1/3/23 Need Help AMPS 351 (relion) +3 431 (alphatrak2)

lbeachstace

Member Since 2022
We are concerned and confused about Buddy's BG numbers.

We switched to the relion meter this morning and aren't sure we are using it correctly, so we used the Alphatrak2 for +3 today.

(Long story short, I had to go back to the office to work today and i usually do the BG testing. @lbeachmike is more comfortable with the Alphatrak2 and we didn't get to read the entire manual yet for the Relion. We are trying out best - hope it's not too confusing.)

@lbeachmike said Buddy's a bit sluggish today but he's eating like normal - was very happy with his snack after his +3 test.

He has only the litter box today to pee (ketones are negative), so far today.

He's had 4 doses of 5.5 units but maybe his numbers have been all out of wack due to the constipation?

Any thoughts on what is going on?

Yesterday's thread: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-to-vet-for-constipation.272531/#post-3031448
 
Did you get any tests after PMPS last night? He did get to low 200's yesterday, and it's been at least a month that numbers than low have been recorded. He's not used to those low numbers so is bouncing today.

With TR, you hold doses with nadirs under 300 for 6 cycles, then increase. In your case, it would be by 0.5 units because his dose size is over 5 units. (think of increases as a percent of total dose, it takes a larger increase at a larger dose). The way to regulate him is to follow TR as best as possible and increase as quickly as it is safe to do so until you get to that dose that moves him. Following TR does mean getting 2 tests per cycle minimum, the preshot and one other.
 
Hi - We did get a +2 test last night (353 Relion); we just also tested at +8 (313 Relion)

Re: bouncing - I thought bouncing also can be an indication of a dose that is too high. Given Buddy's constipation issue through yesterday morning, doesn't that throw some of the recent numbers out the window? Thus does it make more sense to hold this dose a little longer?

Isn't it possible the bouncing could be due to something that is still bothering him? He is more alert today and appears overall stronger, but is still restless - frequently walking in circles aimlessly and "perimeter walking" which is what he has been doing a lot of for the last couple of weeks. Or is it simply most plausible that this is all due to BG that is still too high due to insufficient insulin?

Thanks so much for your help.
 
I thought bouncing also can be an indication of a dose that is too high.
Bouncing happens when they drop into numbers they aren't used to (below 300 may be that for Buddy right now), or if they drop too fast. Bouncing is NOT a result of the dose being too high - unlike what is mentioned on at least one FB groups that gives dodgy help.

Not all high numbers are the result of bounces. Yes constipation can cause higher numbers, but that's been resolved for a day now. Unless you think there is still more to come out. A lot of time high numbers are cause by insufficient insulin. Buddy is probably experiencing glucose toxicity too, where his body has gotten used to higher numbers and thinks of them as normal. The solution is an increase. If he manages to get below 200 at a dose, then you can hold the dose a little longer. But where he's at now, his numbers are just too high.
 
Yes constipation can cause higher numbers, but that's been resolved for a day now. Unless you think there is still more to come out.

This question just got answered, as Buddy delivered another prize for us that resembled something like a very large pretzel :D

The other X-factor is that Stacey just had to return to the office as of today from almost-full remote, so it's just me at home now but he seems to really miss her when she's not around :(

We'll see how his numbers look over the coming day 3 (on 5.5 units) and adjust accordingly.

Thanks for clearing up our misunderstandings :)
 
i would just add only that bouncing can be an indication of too high a dose only if you don’t test during the day and have no idea what their body is doing during nadir. You two test fairly often, therefore you know this dose does not take Budy too low, hence the dose cannot be too high. @Wendy&Neko please feel free to correct me if you feel this is not precise information.

PS congratulations on the poo :D
 
Back
Top