1/29 Zelda - +11 84 / Very curious

Peter Moore

Member Since 2019
So, while I was on my trip yesterday, Gregg thought Zelda's appetite was a little off during the day. He'd injected 0.25 in the morning (7 AM) but I had him skip the evening (11 PM) because he's not able to test the blood.

This morning he injected 0.25 and I was planning to resume 12 hour injections. (Had been experimenting with 16).

I came home expecting to see her levels very high. Instead I just did a pre-food, pre-injection test, expecting to inject at 7PM. BG 84. Very surprised (pleasantly!)

Not 100% sure what to do at this point. I know I'm still light on data. (Working on that!) My assumption would be skip and test tomorrow morning to see what happens overnight. Other views?
 
They're gonna tell you there's not enough info to see what shooting that low will do to Zelda, but I also don't understand how you get that info UNLESS you shoot that low! It all depends on what protocol you're following and how much you can test thru the cycle. all night if need be. Late. I'm talking zombie time. Good luck whatever you choose to do!
 
Post ur preshot test number and let’s see what it is right before shot time, you should test, feed and shoot , the test you did was a +11 per spreadsheet
 
Correct it was +11. Then she eats over the course of the 11th hour. Then I would normally inject. So I can test at +12 though it will be shortly post- food.
 
Ok - @Bellasmom thank you for that advice! PMPS was back to 111 only 30 minutes after eating, and she was still hungry for more food, so I injected 0.25. This looks pretty consistent with 1/22, except that day she fasted all day, whereas I normally leave food out.

Poor thing was not happy about the second blood test in a row though. I need to find a less stressful, more repeatable way of doing this.
 
Is there a way you can withdraw food for 2 hours before the injection in the future? I'm glad you will try the 12 hour cycles.

Next time you get a low number, stall and do not feed then test again 20 minutes later to see if she's coming up.

As for Zelda not being happy with the tests, give her a yummy low carb treat each and every test even if it wasn't successful. Be patient and she will start to associate tests with yummy treats.
 
It is best to get the PS when she hasn't had food for 2 hrs, so that you know the number has risen on its own, without food influence. One thing I did to allow for that is pick up a timed feeder. I set it to rotate to an empty dish 2 hours before each shot.
 
Back
Top