1/29 Rex PMPS +4 74 +4.8 73 +5.25 77 +5.75 82 +7 117

Status
Not open for further replies.

RichNW & Rex

Member Since 2012
Bounce - He is still getting use to being on this Tight Regulation.
He was so use to being high, so I understand that I need to hold his 1.25U.

Heading into work today - we will not be coming down anytime soon today. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/29 Rex PMPS 589 +1 592

Hi Rich :smile:

Sorry about that bounce... when Rex bounces he really means it! ohmygod_smile Hopefully they'll become shorter in duration and less
stratospheric soon, as his body "re-learns" what normal numbers are. ;-)
 
Re: 1/29 Rex AMPS 589 +1 592 +11 329

AMPS +11 @ 329

Rex is just a show off with his bounces. :lol:

Looks like this bounce will be short lived compared to his first bounce on the Tight Regulation. So I am happy.

So I am planning on his numbers to even/level out on the 1.25u.
 
Re: 1/29 Rex PMPS 589 +1 592 +11 329

Good luck with the bouncing! They sure are evil and wicked when they get to bouncing!! :lol: :roll: Good night!
 
Re: 1/29 Rex AMPS 589 +1 592 +11 329 PMPS 353

It looks like Rex has been doing well at Liver Training School. That bounce is definitely coming down faster than last time. Have a good night and hoping for other colors soon!
 
Re: 1/29 Rex AMPS 589 +1 592 +11 329 PMPS 353 +2 223 + 74

Hello FD Family

So Rex is returning from the stratosphere back into the greens. Think I will need a little help.

At least I am NOT freaking out. hahaha

So I have his Hypoglycemic Tool Kit freshly built - Today :) We have 10 cans of Fancy Feast Beef with Gravy (23% cals from carbs)

Can someone take a look at his number? He is at 74 right now, and would like to think he is at his nadir.

So should I start testing every 30 minutes or every hour until I see a change in direction?

Thanks in advance
 
Re: 1/29 Rex AMPS 589 +1 592 +11 329 PMPS 353 +2 223 + 74

Hi Rich,

Still here lurking, I'm testing Neko soon too. Could you change your subject line to remove the AMPS numbers and just show the PMPS on. That way we can see the +4 beside the 74 so we know where you are. And add any more later as needed.

To start, try feeding Rex a couple of tsp of his regular LC food. We want to see if we can get him to surf at this nice level. And a test in 1/2 hour after the food would be a good idea to make sure we've got him leveling out.

Nice to see the greens! You can add the green smiley icon to your first post too. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/29 Rex AMPS 589 +1 592 +11 329 PMPS 353 +2 223 + 74

Hi Rick,
74 is a good number and he so far @+4 hasn't gone lower. I would give reg. food and test @+5. I'm up because Boots
might dip low tonight, so feel free to ask any questions. I'm not an expert, but I will answer what I can. Boots has been diabetic
5yrs and 4yrs regulated. Recently some mouth problems triggered her BS's again. If your worried test sooner. I sometimes do. :smile:
 
Re: 1/29 Rex PMPS 353 +2 223 + 74

Hello Shelly & Wendy,

Updated Subject - Great idea!

My lil Rex is such a champ. He ate 2 tsp of Purina DM Wet with a little bit of the gravy. (that works out to be about 1/8 of a 5.5 oz can).

The plan is to test again in 30 minutes at +4.75.

And I am fully stocked up with strips.

** FYI I have switched to ReliOn Micro
 
Re: 1/29 Rex PMPS 353 +2 223 + 74

Sounds like a plan. We have a west coast PJ party going on! I just got a 61 and nadir is a while. I'll be here a while yet. See you in 1/2 hour.

Normally we save the FF gravy lovers for under 50 when you are using the Relion.

First subject line still needs a bit of editing (+4 74).
 
Re: 1/29 Rex PMPS 353 +2 223 +4 74

Sorry Off Topic - I just found the DCIN pages. Love the pictures of all the foster cats.

I would love to have them all!!!!!
 
Re: 1/29 Rex PMPS 353 +2 223 +4 74 +4.75 69 +4.8 73

Update - So first test at +4.75 I used Rex's left ear, the blood kinda smeared, and tested 69.

Tested again on his right ear and got a big blood droplet and that tested 73.

Wendy & Shelly, Does this make sense, and why the big difference?
 
Re: 1/29 Rex PMPS 353 +2 223 +4 74 +4.75 69 +4.8 73

Good, he's slowing down or possibly surfing. Normally we like to see two non food influenced rising numbers in a row, before we consider it safe. I'd try waiting without food before testing to see if he starts on his way back up.

Regarding the different numbers, I believe the manufactures specs say they can be out by as much as 20%. We are measuring trends here, not so much accuracy. I've heard some people say they prefer one ear over the other because the numbers are lower on that ear. :lol:
 
Re: 1/29 Rex PMPS 353 +2 223 +4 74 +4.8 73 +5.25 77

So I see what we are doing, slowing down his free fall.

So I will plan to test in .5 and tweak as needed.
 
Re: 1/29 Rex PMPS 353 +2 223 +4 74 +4.75 69(left) +4.8 73(ri

I have the 4 compartment autofeeder, because it comes with a cooling compartment. I feed raw food so I needed something that would keep the meat safe. I did find it hard to get a gel pack that fits, but found a small one at a hardware store that I could fold into a triangle and I put an elastic on it so it keeps it's shape. Actually I have two gel packs, one freezing while the other is in use. I hope Rex likes it. It is rather noisy and that can scare the cat. Neko ran away the first couple of times she heard it. Now she puts her paw in and tries to hurry it around.
 
Re: 1/29 Rex PMPS 353 +2 223 +4 74 +4.8 73 +5.25 77

That Neko is clever! I love to watch as they figure things out!
 
Re: 1/29 Rex PMPS 353 +2 223 +4 74 +4.8 73 +5.25 77

Neko is VERY food oriented. :lol:

You are right about trying to slow the free fall. Often when cats are clearing a bounce they can do so in a hurry. Neko got her first below 50 number on a day she started around 470. Rex was on a pretty good pace the beginning of this cycle. That rapid drop, over 70 points an hour, will likely panic his liver and cause a bounce, even if the greens don't do it. Keeping Rex surfing in these numbers is great.
 
Re: 1/29 Rex PMPS 353 +2 223 +4 74 +4.8 73 +5.25 77

I am understanding more and more every day. :)

Compared to his bounce on the 24th, this one was shorter in duration.

I do see the velocity at which he was coming down. I am hoping that catching it a little better will not freak out his liver as bad! :)
 
Re: 1/29 Rex PMPS 353 +2 223 +4 74 +4.8 73 +5.25 77

My goal is to take him off the Purina DM wet and put him on Merrick Cowboy Cookout (much better food).

Not sure if I should do that now or wait till he has leveled out a little more.
 
Re: 1/29 Rex PMPS 353 +2 223 +4 74 +4.8 73 +5.25 77 +5.75 82

Inching up - Moving in a good direction. :)

Wendy, should I continue testing every .5 until he gets up over 100?
 
Re: 1/29 Rex PMPS 353 +2 223 +4 74 +4.8 73 +5.25 77 +5.75 82

Looking good. As per the Handling Low Numbers sticky, you can go to once an hour testing at this point. I might not still be on, but I think you can take it from there, and some of tomorrow's people have already started their day if you need advice then.

Regarding the food switch, I'm not sure what to say. Neko's been at this for almost a year on Lantus and she still bounces a lot. The saying is that cats bounce until they don't. We have no idea when Rex will decide he doesn't want to bounce anymore. Maybe you can wait until the weekend and during a day you can monitor him closely.
 
Re: 1/29 Rex PMPS 353 +2 223 +4 74 +4.8 73 +5.25 77 +5.75 82

I think you can sleep. Lantus on a cat peeks around 6 and his numbers are going up
 
Re: 1/29 Rex PMPS 353 +2 223 +4 74 +4.8 73 +5.25 77 +5.75 82

Good Morning Rich ~O) ~O) ~O)

I figured you may need coffee when you wake up. ;-) Great job :!:
Really great to see Rex dispatch the bounce and spend some time in the green lagoon :mrgreen:
 
Thanks to Wendy and Shelly for helping last night.

Just up to catch a +7 - He looks great. Going to sleep in my bed now.

I see Neko is on her way up ^^^

And Boots +3 looks good toooo :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top