1/3 Leo PMPS 414, +3 428, .25 dosecrease & ???

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lacie

Member Since 2010
Leo and I are newbies and until today I was having a hard time getting blood out of his ears for home testing. He was a street kitty and got some frostbite before he found his way to my home.

We really haven't been seeing much yellow since we started on December 21, and today I finally got enough of a curve to justify a dosage increase. He was on 1.5u, vet said go up to 2u but I was cautious tonight and shot 1.75u. Took a before bed reading and he went UP 3 hours after the PM shot. Is this normal? I don't think I gave him a fur shot. Should I jump straight to the 2u tomorrow morning as the vet wanted? If I stay at 1.75u, how long to hold?

I guess we don't have to worry about him going low tonight :? I'm going to bed but will check in before the AMPS and shot. Thanks!
 
Hi & WElcome to Lantus Land-Dose increases are done in 0.25U increments--You will need to monitor him tomorrow, to see how the increase will affect him--It looks like an increase is indicated from your SS--I would not go to 2U--Go slow, have patience & consistancy--You will gradually see changes--
Read the stickys on the top of the lantus page..very important--OK?
Yes definitely check in v=before you shoot in the am, but IMHO, I would listen to vet & the knowledge we have here & only increase by 0.25U--
Have a good night!--Leo got a nice yellow number today--That's good, he is coming down :mrgreen:
 
Hi, Lacie & Leo, welcome! Bless your heart for taking Leo in & rescuing him :YMHUG:
Roni has given you some great information (read the stickies) and print out so you can have on hand.
It all seems overwhelming in the beginning, but this is a very treatable disease & we are all here to help you, ask tons of questions & you will get tons of answers.
I wanted to drop through to support & encourage you & provide you some links to assist you with home testing ;-)

Home Testing Site

Home Testing Video

Here is some wonderful information on feline nutrition too, is Leo on dry or canned? Feline Nutrition
 
Lacie said:
Leo and I are newbies and until today I was having a hard time getting blood out of his ears for home testing. He was a street kitty and got some frostbite before he found his way to my home.

We really haven't been seeing much yellow since we started on December 21, and today I finally got enough of a curve to justify a dosage increase. He was on 1.5u, vet said go up to 2u but I was cautious tonight and shot 1.75u. Took a before bed reading and he went UP 3 hours after the PM shot. Is this normal? I don't think I gave him a fur shot. Should I jump straight to the 2u tomorrow morning as the vet wanted? If I stay at 1.75u, how long to hold?

I guess we don't have to worry about him going low tonight :? I'm going to bed but will check in before the AMPS and shot. Thanks!

Welcome to Lantus Land, Leo and Lacie! Wow, that's a lot of Ls, isn't it? :lol:

Good for you, increasing by 0.25u instead of 0.5u! I would stay with the 1.75u tomorrow morning, and for the next 2 cycles after that, at minimum. Usually, you will hold a dose for 6 cycles, but there are circumstances when you would hold it for less or more. Yes, it is normal to see the BG go up when you increase the dose, Lantus forms a shed (depot) under the skin and the shed has to fill when you increase the dose. More of the insulin is going into the shed instead of working to lower BG. You often won't see the results of the increase for 3-4 cycles, sometimes longer. So patience is important with Lantus!

I notice that you don't have AMPS for several days, but you got a PM+11 for some of those days. Is there a reason for this? We ask that everyone get a minimum of 4 tests per day.....AMPS, PMPS and one spot check during each cycle. Some of those spot checks should be close to the middle part of the cycle, or around the kitty's nadir. You will want those nadir checks in order to decide if Leo needs an increase in dose.

Curves can be very helpful for figuring out when the usual nadir is. A curve is taken every 2 hours, a mini curve is taken every 3 hours. Curves can help with deciding if a dose increase is needed, but it's also important to get nadir checks in other cycles in addition to the curve.

Please read the stickies at the top of the forum, start with the New to the Group and Tight Regulation Protocol stickies. There is a lot of great info there! I hope you will post every day and ask any questions you might have!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top