1/29 Max AMPS (n/a); +3 170; +6 126

Giomax

Member Since 2018
We're back in the blue!

I'll be testing every 3 hours this cycle and the next, so hopefully I can shoot and leave him tomorrow morning with no anxiety !
 
Zzz...

1548777699993-1553398568.jpg
 
WOw!!!! Good job, Max!

Why weren't you able to get a AMPS?
He was running so high all day yesterday and all night last night after his PM shot, I didn't have any hope for a good number this morning and thought it would be a good opportunity to give his ears a break. I'm regretting my decision now because look at these nice numbers we have! Hindsight is 20/20...
 
Try to get a PS number always just to make sure it's safe to shoot. You never know what will happen.

As with testing, I tested like CRAZY during the beginning (still kinda do) but I've become confident with not testing as much. It does look like Max has a late nadir so I wouldn't do the same testing schedule as me but with Ming, I test +2 and +4. If those numbers seem too high or have no momentum, I just stop because there's no point. He's just gonna be high lol. Similarly, maybe if you see Max start to go up, you can stop BUT with the exception that he's diving or really close to going under 50 (edit: or any greens since we haven't seen Max do greens too much so we don't know what he does!). That's when I would test often.
 
I would NEVER, EVER under any circumstances shoot my cat without a PS - she's shown me over this last year or so - that she holds all the mystery cards...she will be high for days..and just when I'm thinking - well how high are we today Miss Luci? She throws down her Ace in the Hole! :eek::eek: Yes, a green! And I run around like a chicken who's lost it's head - what do I do now? OMG!:eek::eek::eek: Where are those notes??? When am I NOT suppose to shoot???OMG did I read that 'two-digit' number right? Maybe I didn't - test again? How soon??? Why can't I remember anything???:eek::eek::eek::eek: Because this has NEVER happened before - and I'm hyperventilating --- and well you get the picture.:rolleyes: The first time you get a double digit green - you have to stop and assess the situation - is that number below the shot threshold? Why did this happen? All of a sudden like this? Never saw it coming...:facepalm:

And the rest of the story is - Always, always, always get a Pre-Shot test - no matter what other tests you may or may not be able to get - please for the sake and safety of your kitty - who has a big cheering squad now - always get that PS...


So my encouragement and advice... you may take it for what it's worth...and I've been told before that everyone isn't 'me'...so there it is, for what it's worth - what I would do... and the way Max is going - he is making progress - he'll surprise you one morning...and you just never know when that's going to be. :D

You can NEVER trust a cat!:cat: They don't intend to be devious or secretive...it's just in their nature to keep all their little secrets to themselves - kinda like mouse hunting - whatever would be the fun in it if they told the mice everything that was going to happen??? :cat:
 
We got a green! Hope he stays green by next shot. I need to see what 6 units does on a green!
 
We got a green! Hope he stays green by next shot. I need to see what 6 units does on a green!

Now that one I saw coming - see those ever dropping numbers earlier in the day? When you see those numbers falling like that - it's time to set that ole timer - check again in an hour; yep, that's right an hour. When he revs up his engine there's no telling how fast he's going to drop. He may surprise you one of these days...by flirting with the sharkies...and you'll want to catch him before he gets down there with them...but if he's already playing with the sharks, you'll get out your carbo food (either MC or HC) and feed accordingly and test again so you'll know that he's out of harm's way...

Get ready for the ride mama....it looks like Max is progressing nicely now. Got your seatbelt buckled? :D:D
 
Tagging @Bellasmom - she leaves every day for work - Bella and the other kitties are on their own for the day - let's see what she suggests for the works outside of the home mama bean.
 
PMPS was 136, gave 6 units. Should I test every hour or every two hours? He's supposed to get 6 units tomorrow right before I leave for work and I'm anticipating a blue pre-shot number.
 
I would NEVER, EVER under any circumstances shoot my cat without a PS - she's shown me over this last year or so - that she holds all the mystery cards...she will be high for days..and just when I'm thinking - well how high are we today Miss Luci? She throws down her Ace in the Hole! :eek::eek: Yes, a green! And I run around like a chicken who's lost it's head - what do I do now? OMG!:eek::eek::eek: Where are those notes??? When am I NOT suppose to shoot???OMG did I read that 'two-digit' number right? Maybe I didn't - test again? How soon??? Why can't I remember anything???:eek::eek::eek::eek: Because this has NEVER happened before - and I'm hyperventilating --- and well you get the picture.:rolleyes: The first time you get a double digit green - you have to stop and assess the situation - is that number below the shot threshold? Why did this happen? All of a sudden like this? Never saw it coming...:facepalm:

And the rest of the story is - Always, always, always get a Pre-Shot test - no matter what other tests you may or may not be able to get - please for the sake and safety of your kitty - who has a big cheering squad now - always get that PS...


So my encouragement and advice... you may take it for what it's worth...and I've been told before that everyone isn't 'me'...so there it is, for what it's worth - what I would do... and the way Max is going - he is making progress - he'll surprise you one morning...and you just never know when that's going to be. :D

You can NEVER trust a cat!:cat: They don't intend to be devious or secretive...it's just in their nature to keep all their little secrets to themselves - kinda like mouse hunting - whatever would be the fun in it if they told the mice everything that was going to happen??? :cat:
Agree 100%
 
What I do since I work, I shoot unless the number is not shootable, I shoot 2 hours before I have to leave for work, test a+2 and leave food down according to that number, especially if I’m shooting a low number, like tonight I shot a 84 and tested +1 and getting ready to do a +2 and if I had to go to work, depending on what that number is, if I need to leave some LC or HC,never had any problems, I don’t think I would change dosage am and pm
So Bella now at +2 is 87 so he’s going down, if I had to go to work I would leave him some Carbs down
 
Problem is, I can't shoot a +2 because I'll be at work. I shoot at 6am and then I have to leave for work and be there at 6:30. If I can come home a test on my lunch, it won't be until at least +4. If I shoot earlier at 4am then there will be one day a week he'll get his shot more than two hours late, and then two hours "early" again the next morning.
 
Problem is, I can't shoot a +2 because I'll be at work. I shoot at 6am and then I have to leave for work and be there at 6:30. If I can come home a test on my lunch, it won't be until at least +4. If I shoot earlier at 4am then there will be one day a week he'll get his shot more than two hours late, and then two hours "early" again the next morning.
Different work hours, I’m gonna tag a few people, I work the same hours every day @Marje and Gracie @Bobbie And Bubba @Judy and Boomer see what their thoughts are
 
Yes, please keep in mind I work different days and different hours and there's no one at home to watch him while I'm gone. Work has been really understanding and has accommodated me as much as they can, but it's still not a perfect or easy situation.
 
Yes, please keep in mind I work different days and different hours and there's no one at home to watch him while I'm gone. Work has been really understanding and has accommodated me as much as they can, but it's still not a perfect or easy situation.
I understand, hopefully someone will weigh in, starting to see better numbers
Have you read this
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ion-possible-with-a-full-time-job-yes.129378/
And
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/tight-regulation-shooting-handling-low-numbers.147/
I was definitely nervous shooting lower numbers, it’s nothing now, it will get easier
 
As far as shooting two different doses morning and night: it’s not a good idea for a couple of reasonn. First, just because you would reduce the dose in the morning is no guarantee that he would be safer because the depot from the higher dose would be talking. And second , the depot would get so confused and you would have a hard time knowing what dose his numbers are reacting to.

If he’s lower in the morning than you are comfortable with. You can start him off with higher carb food than you normally give to cushion him some.

If at lunch time +4 you can come home and check would be good. Onset for the insulin is around +2.
 
I'm testing every hour tonight. He's down to 119 at +3, just gave him some FF. I'm nervous because he always goes lower later in the cycle. Please watch and give some advice for tomorrow! I have some dry food I can leave out.
 
Yes, please keep in mind I work different days and different hours and there's no one at home to watch him while I'm gone. Work has been really understanding and has accommodated me as much as they can, but it's still not a perfect or easy situation.
Do you have a set schedule each week so it might vary day to day but is it the same each week? If so, can you tell me what it is and I can make some suggestions about shooting.

+2! My mistake.

What is an "active" cycle?
It means you will likely see numbers continue to drop at least to nadir and it’s possible they will drop quickly although his +3 is a great number. He’s basically leveled out a bit but he could drop a little more and he could pick up the speed a bit.....or come to a halt and stay flat.

It’s important to note that the drop can change from hour to hour. As an example, a cat might drop 100 mg/dL in two hours and the caregiver assumes they dropped 50/hour. In reality, they might have come down (again example only) 10 the first hour and 90 the next. That’s why it’s important, if you see that kind of drop over two hours, to test in 30-60 minutes depending on where the BG started and what it dropped to. Also know that they tend to drop further when the BG is higher than when you get down to numbers around 100 or under although my own baby could drop from 100 to 50 in one hour.
 
Last edited:
@Marje and Gracie I'm testing every hour tonight and he seems ok so far? No dramatic drops yet. But even if it's smooth sailing tonight, it could be a completely different story tomorrow while I'm gone. That's what worries me.
 
@Marje and Gracie I'm testing every hour tonight and he seems ok so far? No dramatic drops yet. But even if it's smooth sailing tonight, it could be a completely different story tomorrow while I'm gone. That's what worries me.
Can you pls reread my post above and provide the info so I can see if I can help you with that? Thanks!
 
Can you pls reread my post above and provide the info so I can see if I can help you with that? Thanks!
I do not have a set schedule each week. I can see about getting one though. We're required to have one "late day" each week, which means working from 9:30am to 6pm. I can see about having my late day be Thursday each week--they may accommodate, they may not. Every other day I work 6:30am to 3pm.

Edit: I don't think I can have set days every week where I'm off such and such day and I work such and such day. It's just not possible.
 
Max is 83 at +4 and he's bound to drop lower until he hits nadir, which usually happens between +6 and +9. I caved like a scaredy cat and gave him some dry kibble (about 33% carb I think) to see how that'll affect his sailing. I just can't have him being this low when I'm not here. If I could be home to monitor, great. But the reality is I can't always be.
 
Max is 83 at +4 and he's bound to drop lower until he hits nadir, which usually happens between +6 and +9. I caved like a scaredy cat and gave him some dry kibble (about 33% carb I think) to see how that'll affect his sailing. I just can't have him being this low when I'm not here. If I could be home to monitor, great. But the reality is I can't always be.
Dry food takes longer to affect numbers but also stays in the system longer. It’s not the best choice to use unless kitty won’t eat anything else.

If you read the TR post Jamie linked in post 31 above and you believe it will leave you to worry too much, you might want to go to SLGS instead of TR. The dose reductions are at 90 (human meter) as opposed to 50 on TR.

If you shoot at 6 a.m. each day and 6 p.m. each evening but on the day you get off at 6:00 p.m., you shoot at 6:30, you should be ok. Shooting within 30 minutes of the last shot is typically not a problem. There might be times when you’ll need to skip before you go to work if he’s low enough that you’ll worry that even leaving HC out might not be enough.

If you want to stay with TR, another option includes finding a dose, a little lower than we would normally give for him, that you can shoot safely twice a day.
 
Looking good, Max. But I can totally understand your panic. I don't have advice especially since you got some great advice already. I only hope you're able to rest well while testing and Max's AMPS isn't too much of a headache.
 
I missed his +7! Looks like it was an important one too, ugh! He's just up over 200 at +8...the dry kibble must have kicked in. I know his numbers were looking great in the green but they were getting a little too low for my comfort knowing he'll be alone all day tomorrow (and every other day that I'm at work). Do you guys think I should stick with the 6 units or go down to 5.5? Or feed a little wet food with some dry mixed in while I'm away just for safety?
 
It helps to get eyes on your post if you put up the question mark suffix on your subject line when you have a new question. And keep that subject line up to date with the latest test numbers.

As Marje said above, if you are going to feed dry food, it means following SLGS for dosing, and Max earned a reduction tonight by going under 90. Given the green today, in spite of a skipped dose yesterday draining the depot, and you aren’t able to monitor during the day, a reduction may be the safer course for you. I would also put a note in the Remarks section of the spreadsheet that you fed dry food, and how much, so you know why he jumped up so much.
 
Back
Top