Re: 1/29 Chip AMPS 445 +6 361
Dale 'n' Chip said:
He's feeling ok. Pretty active/playful and actually eating a lot. For him that would usually be associated with low/falling numbers and plenty of insulin. Normally when he is Hi or on a lower dose he isn't as hungry. Hearing a little rumble in his tummy which is normal with clavamox. He will have softer poo for a day or two on starting clavamox then it should be back to normal.
Besides these terrible numbers he's otherwise generally normal. :smile:
This is all good news (well, not the softer poo).
I would try to draw some charts like this (we'll see if I can make these fit the format of the board and still be legible):
Lev alone (assume +8 nadir)
+8.............+9.............+10..............+11..............+12..................+1
Lev nadir.....rising.........rising............rising.............rising (give Lev)..rise
N alone
+1..............+2............+3................+4................+5...................+6
Give N........rising.........N onset.........dropping.........dropping...........N nadir
Lev and N together
+8.............+9..............+10.............+11...............+12.................+1
Lev nadir.....rising.........drop/surf.......drop/surf........drop/surf..........rise
OR
Lev alone (assume +12 nadir)
+8.............+9..............+10..............+11...............+12...............+1
drop...........drop...........drop..............drop..............Lev nadir........rise
N alone
+1..............+2............+3................+4................+5...................+6
Give N........rising.........N onset.........dropping.........dropping...........N nadir
Lev and N together
+8..............+9.............+10..............+11..............+12.................+1
drop...........rise/surf.......drop............drop..............drop................rise
Based on this scenario, N at +8 might not be a good idea if his Lev nadir is +12. Lev nadir of +8 would be better. You might have both insulins pulling at the same time. Of course if he is super high (400s and flat), then Lev nadir is not very relevant. I believe Jill was using R at various times because she knew that under the circumstances, Alex didn't even HAVE a Lev curve. That is another consideration. Really that is probably the only situation in which you would want to use a bolus for Chip anyway.
It does look like Chip is at least trying to drop today. Maybe he is trying to help out.