.42 one did nothing and the 8.7 did something, so that is why I use the 8.7 ....if that makes sense........

If I am really worried I add the lactose free yet she cow dairy plain yoghurt. That works fast
 
Safety first, so it wasn't wrong per se. It's just that you want to feed the carbs earlier in the cycle to prevent drops later in the cycle. Also feeding carbs later in the cycle can reduce the duration of the insulin action and you want him to spend as much time as possible in good numbers.
Weirdly that is what I was aiming for.......and my odd way of doing it seemed to work last night..........but are you saying normally those choices would have got the opposite effect? I guess I just followed my instinct.

I'm left a bit confused.

I am always interested to know what experience shows us, time tested - the knowledge and wisdom you have........ But it leaves me a dilemma .......are you thinking I should next time go against my instinct to follow more known 'rules'?

For instance if id have fed him higher carb earlier in the cycle, maybe he would have gone up more quickly and then spend hardly anytime in the 50's and so less time in healing numbers......Couyld that then have caused him to then be higher at the AMPS?


Could be my instincts are great and connected to the moment of what is right, or the that it was pure coincidence and luck.

So tricky!!!!
 
Last edited:
That's surprising. Are you sure of the carb%?
Well before I got the numbers for those particular foods off a chart which came from updated numbers from their website. And I just did it from the actual can just now as I know they can change the ingredients........so I think the numbers I gave are pretty accurate - to the best of my ability...

It is possible that the days I tried the real HC one, he was just having a stronger reaction from Insulin, so thats why it didnt work before. I will try the real HC again another day and see.
 
Ok so hes had a huge bounce +2 277

So I guess this is what you are referring to?

The later feed of HC affects this reading?

So do you think I should have given HC at the +3 last night?

what about the keeping him safely and well monitored in those healing numbers where his pancreas stands a chance to heal?

Sorry so many questions!!
 
Sorry I’ve had one of those days.
I left my charger at work so not sure I can fill in spreadsheet from my phone.
Pumps 240
+ 2 137
+3.5 91
+4.5 81

looks like active cycle again!
 
Last edited:
Thank you so so much. I will be reunited with my charger today but it won’t be reunited with my computer until tonight!!
 
Back
Top