1/29 Maverick AMPS 111 PMPS 113

Status
Not open for further replies.

Karrie and Maverick

Member Since 2010
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=35461

Not sure if he's holding this dosecrease or not. We went down from .25 to .10ish (spreadsheet says .5sk but it was .25).

I think I'm missing some of his data to help understand what his numbers are doing. He's eating amazing. Just Turkey and Giblet - no ocean whitefish and tuna in about four or five days.

Some days with a low preshot like last night - his numbers just rise - no drop. This happened back on the 25th too. I was wondering if I got a furshot last night though when I gave him the shot. Its so hard to tell with such a small amount.

Overall the numbers aren't bad at all and not much different than the .25. Do I continue with status quo?
 
Re: 1/29 Maverick AMPS 111 - Dosing advice?

Hi Karrie,
I don't know! With yesterday's numbers so close together and such a gradual rise, it looks like it could just be one of those "slight corrections" as a reaction to the lower numbers and in lieu of a real "bounce". Wait and see what happens today with the 0.10. I'm no help with the furshot issue, since I am so good at giving furshots these days!!

Have a great weekend,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/29 Maverick AMPS 111 - Dosing advice?

you're free feeding, correct? If you're around today, can you make notes of when you see him eating? No big deal, you don't have to stalk him, but if you notice him eating just mark the + hour, and spot check whenever you can. The blue is ok but it would be nice to figure out how to make it go away. The 59 yesterday makes me hesitant to increase without a little more information.
 
Re: 1/29 Maverick AMPS 111 - Dosing advice?

I'm no help with the dosage, just stopping in to say happy Caturday and see how Maverick's doing. Hope all is well, and that you got some sleep last night.
 
Re: 1/29 Maverick AMPS 111 - Dosing advice?

Libby is so right on..As always. I watch when Moonie eats also, and she just ate on her own at almost +2--It does help to see when they are eating if you free feed..
I think Maverick is doing excellent!!!
 
Re: 1/29 Maverick AMPS 111 - Dosing advice?

Thanks guys. You guys are the best.

Will try and mark when he eats. He eats more volume of food in the three hour window between (1 hour before preshot, and the two hours after), then less throughout the remainder of the day/night. So I will make a note when I see him eating and try and go back to see how much he's eaten.
 
Re: 1/29 Maverick AMPS 111 - Dosing advice?

What Libby said makes sense.....Overall Maverick is doing well......You have also mentioned that his appetite has gotten better lately.....And is eating more.....maybe his pancreas is just needing some extra time to adjust to the increase in food????? I noticed that w/Curry when I increased her calories a tad....her body needed like a month or so to adjust.....
 
Re: 1/29 Maverick AMPS 111 - Dosing advice?

Hi Karrie,
It all makes sense with the eating part. Maggie free feeds, and I think she could have better numbers if she wasn't free feeding. Maverick is doing awesome regardless! Were there any visits from Chatty Kathy?
 
Re: 1/29 Maverick AMPS 111

Maverick had better numbers right after I stopped the food experiment (picking food up at +8 and +9 made his numbers spike a bit), but then after I stopped doing this he got a string of all greens. I also figured out how HORRIBLE the BD syringes are so there was no way I was dosing accurately. So I am now chucking over 50% of the syringes because the plunger goes below the 0 line. So he's getting a more consistent dose on the .10.
 
Re: 1/29 Maverick AMPS 111

Karrie, I agree with you that it is so hard to make sure you are not giving a fur shot with such a small amount of insulin. I keep thinking I am giving Simon a furshot every day since it seems like I am injecting barely anything. I am also throwing away lots of insulin because I also draw up so much extra to make sure I get just the right skinny amount. Good luck today with Maverick and the change in dose. I hope it works out well for you.
 
Re: 1/29 Maverick AMPS 111

I've got nothing on dosing either, but wanted to drop in and say that Maverick is still looking great and it sounds like you've got some good suggestions and a plan in place to get the info you need to make a dosing decision.

Have a great day!
 
Re: 1/29 Maverick AMPS 111

Hi Kerrie!

Maverick is doing so well. It is hard to measure that amount of insulin. Glad that you got better syringes. What kind were you using that you didn't like?
 
Re: 1/29 Maverick AMPS 111

Can Nadirs change really quickly? I tested him at +4 which I thought was his nadir, but tested again at +7 and he was down from there. Probably margin of error on the meter? And of course I am rarely doing testing after +6.

He hasn't eaten much at all today of all days. Just ate the ounce or so from AMPS to +2. So maybe this is a factor also.
 
Re: 1/29 Maverick AMPS 111

Hi, Karrie and Maverick ;-)
Continuing to look good.. yay! I have not looked at your spreadsheet yet & am out of the loop this past week... so I cannot comment on any reduction being held, but am wondering what kind of Turkey & Giblets you feed? Baby is on a Raw diet.. but I also feed wet for variety occasionally.
 
Re: 1/29 Maverick AMPS 111

Hi Karrie, I remember the one day Maggie wasn't eating her numbers were low. Maggie also gets low on +4, early Nadir.
 
Maverick is on the small cans of Walmart Special Kitty brand Turkey and Giblets.

His appetite was in the toilet all day today. He only ate a couple tiny bites at PMPS so I added chicken dust and he ate a lot more - about an ounce.

I was 15 minutes late on his shot tonight. But I'm home all day tomorrow and I'll try and watch his feeding closer and do a better job trying to figure out when his nadir is.
 
Hi Karrie,
Thanks for stopping by Maggie's condo. I've never tried Walmart's Special Kitty. Maggie doesn't like the FF turkey & giblets ever since they changed the label and probably ingredients. I'll keep it in mind when she gets picky with her regular food. Maverick is looking really good today. Good luck with the microdosing.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top