1/29 Mikey PMPS 175 +2 124 +3 169 +4 166

Status
Not open for further replies.

MikeysMom

Member Since 2011
AMPS 194
+2 199
+4 103

Looks a little unusual for Mikey, but I'm sure it's me. I just cannot seem to get an equal dose with the Monoject syringes to what I was with the BD's. On the BD's, the top of the first line (.1U) is very easy to see against the plunger and therefore get a consistent dose. On the Monojects, I have to go above the line to get the same amount of insulin, and it's really hard to gauge the exact same amount each time. Also, to get the same size drop of insulin, I have to draw to what looks like closer to .25 on the Monojects but measures as .1 on the BD. I'm really struggling to get the right amount on these syringes. But I can't seem to find the BD's with half unit markings at ADW or similar, and they cost twice as much at Target as the Monojects cost online. I'm reluctant to to increase the dose until I can draw more consistently. I've practiced many times with colored water but just can't quite get that consistent amount.

http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=62289 Yesterday's condo. In general i'm very pleased with his numbers; he seems to be staying in the blue longer and his PS is down, but I'm not getting the good nadirs i was before.
 
Re: 1/29 Mikey AMPS 194 +2 199 +4 103 Ideas?

A couple of thoughts. First, check Hocks for syringes. They carry BD syringes.

It sounds like you are trying to compare the amount in a BD syringe to what's in a Monoject. If that's what you're doing, it may be an issue. I haven't a clue if the thickness of the plastic barrel is standard in U100 syringes. If the interior diameter of the syringe barrel is different, your comparison may be meaningless. I would measure a dose based on the amount indicated by the syringe calibration.
 
Re: 1/29 Mikey AMPS 194 +2 199 +4 103 Ideas?

I understand, but if I give .1 based on the Monoject's markings, I'm giving less insulin than I was before (the Monoject does seem to have a slightly wider barrel, but I've measured the actual amount of insulin again and again and it's nowhere near as much as he was getting). I'm thinking he needs to have the same amount of insulin, because he's obviously getting less a lot of the time based on my ten million practice draws and his numbers. Why wouldn't giving the same amount of insulin be the most important thing?
 
Re: 1/29 Mikey AMPS 194 +2 199 +4 103 Ideas?

Measure out 1.0u with both syringes. Based on FDA regulations, 1.0u has to be the same amount in all U100 syringes. Otherwise, you risk an over/under dose.
 
Re: 1/29 Mikey AMPS 194 +2 199 +4 103 Ideas?

I tried both the 1U and .5U and they drop out the same. It's just the.1 that I'm having the issue with; when the bottom of the plunger is at the top of the very bottom line on the BD (.1U according to the picture in the sticky), it drops out as much more than the same place on the Monoject. In order to get the same size drop that I get at .1 on the BD, I have to go to what measures as .25 on the Monoject. If I do that, it drops out the same. I think the Monoject is drawing more air with the microdose than the BD. I'll just have to draw the .25 on these needles, I think.

Should I note it on his SS as .25, or as .1? It's the same amount he's been getting all along, it just measures differently on the two syringes. After this box of needles is gone, I'm going to look for the BD's again...which would read at .1.
 
Re: 1/29 Mikey AMPS 194 +2 199 +4 103 Ideas?

I'm really too new to all this, but I have one suggestion, because I've been ill for way to many years to count, I end up using my pharmacist to answer a lot of my health issues, and I would think that if you bring both (monoject/BD) with you, he/she may be able to give advice. I'll add, I do have a very nice pharmacist, and I know they're not all so nice.

Good luck, however you figure it out. confused_cat
 
Re: 1/29 Mikey AMPS 194 +2 199 +4 103 Ideas?

PMPS 174 I'm loving these PS numbers in the blue! I went ahead and shot what looks like .25 on the Monoject, since time after time, the drop comes out the same as the .1 on the BD. For now I'm going to keep it as .1 on the SS as I like the other needles better and will go back to them, but i will make a note of it on the SS. Hopefully this will give back the nice greens we were seeing before, though the curve seemed to last longer on the skinny dose. Maybe we can achieve both!
 
Re: 1/29 Mikey PMPS 175 Figured out dose/needle...sort of

My eyes are envious of you being able to measure these microdoses. That's hard enough, then the whole different syringe issue! Sheesh! :roll: i hope you have it figured out.
 
Re: 1/29 Mikey PMPS 175 Figured out dose/needle...sort of

:lol: :lol:

Cats-Glasses-1.jpg
 
Re: 1/29 Mikey PMPS 175 Figured out dose/needle...sort of

+2 124 OK, maybe I don't have it...I was confident that I shot the right amount, but he didn't have the drop I expected again. I'm at .25 on the Monoject...should I add a drop? It's like his cycles have changed a little...they're staying flatter but the PS numbers are better. Should I go to a skinny.5 on these needles (I'm not sure I can see anything between .25 and.5 on this needle)? The .5 on both needles seemed to be the same, but the smaller doses are not.

My gut tells me we need a small increase, but I'm having such a hard time with consistency that it makes me nervous given Mikey's love of diving. Any suggestions on this one? I've practiced like crazy and can get the same amount with these needles as with the old ones (or so I thought until tonight, when I was sure I had it and still not dropping to where I want), but it doesn't read the same way and I'm afraid of going to far. These are slightly wider needles, so there is less space between markings.
 
Re: 1/29 Mikey PMPS 175 +2 124...Or not. Dose ??

OK, I've been playing with both syringes for the last half hour. If I measure an even .5 and drop it out, they are the same. So is an even 1U. The Monoject has a slightly wider barrel, so the lines are closer together, and the plunger is narrower. The bottom line is the same thickness as the others.

The BD is narrower, with the marks a tick farther apart, and the bottom line is slightly wider. I always measured the .1 with the bottom edge of the plunger at the very top edge of that line, like the picture in the sticky shows. Maybe because of the line it was a little fat, so .15?

When I measure to that mark on the Monoject, I'm NOT getting the same amount of insulin. I've used colored water and dropped it out time after time after time to be sure. It's not the same amount. Knowing that, I'm not comfortable with the suggestion of just using the measurements on the new syringes and drawing to them. He;s not getting enough insulin when I do that.

I practiced for half an hour drawing .1 on the BD and dropping it out and then finding an equal amount on the Monoject. It's closer to .25 on those. When I drop out .25 on the BD, it's a skinny .5 (top of the plunger at the bottom of the.5 line, so a .4?) on the Monoject. They drop out as close to identical as I can eyeball. The .25 on the Monoject is a significantly smaller drop than the .25 on the BD.

So...if I'm going to increase, should I go to this amount? I'm definitely not going to go to .5U. So if I was at a slightly fat .1, is an increase to .25 reasonable?
 
Re: 1/29 Mikey PMPS 175 +2 124...Or not. Dose ??

+3 169 Now I'm just TOTALLY confused. Please tell me he's not going to start having his nadir at +2 now! +3 was bad enough! I was positive I gave an equal dose to what he was getting before. I was SO happy earlier this week when his PS numbers started looking so good and now that's all gone and I'm just completely discouraged.
 
Re: 1/29 Mikey PMPS 175 +2 124 +3 169 Discouraged...what now

I would fatten the dose. As long as you are consistent, it really doesn't matter what you call the amount. Mikey's SS looks great. It's nothing to be disappointed about!
 
Re: 1/29 Mikey PMPS 175 +2 124 +3 169 Discouraged...what now

It really doesn't matter what you call the micro-dose 0.1, 0.25, 5 drops, 4 drops, as long as it is a consistent amount of insulin. If it looks like 0.25 on the new syringes equals 0.1 on the old in the amount of insulin that comes out, then draw to that and note on your chart that you've switched syringes and they read a differently but you haven't changed your dose. Calling it 0.1 isn't any more accurate than calling it 0.25 if it is the same amount of insulin just drawn on different syringes. Under the .50 line, we're really just making up a name for it anyway ;-)
 
Re: 1/29 Mikey PMPS 175 +2 124 +3 169 Discouraged...what now

+4 166 At least he's surfing... OK. I'll squeeze him up to .something in the AM and see if we can get some greens. I'm loving the preshots and longer blues, just want a bit lower.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top